We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby disgrace”
Review of Huntingtower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Huntingtower Hotel
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 16, 2008

This hotel is shabby and has not been refurbished in a very long time, we did not use the the shower in our room it was old and grubby, the carpets were just plain dirty , we were at the top of an old winding staircase which was very dangerous, some of the treads were worn through,one of the beds sloped forward and was most uncomforable, our room stank of fryups when breakfast began, and the noise of a giant fan outside our window was a disgrace, the creaking floorboards nearly drove us crazy, Best Western need to spend a fortune on this old heap. Our breakfast was small and cold, the staff were kind and friendly.

Stayed: June 2008
2  Thank Pennywatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (981)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

924 - 930 of 981 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2008

My wife, mother-in-law and I stayed here for one night in May 2008 as part of our driving holiday through Scotland. The hotel is set in very nice grounds with ducks swimming in the stream at the front. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The decor is quite old-fashioned and dark, with tartan carpets on most of the floors. Our room was also quite old-fashioned. The bed wasn't the best, being two single beds zipped together in the middle. The TV was playing up a little as the aerial cord was practically worn through, which meant that some jiggling was required to get a decent picture!

Our evening meal was lovely and served by very attentive and friendly waiting staff. Breakfast next morning was continental only and self-service, though there was quite a good range of fruits and cereals.

I tltled my review "A faded beauty" because, although this is a very nice hotel, it could do with a little refurbishment. The stair carpets were quite worn in places for example, and there were one or two areas around reception that could have been doing with a lick of paint. These are minor niggles though and didn't detract in any major way from what was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank telboy1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2008

Awaiting response from the GM before i write anymore!

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil_Ellis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2007

I decided to have a short break in June with my boyfriend, we were very impressed with the hotel, the staff were polite and we recieved great service, My booking was made at last minute, I came across the website of Classicbritain.com which was an excellent site with fantastic deals, I will be returning the the Huntingtower and to classic britain.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mckenzie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2007

We decided to go to Perth because we knew that the autumn trees would be wonderful there at this time of year. The hotel itself had wonderful old trees throughout the grounds and was nicely situated 4/5 miles away from Perth so was very quiet. There was a Wedding on but it caused very little disruption to our stay.

We were looking to escape the city for a night and this was ideal. The food and service was excellent, especially at breakfast where the stornoway black pudding is a must. The room itself was good and spacious though a little dated for our tastes. The shower was very good.

The deal we got through Expedia was very good at £159 for dinner, bed and breakfast and was better than the deal offered directly by the hotel.

The only complaints we had were that the bed itself was very uncomfy as it was two single beds together which was a shame as the rest of the room was great. Our only other wee complaint was that our room was very close to reception and as result there was quite a bit of noise but I suppose that this could have been because we booked so late.

All in all a good experience (and fantastic autumn trees).

  • Stayed: November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elpep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2007

We had our wedding at this hotel in August 07 and the staff and location were fantastic. The service was great as was the food and the hotel facilities. Every detail was attended to. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. I travel to Perth on business regularly (at least once a month) and always book this hotel. I love staying here. The restaurant is superb although they should buy a toaster that cooks toast evenly - rather than one side burtn and the other very pale. Other than that - you won't find a better hotel in Perth.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Porl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2007

Very poor. The beds are uncomfy and the room i was given was very dark and there was a lot of noise from the kitchen fan. I expected more for what I was paying. The food is overpriced and the restaurant staff act as though you are just an inconvienience to them.
From what I have heard there is a very high turn over of staff and it does show in the way you are treated.
I will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank emilybell26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perth
3.6 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
298 reviews
3 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
253 reviews
3 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
3.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,149 reviews
8.2 mi away
Ballathie House Hotel
Ballathie House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Stanley
817 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Hotel

Address: Crieff Road, Perth PH1 3NZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Perth
#2 Family Hotel in Perth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $93 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingtower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at Huntingtower Hotel, nestled in a quiet country neighbourhood setting, yet only minutes away from the city of Perth. Huntingtower Hotel is one of the friendliest country house hotels in Scotland, designed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy understated elegance and charm, individual and tasteful guest rooms, spacious and contrasting lounges and dining areas, award winning food and service, delightful gardens and grounds. A place where you can relax and feel completely at home. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, Huntingtower Hotel is the perfect choice to make your stay in Perth a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Huntingtower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Perth
Perth Best Western
Huntingtower Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing