We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Huntingtower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Huntingtower Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

I had occasion to stay in one of the lodges last week. The doorway of the lodge was rather grubby with a few cobwebs and rather tired paintwork but inside was clean enough.
The pork we had for our evening meal was rather tough and difficult to cut with ordinary knives.Other main courses seemed to be fine.
Breakfast was excellent , served in a very nice conservatory. All staff were very courteous and carried out their respective duties well.
The setting is beautiful.

Room Tip: The lodges would be good for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanetteG69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDoga, General Manager at Huntingtower Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay, I am sorry to hear that there was a couple of issues during your stay I will have these looked into as a matter of urgency. I do hope these issues do not deter from any future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    492
    244
    69
    42
    32
See reviews for
178
419
16
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

The Huntingtower Hotel is a small hidden paradise just outside Perth. It is quiet, secluded and very enjoyable. The restaurant is fantastic and caters for all patrons with its excellent choice for both breakfast and dinner. They even slightly alter their courses to suit diet requirements and allergies. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff are excellent and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms slightly larger in new wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDoga, General Manager at Huntingtower Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay and will ensure to pass your comments on to those concerned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Room good size, bed large and comfortable. We had dinner in restaurant on one of the nights. Not large portions but ideal to ensure you have enough room for 3 courses.
The hotel is a good location for getting into centre of Perth or surrounding areas.
Staff nice and friendly. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank globetrkers2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDoga, General Manager at Huntingtower Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I am delighted to hear you enjoyed you stay and found the staff to be friendly I will ensure your comments are passed on to those concerned
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We enjoyed our short stay in this nice traditional Scottish hotel which sits in well maintained grounds just a short distance from Perth.
We had a large comfortable bedroom which was well decorated and very clean, as was the bathroom. The room overlooked the gardens. We enjoyed a very good and well presented dinner both nights. The menu had nice dishes to choose from and was very reasonably priced. All the staff were welcoming and efficient.
We would happily return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gandptrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We spent the weekend at the Huntingtower Hotel to celabrate a golden wedding. The room was very clean with plently of space, the tv could do with having more channels available. The food was good although service at dinner was a bit slow

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Causeway Coast
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

My husband and I have stayed here before and return from time to time both because of the quiet location and a good nidway point from visiting our family in Fochabers and return trip to Northern Ireland from Troon or Cairnryan..Our room was spacious with high ceilings and we appreciate that. The food for dinner was as always well presented and very tasy. My only gripe was that though we were on a dinner bed and breakfast deal the fact that my husband choose steak as a main course meant we paid not only a supplement for that (understandable) but also supplements for ordinary starters and sweets, which should have been included in my opinion. Despite this gripe we enjoyed our visit and will be back, God Willing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CausewayCoastVisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDoga, General Manager at Huntingtower Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your recent stay I am happy to hear that you wish to return should the opportunity arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maybole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

We spend one night at this hotel last week because our next place to stay (Murrayshall Hotel on the other side of Perth) was fully booked on a Friday night.

£70 including breakfast for the Huntingtower seemed very reasonable. We stayed in room 208 which is just a short flight of stairs up on the first floor. Huge room, large bathroom with a shower that worked extremely well. Bathroom looked brandnew and very clean, except for the corners of the window frame. Minor annoyance: the bathroom window opened find, but on the bedroom window the left rope for the sash window was torn and tied up, so we could not open the window. Not critical in April though.

Large comfortable double bed in the room, good lights. Room 208 has is looking out to the front, however both bathroom and bedroom window had a partially blocked view because of the turrets/small towers above the entrance porch below. Being on the upper floor meant it was pleasantly quiet though, so would definitely take this room again.

We decided to try their 3-course meal for just under £20 for dinner. You get a choice of several items for each course and 3 courses are easy to manage - portions are adequate for an average appetite and are served with very good timing. Just one odd thing: when we checked in, reception insisted that dinner tables *must* be booked because the restaurant was busy. When we were shown from the bar to our table shortly after 8 p.m., we noticed that a complete section of the restaurant had been set up and left empty (an estimated 50 spaces) and everybody was being placed in the next section. It was still left empty when we finished our meal. I don't think they would have had another party coming in after 9 p.m., so it remains a mystery why they had given us the expression that they were super busy.

Breakfast the next morning was fine, even cold meats and cheese were on offer. One thing: if you present a block of cheese on the buffet, it makes more sense to place a cheese knife next to it than a large serving fork. And a bit more regular dusting the lamps in the conservatory (breakfast area) might be an idea. - I am really nitpicking now, so I suggest you take that as an indication that we really liked the hotel and had a difficult time finding things wrong with it!

Room Tip: first floor was fine, room 208 has large double (180cm wide?) with good space either side
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerstin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,004 reviews
3.1 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
3.6 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#7 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
3.0 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Hotel

Property: Huntingtower Hotel
Address: Crieff Road, Perth PH1 3NZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Perth
#2 Family Hotel in Perth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingtower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at Huntingtower Hotel, nestled in a quiet country neighbourhood setting, yet only minutes away from the city of Perth. Huntingtower Hotel is one of the friendliest country house hotels in Scotland, designed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy understated elegance and charm, individual and tasteful guest rooms, spacious and contrasting lounges and dining areas, award winning food and service, delightful gardens and grounds. A place where you can relax and feel completely at home. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, Huntingtower Hotel is the perfect choice to make your stay in Perth a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HRS, HotelQuickly, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Huntingtower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Perth
Perth Best Western
Huntingtower Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing