We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a girl travelling on her own”
Review of Huntingtower Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Huntingtower Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place for a girl travelling on her own”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just want to say a huge 'thanks' to the staff at Huntingtower for making my stay so pleasurable.
Despite travelling on my own, I was delighted to be given a spaceous double room and a very large, well fitted bathroom, all mod cons, perfect for my stay.I booked dinner in the restaurant and although it was a very busy Friday night, the staff were extremely attentive and were able to deal with my special dining request. I was given a lovely corner table where I felt comfortable as a lone diner and the waiting staff gave me execellent service. I travel a lot on my own and I have to comend the effort all of the staff made for me - not something I find in every hotel!
Plenty of choice for breakfast. Smoked haddock was great, but poached egg was a little ragged.
Would definitely return if I am in the area again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsimeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDoga, General Manager at Huntingtower Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comment, I am glad to hear that you had a enjoyable stay and that you would return to the hotel. I will ensure your comments are passed on to the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

920 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    261
    72
    42
    32
See reviews for
186
443
16
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Stayed here for the first time last week although have eaten in the restaurant/bar and attended workshops etc here before. I found the quality of the bedroom and bathroom to be of a good standard - clean, comfy, water and plate of fruit provided.

Breakfast was of a decent standard and they have a very good selection of hot dishes - I had kippers!

Best bit was the staff - all very friendly and helpful.

I would recommend to anyone visiting Perth if you have a car as a wee bit out of the town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We arrived with friends for a Bar meal on Tuesday 23rd October at 7.00pm to find the hotel exceptionally busy with Diners and Residents and it was obvious the 3 staff on duty were running at full capacity, despite this the Duty Manageress Fiona Steve and Alan were courteous,efficient and endeavoured to ensure that everyone was happy with their services. We were particularly impressed with Fiona and hope that the Management appreciated the extreme pressure that their staff were under.Dedicated Staff like these are hard to find. We are regulars here and have noticed the turnover in Staff at Huntingtower. The food was of excellent quality our compliments to the chef. Our hope is that the Directors realise that Staff like these are very hard to find and replace .Mr.& Mrs McRobie,Betty and John.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDoga, General Manager at Huntingtower Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to comment it is much appreciated. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience and will be sure to pass on your comments to the above mention staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We've stayed here for my 60th birthday, the room clean, good bed, very friendly and helpfull staff, 5 star food, romantic diningroom with real candlelight.
Beautiful location and not to far from Perth city centre.

The only minus is there is no shelf in the bathroom for your toiletries.

Shame we had to go back home, we've had a great week-end and good memories.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bert27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDoga, General Manager at Huntingtower Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for posting this delightful comment. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will remember the Huntingtower Hotel when you think about your 60th Birthday.

I will ensure to pass on your comments to all staff concerned.

I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Recently stayed here and have to say that this hotel exceeded my expectations on almost every level. Clean room, friendly and helpful staff, excellent food and a fabulous location, all at a very reasonable price. My only gripes are: no shelf to store your own toiletries in the bathroom (having to keep them in the bedroom and running back and forward isn't ideal), putting 2 single beds together to make a double doesn't work - it's really uncomfortable when you move and hit the annoying seams of both beds and although the massive flat screen tv was great, it dominated the desk/dressing table area - not ideal when you are trying to dry your hair and put on your make up and the mirror isn't directly in front of you. Minor quibbles? Maybe but, in my opinion, valid nonetheless. A little bit more thought for how the room is used is required. That's why I didn't give this hotel 5 stars. That said, it wouldn't put me off returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebusFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kirkcaldy
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just stayed at the Huntingtower Hotel for the first time. What a great place. Staff were brilliant, food was excellent and the rooms were first class. Highly rate this hotel. We have family gatherings each year and this is the best hotel we have used. They could not be more accommodating and provided a lovely room for privacy where we were able to dine and enjoy the evening. We now intend to stay at this hotel in the future and would recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: Our party stayed in different typres of room and all expressed themselves very satisfied with their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin501Kirkcaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasonDoga, General Manager at Huntingtower Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post this lovely comment. I am pleased to hear that you are your family enjoyed yourself and that we are able to make your stay memorable.

I will make sure that your comments are passed on to the staff concerned.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east scotland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here with another couple for a Sunday night in October. Deal included afternoon tea dinner and breakfast - all for £89 per couple. We both had lovely spacious rooms with flat screen TV, large bed and seating area. Great bathroom with plenty of room for toiletries.
Hotel is set in wooded grounds and is very peaceful.
Food was delicious, well presented and obviously home made. Great choice at dinner and restaurant is stunning. Drinks prices very reasonable. Breakfast was served in the conservatory again good choice and very relaxing. Plenty of staff both at reception and in the bar and restaurant.
We are planning our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clartodm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
3.2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
1,051 reviews
3.6 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
275 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
3.1 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
636 reviews
3.0 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Huntingtower Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Huntingtower Hotel

Property: Huntingtower Hotel
Address: Crieff Road, Perth PH1 3NZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Perth
#2 Family Hotel in Perth
#2 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Huntingtower Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm Scottish welcome awaits you at Huntingtower Hotel, nestled in a quiet country neighbourhood setting, yet only minutes away from the city of Perth. Huntingtower Hotel is one of the friendliest country house hotels in Scotland, designed with your comfort in mind. Enjoy understated elegance and charm, individual and tasteful guest rooms, spacious and contrasting lounges and dining areas, award winning food and service, delightful gardens and grounds. A place where you can relax and feel completely at home. Whether your stay is for business or leisure, Huntingtower Hotel is the perfect choice to make your stay in Perth a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Huntingtower Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Perth
Perth Best Western
Huntingtower Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing