We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value! ”
Review of New County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New County Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

Visited the hotel using a groupon voucher, we got a bottle of wine on arrival, a three course dinner & a full breakfast for a great price! The restaurants & public areas were quite contemporary while the room was clean but a wee bit dated, the staff were all extremely polite & helpful and our full Scottish breakfast was actually served to us at the table instead of buffet style, a real treat! The hotel is situated right in Perth city centre & everything was within walking distance, the hotel car park was full but the local parking just beside the hotel was very reasonable, overall a lovely stay, we will certainly be back!

Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

On behalf of all of us here at New County Hotel, I thank you for taking the time to share your praise for our hotel especially on how good the food was as well as how well my team looked after you during your stay. I am truly delighted you hold the hotel in such high regard and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for New County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 770 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

We visited the New County Hotel as part of a Groupon deal, which made it excellent value for money. Yes, the rooms are in need of some TLC, yes the shower was pretty poor, yes the stairs are quite steep. But balance that against very friendly and helpful staff, a really great dinner and a delicious breakfast and it adds up to a very enjoyable night away.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank algal15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your recent review .We are very glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us , especially glad to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast and found the food at dinner time so great. We look forward to accommodating you the next time you visit decide to pay Perth a Visit.

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

I read the good and bad reviews about this hotel, but as we were getting a good deal with woucher, we thought we would give it a try. Either the people that posted the bad reviews were either really fussy, or just unlucky. We had a nice clean room facing the front. We had a meal in the bistro bar, and what a lovely meal it was. I had the full scottish breakfast and my wife had the haddock, all were served prompt and by very nice and polite staff. All in all we had a most enjoyable stay, and would return again, as we really like perth, and this was a good find.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us in such a positive light I am absolutely thrilled that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay ,from breakfast to dinner as well as all of the staff looking after you so well.. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and I hope it is not too long before you visit us again at the hotel.

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Much as been said here about the contrast between the attractive ground floor and the pretty down-at-heel upstairs. All true, sadly.
We went to Gavin's Bistro for a bite in the evening and it was fine for what it was. No complaints there.
But what really really knocked this hotel down a notch was the breakfast. Oh well, I thought, it's a bit shabby, but we've got a Full Scottish in the attractive Opus One dining area. That can't be bad. Can it?
It was! We waited quite a time - not helped by the waitress taking the order of a couple who came in a good bit after us. The white china teapot was stained on the outside under the spout and along the side and then the fry itself.... the black pudding had disappeared, the scrambled egg had all the signs of having been cooked for ages, mushrooms stewed beyond belief, and a sausage which we each tasted and both thought ... this sausage has an odd taste... chorizo(ish?)... faintly sweet. We left them. We just left the table - it just didn't seem worth complaining.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James_Dalrymple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give us this feedback. I was disappointed to read your comments, which are certainly not reflective of the usual high standard of service on which we have built our reputation. Please accept my sincere apologies that you felt we fell below your expectations, and be assured that we take such matters seriously .I would suggest that you should approach the Duty Manager during your stay to raise any concerns. These sometimes can be dealt with very efficiently at the time and almost always impossible after your stay is over. I hope you consider staying at the New County Hotel the next time you are in Perth

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went with friends using a Groupon deal. Staff were excellent, very friendly and helpful. Food was lovely too. The bedroom was small and in need of modernising. But for the money, we had an excellent deal. We would go back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank morrices
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a complimentary review, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay so much, I will pass on your positive thoughts to the staff who will be thrilled to hear you had such a nice time.. I really appreciate your remarks, and hope it is not too long before your next visit.

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Hotel is an old building which we were aware of and didn't expect too much but what let it down was the quality of service or should I say lack if quality!! On arrival our room smelt like a hamsters cage! The room looked clean though.
Our first breakfast was a bit of a disaster waited over 35 mins for a traditional full Scottish the poached egg was like a squash ball everything was cold even the coffee!
The sat afternoon we decided to use the hotel cafe which advertised toasties baked potatoes etc from 12 until 5 only to be told that "we've closed the kitchen" no reason why & they still had the menus on tables advertising this service!! The opus restaurant remained closed through out our stay so we never got the chance to experience that!
Sat evening just got worse we decided to have a few cocktails from the cocktail list we managed to get 2 one margarita & tequila sunrise the sunrise had to be returned as it was like an orange juice we were then told that the cocktail shaker "wasn't working" we just couldn't stop laughing at that excuse!!!!! It proved to us that no one had any experience in bar duties or organisation skills! Sun morning we managed to get an edible breakfast but only to witness other guests complain that no pastries or orange juice available at the continental table selection oops I say selection but it was never replenished very very poor service!! Could gave been a much better stay for us if the staff could have made much more an effort rather than their couldn't be bothered attitude if they don't like the job they are in give it to someone who will deliver! If that standard of service continues the place will close very very disappointed!!

Room Tip: Very noisy at front rooms
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

I am very sorry to hear of your dissatisfaction experienced at the New County Hotel.This is not a reflection of our usual standard of service and care.As many people would testify as well as many numerous good reviews of the hotel.Unfortunately we did have some very challenging times in the kitchen over a three/four day period whilst you were staying with us to which in the end resulted in myself having to step into the kitchen, having operated in Kitchens before working my way up the ranks.The problem was resolved after a few days.This took me away from my usual position as the manager on the floor and therefore would have been much better equipped and organised..I have spoken to the people involved and rest assured extra training will be put in place,I once again sincerely apologise and rest assured if you were to return to the The New County you would have a much much enjoyable stay.Hope to see you back at the New County hotel in the future.

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Purchased a Groupon deal @ £89 for dinner, bed & breakfast. Also booked out second night b&b £89.
So disappointed, the entrance is lovely, room was small, basic, bed uncomfortable, sheets stained, surprise in toilet!!!

Arrived down to Bistro for dinner, waited 30 mins for starter which was lovely. Well over an hr for mains, my husband ordered cheese burger and wedges, burger was completely lost in this huge dry ciabatta roll, burger really overcooked. He then waited another half hr for wedges to arrive.
I ordered beef casserole with puff pastry, a tiny scotch pie type thing arrived. I pointed out description on menu....asked if wanted him to take it back, well yes if have what's on menu told prob not n that's prob why you got this....ordered chips, no chips. Every table was same!
Offered free meal following evening, didn't take them up on this.
Breakfast was also really slow, hard poached egg arrived.
When advised manager we would not be staying another night he was really good in refunding money for 2nd night. Nothing for previous night that was a disaster though....
A lot of customer service training needed for all staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Taylor-0301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment experienced at the New County Hotel.This is not a reflection of our usual standard of service and care.As many people would testify as well as many numerous good reviews of the hotel.Unfortunately we had some very challenging times in the kitchen over a three/four day period whilst you were staying with us to which in the end resulted in myself having to step into the kitchen, having operated in Kitchens before working my way up the ranks.I once again sincerely apologise and rest assured if you were to return to the The New County you would have a much better experience.Hope to see you back in Perth at our hotel in the future.

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
955 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grampian Hotel
Grampian Hotel
#14 of 18 in Perth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New County Hotel

Address: 22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $61 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County Hotel:Right in the heart of Perth's city centre, within easy walking distance of all that the city of Perth has to offer. Perth Theatre, Perth Concert hall, Perth Museum and Perth Leisure Pool are all within easy reach. The city's bus and train stations are just a short walk away. This fine hotel offers fresh and comfortable en suite rooms. Guests have access to free Wi-Fi throughout, limited free parking, and superb award-winning fine dining in the Opus One Restaurant.Rooms are individually decorated, with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each room also comes with a hospitality tray. It offers modern cuisine in attractive contemporary surroundings.The hotel has Gavin's Bistro Bar, serving a varied menu and sporting an authentic pub atmosphere.Light and airy, the stylish Café 22 is a great place to relax with friends and enjoy tea or coffee, scones or a light meal.An Excellent Conference, Meeting, Special Event And Celebration Venue In Perth City Centre. Whether you are planning an event or celebration, business or pleasure or a mixture of both, we meet all your needs professionally and expertly.The hotel function room can comfortably accommodate up to 100 people theatre style and 80 in dinner dance format, weddings for up to 80 guests.The hotel has free Wifi access throughout the hotel.Function Suite and Opus One Restaurant are available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New County Perth
Hotel New County
New County Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing