We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New County Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$201
$194
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$126
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (807)
Filter reviews
807 results
Traveler rating
257
272
152
60
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
257
272
152
60
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealon arrivalfirst floorcourse mealcar parkbit datedexcellent value for moneyfull scottish breakfastan overnight staycentral locationweekend breakshort stayblack puddingtwin roomstayed for one nightcooked breakfasttown centre
Filter
Updating list...
381 - 386 of 807 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed for one night and doubt if I would stay again. Breakfast and dinner in bistro was very enjoyable but rooms badly in need of an upgrade. Very basic, small bedroom. Shower was every small and barely enough room for myself never mind a grown man. Pressure very poor also. Disappointing but clean enough.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evelyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Thank you for the points which you raised regarding your recent stay with us. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your breakfast and dinner so much and I will pass on your comments to our head chef. I am sorry to hear that the room was not up to your satisfaction but rest assured if you had mentioned it to the duty manager he would have relocated you to another room.

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Two nights with an Amazon deal, very nice hotel, reception area very modern but rooms a bit dated. Having said that, it was spotlessly clean and a very comfy bed! (Room 102). Breakfast was excellent, a lovely pot of coffee on the table, help yourself to cereal, cooked breakfast, your choice from a menu, brought to the table. Very central, 5 minutes walk from the bus station and a short walk to the St Johns shopping centre, close to all amenities. Would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rimmer109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

On behalf of all of us here at New County Hotel, we thank you for taking the time to share your praise for our hotel, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Just got to our room at 1645. Arrived originally at 1300 were early, said our room not ready...fair enough. Went shopping. Came back at 4pm room still not ready. Sat in reception until 4.45pm before got room. Simon at reception just said 5 minutes til room ready sorry. Long 5 minutes. Nice hotel but this was not a good first impression at all......

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela_mckenna21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

I am very happy to hear that overall you had an enjoyable experience. Unfortunately on this occasion housekeeping didn't have your room ready on time, this is why I gave you complimentary refreshments in our lounge while you waited and I thank you for your patience. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed in the New County Hotel this week for an overnight. Firstly the hotel. The reception is very nice and is more reminiscent of a 4-5 star hotel. The rooms were of a 3 star standard but to be fair this is not a criticism if they are clean and well kept which our room, 219, was. We had a bit of an issue with the window being broke but it didn't cause us too many problems as the weather was warm however in mid winter I can imagine the room being very cold. Next the staff, all exceptionally helpful, very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. No issues there. Location is excellent for the city centre. 2 min walk from some decent city centre pubs. The biggest selling point of this hotel though has to be the Opus One restaurant. We had a 3 course meal there and it was fantastic. I have ate in hotels all over the world, including some 7 star and I honestly believe the food in Opus One matched the best places I have eaten in over the years. All in all a very pleasant visit with the great surprise of a hidden gem of an eaterie in Opus One.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Carlo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to post your comments on your recent visit. Feedback from our guests is important as we are continually trying to improve our customer service.
We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed you stay and your experience in Opus One.
Your comments will be passed on will passed onto our Head Chef and hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Perth is the "Fair City" and New County is the place to stay if you visit Perth. The accommodation is a few minutes walk from Train or Bus stations. A small compact Hotel with very friendly, efficient service and staff. The rooms and beds are tidy, comfortable and affordable. Meals are very good (breakfast and dinner), as well as the bistro & bar. A Comedy club on site, once a month with very good local comedians! An unusual surprise!
I would/will stay there every time without hesitation. If your on holiday or on business, this is the right place to be based, relax and get a good sleep. And Perth as a good base to explore much of the area with easy, affordable public transport around the local villages/ Cities, and the City itself a very busy place and a lot to see with three Museums and galleries, an excellent Concert Hall etc. And other stuff. Go! But check first with the Tourist Info service.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Operations M, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your positive feedback regarding your stay at the hotel.
We are very glad that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and delighted to hear that you will stay here every time as we always strive to give guests that special experience.
we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Simon
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews