We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great wee HOTEL”
Review of New County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
New County Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed April 23, 2013

MY WIFE AND I stayed here in April and had a good three nights DBB.The room was good but the staff were excellent and the food superb.The hotel has a choice of a restaurant and a cafe both good.The Opus One Restaurant was the better of the two easily

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

On behalf of the New County team, we thank you for your lovely review and are look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Jalal al Ibrahimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (794)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

558 - 564 of 794 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

My friend and I spent the weekend in the new county hotel and we had a wonderful stay! We were greeted by Jalal the general manager who was such a lovely friendly guy who looked after us all weekend, he is the only manger we have known to literally give you the shirt off his back if you needed it. The hotel itself was well presented and had a modern,cosy relaxing feel. The staff were all genuinely friendly and attentive. The opus one restaurant served wonderfully fresh food with a lovely full Scottish breakfast in the morning. Jalal came out to the car park to help us with luggage when we arrived. We had a lovely stay with Jalal and the team and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K88rla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank You very much for this wonderful review.
 My team prides itself in anticipating guest needs and exceeding service and food expectations.
Your review has supported this and we all look forward to your next visit.

Jalal Al Ibrahimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013

my wife and i stayed here for a 3 night B&B deal we were very happy with the room the manager and his staff were very cheery and helpful.. the hotel is centrally located handy for if you need a bus or train breakfast was firstclass every morning

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronaldm1948311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at New County Hotel.
I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and your comments will passed to my team.
We all look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back in the near future

Jalal Al Ibrahimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in April on a 2 night B&B deal with dinner on the 1st night and it was great from start to finish. The service provided by the General Manager and his staff could not be better - it was first class. They were so cheery, friendly and helpful. The hotel is centrally located, in easy walking distance to the main shopping area. The hotel has a small car park at the rear and when we arrived the Manager kindly moved his car to enable us to park there. The reception area, bistro and restaurant are nicely decorated. The bedroom was a bit more dated but was quiet and spotlessly clean. Dinner in the Opus One restaurant was excellent - as was the service. Breakfast on both mornings was great. Overall it was a thoroughly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay.
It was lovely to hear that you had enjoyed yourself, and hearing about it strengthens our commitment to providing the best food and service.

Jalal al Ibrahimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed 3 nights at New County Hotel in Perth. Very good city centre location. Staff provided a warm welcome and were friendly throughout my stay. The single room was small but adequate. Toilet rather cramped. Despite central location, no disturbances from outside. Breakfast was excellent. Only ate in bar once but enjoyed the homemade burger! After a couple of hiccups, the WiFi was reliable. Hotel parking is limited. Some on-street parking is available. Free from 6pm to 8am.

Room Tip: Be aware that some rooms are accessed by a steep and twisty staircase. Ask for help
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WeeBrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your stay and hope it is not too long before your next visit.

Jalal al Ibrahimi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Summary:
Stayed here overnight in April with work; central location so short walk to restaurants. No parking (park in pay and display opposite); a nice initial reception area; bar and restaurant. I could touch both walls with outstretched arms and everything below my knee hang out of the poxy single bed!

Pros:
Easy to find.
Relatively cheap (but still poor value)
Breakfast was OK

Con's:
About four car spaces for the whole hotel.
Room was absolutely tiny. At 6"6 I have seen bigger bathrooms in hotel rooms (pic attached).
Small, single bed.
Dirty around light switches.
Light fittings hanging off the wall.
Single glazed windows in the middle of a town were cold and loud.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam_Han
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 20, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the city.
At the New County we strive to provide great levels of service to all guests, therefore constructive feedback is very important to us

I would have liked the opportunity to have gone to the room with you to see all you mentioned that was wrong with the room and I find it very strange you did not complain at the time of your stay or on the day of your departure to give us the opportunity to address any of your issues.

However let me clarify some of your spurious claims :

** You say "I could touch both walls with outstretched arms and everything below my knee hang out of .... single bed".
The single rooms we have are 9' 2" X 8' 2" and  NOT  6' 6" as you say,  and the bed is 3'3" X 6'3", they are normal standard single rooms acceptable to the standards of the AA and the tourist board. If you had asked for a bigger room at the time because you felt it was too small for yourself, we would have had no hesitation to give you another room, because our guests rest and comfort are our number one priority.

** the light was NOT hanging from the wall as you well know, it's an adjustable wall mounted fitting that can adjust to this position and can be easily returned to the position you found it in.

**I found it hard to believe about the dirty lighting you mentioned because our Head House keeper is very METICULOUS about cleaning and the rooms are checked daily by one of our duty Managers

** Our windows are double glazed  NOT single glazed as you say, and again if you did ask to move to another room at the back of the hotel it would not have been a problem.

** The heating in the hotel and rooms is  on 24 hours  a day and can be adjusted up or down, and again if you felt the room was still cold even with the heating on, we would have put another heater into the room for you

**The car park holds up to 12 cars NOT 4 as you mentioned.

Jalal Alibrahimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The New County Hotel has some good points and some not so good. The staff are to be commended for their helpfulness and welcoming attitude. We were very happy with the service they provided in all areas, from the general manager right through to the cleaning ladies.

The reception area is bright and welcoming and the restaurant is a lovely space to eat, especially in the evening, with subtle lighting and music.
We thoroughly enjoyed the meal we ate there with its quality menu and found the waiting staff to be very cheerful and professional in their work.
The bar and bistro area is also relaxing for a quiet drink, we didn't sample the bistro menu but noted that it was quite busy when we were there.

A few not so good points are that on turning the corner to access the rooms upstairs you are met with a drop in furnishing standards, firstly with very worn carpeting on the stairs themselves and the decor in general not up to the reception area standard.
The corridors and rooms follow this same pattern, they could all do with major freshening up. The bathroom was just about acceptable, again the grouting and sealants need replacing and the shower didn't deliver a reliable flow of water.

We found the room we had at the front of the hotel, overlooking a main street below, was very noisy throughout the night with traffic and late night revellers, which didn't make for a good nights sleep. Perhaps triple glazing would be in order in these rooms?

There is also an odd arrangement for car parking in a very small space to the rear of the hotel, which can accommodate maybe eight cars at a push, with some cars blocked into their spaces once parked.

All in all, the friendliness of the staff and quality of the food, including a nicely cooked breakfast, probably tips the scales on the positive side. If the issue of upgrading the rooms and upstairs areas was addressed we might consider another stay in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ladyguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you very much for taking your valuable time to post the review
I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies.
We have began work to upgrade some rooms, and the stairway is alson in our plans.
I would therefore hope that your experience on this visit would not dissuade you from staying with us again, and please you can contact me directly next time you want to book with us, and hope it is not too long before you next visit.

Jalal al Ibrahimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
990 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New County Hotel

Address: 22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $37 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County Hotel:Right in the heart of Perth's city centre, within easy walking distance of all that the city of Perth has to offer. Perth Theatre, Perth Concert hall, Perth Museum and Perth Leisure Pool are all within easy reach. The city's bus and train stations are just a short walk away. This fine hotel offers fresh and comfortable en suite rooms. Guests have access to free Wi-Fi throughout, limited free parking, and superb award-winning fine dining in the Opus One Restaurant.Rooms are individually decorated, with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each room also comes with a hospitality tray. It offers modern cuisine in attractive contemporary surroundings.The hotel has Gavin's Bistro Bar, serving a varied menu and sporting an authentic pub atmosphere.Light and airy, the stylish Café 22 is a great place to relax with friends and enjoy tea or coffee, scones or a light meal.An Excellent Conference, Meeting, Special Event And Celebration Venue In Perth City Centre. Whether you are planning an event or celebration, business or pleasure or a mixture of both, we meet all your needs professionally and expertly.The hotel function room can comfortably accommodate up to 100 people theatre style and 80 in dinner dance format, weddings for up to 80 guests.The hotel has free Wifi access throughout the hotel.Function Suite and Opus One Restaurant are available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New County Perth
Hotel New County
New County Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing