We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New County Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parklands(Perth)
$72
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbank House Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
$100
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grampian Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
$117
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salutation Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
$85
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Perth Broxden Junction(Perth)(Great Value!)
$48
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Perth A9(Perth)(Great Value!)
$48
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveler rating
255
270
152
59
65
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
270
152
59
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealon arrivalfirst floorcourse mealcar parkbit datedexcellent value for moneyfull scottish breakfastan overnight staycentral locationweekend breakshort stayblack puddingtwin roomstayed for one nightcooked breakfasttown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
609 - 614 of 801 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We are just back from a 2 night break at the New County, which we enjoyed very much. we dined first night in the Opus One restaurant which was delightful, lovely food beautifully presented and very attentive maitre'd, next night we dined in Gavins Bistro, food equally as good but in a more informal setting. Ther staff were all very friendly and helpful,our room was very clean, warm, bright and airy, my only remark would be,that if you have any mobility issues this hotel would not be for you, as there is no lift, and the stairs are quite steep, I feel that is something that the owners should think about. All in all a very pleasant break.

Room Tip: Less stairs to climb in lower room.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mritchie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

Delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to review the hotel.
We do try to provide a high standard of customer service for all our guests to ensure that they enjoy their stay with us.
 I will pass your kind comments onto my team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Friends booked this as a ‘fine dining experience’ as we love our food.
Hotel from the outside looks in need of some TLC, but once inside the ground floor is very nice. Alas heading upstairs it’s clear to see where the money has been spent.

Our room was very dated and could do with a refresh (particularly the carpet). It was clean enough but very small and looked onto the main road. (despite our friends requesting rooms to the rear at the time of booking) resulting in very little sleep. Shower room in need of an upgrade with chipped wash hand basin.

Our ‘fine dining experience’ was indeed an experience, but not in the way we imagined.
Our main courses had to be sent back twice as on both occasions food was cold. When it did come back the final time it was minus the garnishes. When queried, staff advised that they had ran out. At this point we would have expected the chef to come out and personally apologise for events (as is our experience if there are any delays in service).We had sat down to dine at 8PM but our main courses did not arrive until 10PM
Later in the bar we were approached by a gentleman who introduced himself as the owner. He asked us why we had complained about our meal and we explained why. He accused us of threatening his staff by promising to write this review on Tripadvisor, and stated that we would never have been happy no matter what they had done to rectify the situation – might have been worth a try though we would have thought. He questioned our previous experience of ‘fine dining’ by asking the names of the restaurants we had previously dined at – we found this a little discomforting.
Good points – not many but breakfast was good and Clive is the saving grace in this establishment. He was polite and helpful in every way. If it hadn’t been for Clive (and breakfast) we would have allocated 1 star.
Overall the hotel in no way lives up to its billing as a fine dining experience. It may very well be that when it originally opened it delivered on the food front but alas no more. Don’t be taken in by the website as reality is somewhat different
Would NEVER stay/dine at this hotel again or recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobnRita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, Owner at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2013

It's unfortunate that you did not enjoy your stay with us, and as I said when I met you, all of us at the New County Hotel strive to ensure our guests have a really nice experience.

As I was on the premises on the night in question I would like to address a number of inaccuracies and omissions in your letter.

1. You sat down to dine at 8.05am and you were served an amuse bouche followed by your breads,  a starter and then sorbet. Your main course was served at 8.45pm not 10pm as you stated and some of you had quite a bit of it eaten before you complained. When it was returned to you by the kitchen we made sure it was hot.
2. Before your meal a lady in your company announced that she was entertaining guests who always review on Trip Advisor and that we had better be good.
3. The same lady went to our Duty Manager at reception after you left the restaurant and  said to the Duty Manager  "You better not think of charging us for the petit fours or coffees or else that will go on Trip Advisor as well. (the petit fours and coffees were not included in your 5course deal as was previously explained to you) I was in fact sitting at a table beside reception with some friends and overheard this outburst. It was then I went to your party, you were sitting at back of reception area, not in the bar as you stated and it became obvious that no matter how hard we tried we could not resolve your issues.
We did give you complimentary drinks and did not charge you for the coffee or petit fours and when you were checking out in the morning you told our receptionist and Duty Manager that that you were happy with your stay.
4. When I asked you if you were happy with your rooms and service, you told me that you were happy with the rooms and service, your issue was with the food being cold and the chef not coming out of the kitchen to speak to you. The afore mentioned lady in your company said, "Usually when we complain the chef comes out to speak  to us...did you have a chef in the kitchen"

This week we had an unannounced overnight stay by the AA inspector who again gave us a very good 3 Star grading and 2AA Rosettes, he said that we exceeded the expectation of a 3star hotel in hospitality, food and customer service.

While we take all comments and complaints seriously and act upon them and learn from them where and when we can to improve our offering, in this instance it is unfortunate that you did not enjoy your visit.

Proprietor Owen Boyle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We booked 2 rooms on a KGB deal which included meal on 1st night. We arrived after 3pm and the check in was swift our rooms were allocated and transpired our own room (107) was facing the main road which was quite noisy, we had a quick look in 108 which hadn’t been made up, it was facing a courtyard and would clearly be quieter. I returned to reception and asked if a quieter room was available I was offered 108 and aware that it was not ready to be occupied I said we would sit with our friends in their room until it was ready. I was offered coffee whilst I waited by the very polite lady on the desk, but declined as I didn’t need it.
The room was ready within 30 minutes. It was large with a separate seating area, it faced a sort of courtyard with no view. The room is clean and has a large comfortable bed and it is absolutely roasting! There is a mobile aircon unit which was fine but we had to sleep all night with a window open to keep cool, never done that in Scotland before in January! The next day we discovered that the large unit on the wall was not a heater, but a powerful aircon unit which did the trick!

We decided to have our meal in Gavin’s Bistro where Jalal, the manager, was most helpful (he must work 24 hour shifts as he was always around!)
The Flatiron steak he recommended was excellent and perfectly cooked. The Just Laugh Comedy Store had a show in the hotel and this was excellent value at £10. There were 3 comedians and Vladamir McTavish was hilarious (had never heard of him before, but he is a seasoned comedian)

Breakfast on both mornings was in the lovely Opus restaurant and very good they were indeed.

Car parking is available at rear of hotel, however it is really small and a tight fit, I wouldn’t leave my car there even if there was spaces.

There is a short stay Council operated car park next to the hotel, fees are payable 8am-6pm Monday to Saturday (Max 3 hr stay) if you arrive say 3.30 pay for 3 hours it will mean you are covered until 8.30am next day then move your car to the car park located a few yards down the street opposite the front of the hotel. It’s £4.50 for 10 hours but as you have to pay 24hrs a day move it back to council car park after 6pm and you will have overnight free parking and if you are Sunday departure its free all day anyway.

Overall a very good weekend and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from main road.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeandSandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Just had a lovely weekend stay at the New County Hotel in Perth. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean, although the bathroom was a bit dated. We had dinner in the Bistro where the food was of a very high standard. The breakfast menu was also very good with a great variety of cooked and cold breakfast options. The service was exceptional and we would certainly go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deborah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

The staff and General Manager Jalal were all very friendly and welcoming. The bedrooms are small and the one we had was cold as the heating kept going off. The food on New Year's Eve was not acceptable the main course rib of beef was so tough I could not eat it, and my husband's fish was overcooked and tasteless also we sat down to eat at 8 o'clock and we finished at 10.35 whereas on New Year"s day the food was good and it did not take so long. The manager and staff were exceptional,hotel was clean but no lift and a lot of stairs.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pedro54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews