We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for a One Night Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of New County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
New County Hotel
Ranked #13 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good for a One Night Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed last Saturday night as part of an Itison deal for £76.
.
The room was quite small but clean and tidy with a hospitality tray. Showers power was very poor and not much provided by way of toiletries - only soap and shower gel. Wouldnt have liked to have been staying for more than one night.

We ate in Opus One, the hotels restaurant, as this was part of the deal. It was excellent. Lovely food, reasonably priced wine and very attentive service. Cant comment on breakfast as we didnt have it.

Overall as part of a deal we felt it was good value.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaD1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    257
    135
    45
    47
See reviews for
63
416
27
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

We stayed for the weekend. this is a great hotel in the centre of Perth. The food was excellent, some of the rooms need upgrading but all are very clean. We were on the second floor which was very quiet. Wonderful hospitality from the manager. We will be back

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark-and-elaine13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverness
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed overnight for 1 night. on 27/10/12. Unable to access free parking due to hotel staff useage. - After a monumental climb - room was small and very tired and shabby. Room very very cold window had to be slammed shut. Heating not working which we reported on our way out for a meal but on returning nothing done. No bath mat and shower just a warm trickle. Hairdrier not working and only one plug point which had to be used for TV, kettle, personal hair drier. Service at breakfast was dreadful, given 2 slices of toast, no tea/coffee or butter. Jam/marmalade on the table was already used by other guests. Had to ask for menu and had 35 minute wait for hot food which lacked in quantity. To add insult to injury the bill was presented for 2 nights stay. Manager apologised unreservedly, but still charged us 50% of what our bill should have been.

Room Tip: As we only in hotel for one night and did not have a good experience, we are unable/unwilling to r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christina p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

I stayed for a week on a work trip all I thought about was how bad the standard of rooms are , my room had air freshener to mask the smell of damp , the room was clean but wall paper peeling and unwashed windows said it all . Trying to be 4 star but 2 at a push , room card from cleaner says it all photo copy mis aligned and cheap , don't be misled by pics on web site .

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 8963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

Stayed with a large group for three nights hotel was excellent. Jalal and his staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the bistro which was great the first night but service was slow on the second which meant the food was a little bit cold. I think if Jalal had been there this would not have happened.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seamus C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadleigh, Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in September to attend the races. I had asked for a quiet room away from outside noise when making my online booking, and was very pleased to have been allocated a room on the second floor at the back of the hotel. The twin room was small but very clean, good sized shower, flatscreen TV, comfortable bed and 2 small armchairs and a desk. The staff couldn`t have been more friendly and helpful, and breakfast (which was included in my package) was very good too. The Bistro is a nice enough place to eat if you don`t want to walk into town. There was plenty of comfortable seating in the bar and public areas downstairs. At £75 per night for a single room though, this was not particularly good value although it is fair to say that any accommodation in the Perth area is expensive in comparison to many other parts of the UK. The hotel is within walking distance of the train and bus stations, and the town centre. I would stay here again

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sixties-Icon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

Just arrived back home after spending 2 nights in the New County hotel. It was a last minute rush to find a hotel as everywhere seemed to be fully booked . On arrival we were met by a super friendly manager who kindly gave us the keys to two rooms and offered us the choice! We had a big room which was immaculate and very cozy! We had dinner at Opus One on Friday which was AMAZING! Beautiful food and brilliant service in a calm and relaxed restaurant. Parking was not a problem, we left our keys at the reception which meant we did not have to worry about paying to park as the car was left in the car park behind the hotel. Full fry up on Saturday morning was just what we needed and a lovely continental breakfast today. This hotel is super value for money, excellent location in Perth and one of the friendliest managers we have ever met, nothing was a problem! We have stayed in a variety of hotels, would say this is definitely on par with the Hilton ! Thank you all for a lovely weekend, we will be back! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IzzySuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New County Hotel

Property: New County Hotel
Address: 22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County Hotel:Right in the heart of Perth's city centre, within easy walking distance of all that the city of Perth has to offer. Perth Theatre, Perth Concert hall, Perth Museum and Perth Leisure Pool are all within easy reach. The city's bus and train stations are just a short walk away. This fine hotel offers fresh and comfortable en suite rooms. Guests have access to free Wi-Fi throughout, limited free parking, and superb award-winning fine dining in the Opus One Restaurant.Rooms are individually decorated, with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each room also comes with a hospitality tray. It offers modern cuisine in attractive contemporary surroundings.The hotel has Gavin's Bistro Bar, serving a varied menu and sporting an authentic pub atmosphere.Light and airy, the stylish Café 22 is a great place to relax with friends and enjoy tea or coffee, scones or a light meal.An Excellent Conference, Meeting, Special Event And Celebration Venue In Perth City Centre. Whether you are planning an event or celebration, business or pleasure or a mixture of both, we meet all your needs professionally and expertly.The hotel function room can comfortably accommodate up to 100 people theatre style and 80 in dinner dance format, weddings for up to 80 guests.The hotel has free Wifi access throughout the hotel.Function Suite and Opus One Restaurant are available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld and HotelQuickly so you can book your New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New County Perth
Hotel New County
New County Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing