We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it and I will be back!”
Review of New County Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
New County Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed August 22, 2011

The staff was very friendly, attentive and helpful. The room was clean, spacious, light and modern. My room was to the front and the traffic was sometimes a bit annoying. I am sure rooms to the rear are much quieter. The breakfast buffet offered a varying choice of cereals, fruit, cheeses, and cold meats (fantastic cold ham!). The cooked breakfast was freshly prepared, served piping hot and very tasty. The selection of bar meals was varied, the food was delicious and very nicely presented. I did not try the Opus One Restaurant but if the quality and presentation of the food I tasted is anything like the one served in the Opus One Restaurant I am sure it can only be recommended. The location of the hotel is ideal and easily accessible. Free parking on the hotel premises was much appreciated.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back. Front rooms can be noisy.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Muireall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2011

May we take this moment to thank you for your recent comments. It was lovely to hear how much you enjoyed the food alongside the appreciation of your room during your stay with us. We very much look forward to accommodating you the next time you are in Perth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (770)
There are newer reviews for New County Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

680 - 686 of 770 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

Terrific breakfasts, really great, served by friendly and efficient staff. Restaurant deservedly popular;

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan_barnard911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2011

May we take the opportunity to thank you for your gracious comments. We are glad you found your stay so enjoyable and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Great room; friendly staff; BRILLIANT breakfast - homemade Danish Pastries!

Room Tip: Found rates on laterooms and lastminute but called hotel direct and got better deal!
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank singletrackroads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2011

May we take this opportunity to thank you very much for your generous comments. We look forward to receiving you the next time you are in Perth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

what a wonderful hotel staff so friendly we had a great stay food was wonderful rooms comfortable
could not do enough for us even booked tickets for a local show well done to all of them

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 68chairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

May I take this opportunity to thank you very much for your gracious comments. We look forward to accommodating you when you next visit Perth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2011

The first observation was that the hotel is obviously very well run. The reception area is attractive and stylishly furnished. Staff are friendly and are able to deal with any enquiries. We found our rooms comfortable and clean. The hotel's central situation means there are many options for eating but we found the varied choices and excellent service in both the restaurant and Gavin's Bistro ideal. We will definitely use the hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fullplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2011

Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased that you found your room both clean and comfortable. We look forward to your next visit when we hope you can once again enjoy dining with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2011

Quite possibly the lovliest hotel we have stayed in with a fantastic restaurant. The manager could not do enough to help us from arrival to departure, top top service & nothing was too much trouble! Cannot recommend this hotel enough....we will certainly be going back!! Full marks!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dago1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

After we visited a few hotels in england and scotland we finally arrived in Perth. I think we can say that the warm welcome from The New County Hotel did it all for us. we stayed for a long period in Perth and came back to the bar on a regular basis.

The rooms had a great quality-price ratio. simple, clean and comfortable; good quality for a good price.
Want to point out that the bar and lounge are very nice to visit. Had a great time there.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlipperdeFlipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ralphsymon, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thank you very much for your recent comments, including you approval of our standard and pricing of our bedrooms. We are particularly pleased you enjoyed the bar and returned there on several occasions during your stay. We hope to accommodate you once more when you return to Perth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.3 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
955 reviews
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grampian Hotel
Grampian Hotel
#14 of 18 in Perth
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New County Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New County Hotel

Address: 22/30 County Place, Perth PH2 8EE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $62 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — New County Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New County Hotel:Right in the heart of Perth's city centre, within easy walking distance of all that the city of Perth has to offer. Perth Theatre, Perth Concert hall, Perth Museum and Perth Leisure Pool are all within easy reach. The city's bus and train stations are just a short walk away. This fine hotel offers fresh and comfortable en suite rooms. Guests have access to free Wi-Fi throughout, limited free parking, and superb award-winning fine dining in the Opus One Restaurant.Rooms are individually decorated, with a flat-screen TV and free Wi-Fi access. Each room also comes with a hospitality tray. It offers modern cuisine in attractive contemporary surroundings.The hotel has Gavin's Bistro Bar, serving a varied menu and sporting an authentic pub atmosphere.Light and airy, the stylish Café 22 is a great place to relax with friends and enjoy tea or coffee, scones or a light meal.An Excellent Conference, Meeting, Special Event And Celebration Venue In Perth City Centre. Whether you are planning an event or celebration, business or pleasure or a mixture of both, we meet all your needs professionally and expertly.The hotel function room can comfortably accommodate up to 100 people theatre style and 80 in dinner dance format, weddings for up to 80 guests.The hotel has free Wifi access throughout the hotel.Function Suite and Opus One Restaurant are available for private hire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your New County Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New County Perth
Hotel New County
New County Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing