We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Auld Manse Guest House
Ranked #21 of 51 Perth B&B and Inns
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This must be one of the best value for money B&B's around Perth.
The hosts are lovely, two of the nicest people we have ever met in this industry.
Rooms are clean and tidy and have everything you need for over night stays.
The Breakfast was excellent,and plenty of choice.
we would definitely recommend this B&B to others,and would stay again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    22
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
29
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed one night in the Auld Manse Guesthouse. From the minute we arrived until we left our hosts were excellent and very friendly and helpful.As mentioned by others facilities were good and very clean and breakfast excellent- all at a good rate.Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rcraib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Guest house is located within 15 minutes walk away from the center of Perth. Room was clean, bed comfortable, WiFi and TV available on the room .. all you need. The owners were very friendly, willing to explain where in the city to find the nearest restaurant or pub. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dilton Marsh, Wiltshire,
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Pros: A converted city terraced house near the centre of Perth ... about 10-15mins walk. Very friendly staff, very clean and warm. Breakfast very good but no evening meals. Ideal overnight en-route stopping place for those on the move.

Cons: The Guest House is on a very busy, main A-class road into/out of Perth and it is very noisy at the front of the house. Parking is limited to about 4 max at the front of the house (rather exciting when trying to cross the bus lane to gain access to the parking). There is more parking at the rear of the house but that involves quite a walk around the block to gain access to the house ... only at the front for guests.

Room Tip: Front of the house faces very busy main road ... choose away from this, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeeMarshian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Don't usually leave two reviews for one place but this cosy guest house is well worth it as I was in a different room and there was new staff. Fantastic full size TV, well stocked hospitality tray, fantastic breakfast and a clean room. What more could I expect. WiFi? That was available free as well - superb! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank its-farky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our room was the worst I ever seen in my life!!! We saw a lot of b&b all around the Scotland but I've never seen before such a orrible room like that !!!

The sheets were brown and dirty .. there were hairs inside them .. !!!! There were awful pillows and very unconfortable!!!

My first thought when i saw it was: let's run away immediatly from here!!!

Never ever again in my life!!!

I suggest to anyone to do not go there... NEVER!!!

I wanted to leave a message for all the people that use this website to have informations about the structure you are going to book! Like i always do!

I was so dissapointed that i've neither took a picture!!!

My opinion is: Terrible! Terrible ! Terrible !

Do not go there..please! you would waste your holiday!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank federica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuldManse, Owner at Auld Manse Guest House, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
The Auld Manse prides itself in providing clean, comfortable and affordfable accommodation. I am sorry to hear that in the case of Frederica's stay we fell below our standards.

We take all complaints seriously and I have brought the matter of the bed linen to the attention of the professional laundry company used by the Auld Manse and also the staff who prepare the bedrooms for each new guest.

I believe this was an isolated incident as no previous guests have raised these matters with me personally or through online reviews. In fact, the Auld Manse has a high level of repeat business from extremely satisfied customers.

It would have been appreciated if Frederica had made her concerns known to me at the time of her stay. I well remember chatting to her at the time of check-out and there was no suggestion that she had an unpleasant stay. In fact her boyfriend went out of his way to come back into the house after packing their car to shake my hand. This is not the behaviour of someone as deeply dissatisfied as Frederica's review suggests.

It does surprise me, if things were as bad as Frederica says in her review, that she did not request an alternative room or a change of bed linen. In similar circumstances I, like most people, would have been extremely vocal about my concerns. In fact, I firmly believe that she has confused the Auld Manse with another guest house she stayed in whilst in Scotland.

Future guests should rest assured that our aim of providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation will be maintained.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Our room was clean with a shower, basin and toilet. White bed linen and towels - remade beatifully everday. Breakfast was well cooked to order - you can always tell by the eggs! Porridge his speciality! Definite recomemndation.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.0 mi away
Achnacarry Guest House
Achnacarry Guest House
#17 of 51 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dunallan Guest House
Dunallan Guest House
#11 of 51 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.7 mi away
Rosebank Guest House
Rosebank Guest House
#3 of 51 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Ballabeg Guest House
Ballabeg Guest House
#30 of 51 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.9 mi away
Heidl Guest House
Heidl Guest House
#6 of 51 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clark Kimberley Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auld Manse Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auld Manse Guest House

Property: Auld Manse Guest House
Address: Strathmore Street, Perth PH2 7HP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auld Manse Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Auld Manse Guest House is a traditional Victorian home situated close to Perth city centre. We offer comfortable accommodation at an affordable price with a full Scottish breakfast included in the room rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Auld Manse Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auld Manse Guest House Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing