We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, friendly service.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Summers - CLOSED

Summers
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Open from 9am-Late 7 days, Summers is Family owned and serves Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, High Tea and Pre Theatre. We pride ourselves on offering hearty Scottish fare in comfortable surroundings with efficent and friendly service.
South Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great value, friendly service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

Had lunch here on Sunday. We arrived just after half eleven and the whole menu including specials available to us. Sat in one of the booths. The service is excellent, I ordered the seafood pasta, was cooked to perfection. On two levels this place has laid back atmosphere but efficient service. Could not fault any of our meals. Good value also.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlecJames S, Owner at Summers, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Suzanne001,

Thanks for taking the time to review your recent visit to Summers. It is excellent to read your comments regarding both food and service. I look forward to seeing you on the next occasion you pay a visit to Perth.

Regards,

Alec Summers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    53
    18
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
266 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Tasty food and relaxed service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Went for lunch on a gloriously sunny weekend. It was a real pleasure sitting outside and watching the world go by. The fact that we were not rushed to move on was much appreciated.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AbClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlecJames S, Owner at Summers, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
AbClare,

Thank you very much for your review of Summers Restaurant. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, I hope we will see you again when you next visit Perth.

Regards,

Alec Summers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful food and lovely service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We regularly visit summers for birthday dinners and lunches out. The charming service is so lovely to see and makes the experience go the extra mile. Personally one of my favourite places to eat out, and the food is very obviously freshly prepared and cooked with local Scottish produce. Their cheesecakes of the day are amazing!
Well done guys! We will be back! :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlie122333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlecJames S, Owner at Summers, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Charlie12233,

It is always excellent to see a 5 star review, and we hope we continue to deliver this level of experience for you on your visit's. Thanks again and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Regards,

Alec Summers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Melt-in-the-mouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We have had an extremely pleasant meal on this very hot evening. My duck, in particular, was absolutely melt-in-the-mouth.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank greennote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlecJames S, Owner at Summers, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
greennote,

Thank you for reviewing your visit to Summers, I was happy to see you had found your duck 'melt-in-the-mouth'. We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Regards,

Alec Summers

Regards,

Alec Summers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea not worth the price”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

Used an itson voucher for an afternoon tea deal. The deal was £8 a 50% saving and even that was over priced.
The afternoon tea was 2 finger sandwiches a scone (which was scale) and bit of banana bread and a tiny strawberry tart.
This was just not value for money.
I would have complained about the scone but I felt I couldn't as the manager kept shouting at the 1 member of staff that was serving
I gave this place a second chance but never be back again as both times the manager has been shouting at staff and the food isn't that good

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlecJames S, Owner at Summers, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Jill M,

I was dissapointed to read that you have not enjoyed your visit's to Summers and felt that our Afternoon tea was overpriced. Our scones are made daily and are an item that we have regularly received excellent feedback on, but i will certainly look into this.

I was also concerned that you believed staff were being 'shouted' at, having spoken to the staff on shift, I am satisfied that this is not the case as this is not something we would accept (or expect our guests to tolerate). I can only offer my sincerest apologises that you have found your visits unsatisfactory and will not be returning.

Regards,

Alec Summers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Summers also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing