We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lunch”
Review of Reid's Cafe

Reid's Cafe
Ranked #28 of 200 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Reid's Cafe and Bistro opened in July 2010 and is privately owned by locals Alan and Allison Ovenstone who continue to take an active role in day-to-day operations of the vibrant venue. Located in the City's busy High Street, Reid's is open 7 days a week and serves locally sourced produce, beef from a local award-winning butcher, breads and a selection of home baking produced freshly at Reid's. You'll receive a warm Perth welcome from the friendly staff and can choose from an extensive breakfast menu, fabulous cups of fresh coffee in the mornings and afternoons, and lunch or tea from the All Day Menu. A "Daily Specials Board" offers some tempting options over the lunch period and Reid's is regularly buzzing in the middle of the day. The outside seating terrace has an enviable position on the main commercial High Street, cornering St John Street, full of independent retailers, and opposite George Street which leads to the Perth Museum & Art Gallery. Reid's is an ideal place to come & enjoy home cooking with flair & passion, whether its breakfast, lunch or coffee, our large menu & specials board should tempt you in. The team pride themselves on serving you freshly prepared food in the tastiest way possible.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lunch”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

My SO and I visit here often for lunch. We fell in love with the place when the soup du jour was fresh tomato and pepper - it was so tasty I could have had another serving. The sandwiches are nice and big, the specials are always very strong and tasty, and the selection of cakes on offer are delicious. My only gripe is that the regular latte seems very small, I'd dread to see the size of their small latte!
It's great if you need a stiffer drink too, with a nice selection of alcoholic beverages.


The cafe is very warm and welcoming too, and the staff are very attentive and patient! This place is always a surefire and safe visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    88
    30
    16
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfect Lunch Stop”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Regularly meet here for lunch with my friends. Reid's is a really lovely cafe/bistro. Decor is very elegant and loos are much more than the norm.
There are always specials on alongside the main menu. Good choices. Sometimes a bit too salty for my taste but otherwise I have never been disappointed by the food and service at this friendly, bussling cafe. It always has a good atmosphere and big windows to watch the world go by, but not me, I have far too much to discuss with my friends!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JulieH444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A really nice cafe”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Reid's provides everything that Perth's other popular city centre cafe lacks - good food, nice cakes, excellent service and value for money. I would absolutely recommend it. My only criticism is that it is usually crowded. I guess this is testament too it's success.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Icebeaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great service”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The service was great , The Staff were probably the best i have ever came across, and the food was very tasty, and a great price.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Brahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Every time I go to Perth for a day of shopping I make sure I visit Reid's for a spot of lunch. They have an extensive menu to suit all palates and it always looks delicious when delivered to each table. I normally choose one of the home-made soups then finish with a yummy cake or traybake.

The staff are very attentive and professional in their manner. I wouldn't even consider going anywhere else now and would thoroughly recommend it to everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank janders10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Reid's Cafe also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Reid's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing