We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Queens Hotel
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Perth
BRORA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very tired”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

This hotel is badly in need of some work. Our tiny room, although clean, was very tired indeed and screaming our for a bit of an update. Our bathroom was grotty, chipped paintwork and a leaky - spray all over the place- shower. There is an 'old' smell to the corridors which should be enough to suggest to the company that it needs work. We didn't have an evening meal here but did eat breakfast in the 'too small for the hotel' restaurant. Breakfast was ok. The cold selection wasn't very inspiring, however, they did a decent poached egg on toast and from what I could see the other cooked selections looked reasonable. We were here for work and wouldn't choose this as a place to come ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie_Bell_Brora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Melanie_Bell_Brora

Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. All feedback is much appreciated. I am sorry though that we did not meet your expectations during your short stay with us.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    201
    136
    59
    50
See reviews for
67
223
28
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

stayed at this hotel for 2 nights for bed and breakfast hotel in need of tlc we ate in hotel bar lounge on first night which was poor bedroom was clean beds comfortable room in need of being done up second night we went into town centre and found a great indian resturant which was value for money would not recommend this hotel it is in the middle of a housing scheme only good thing was handy for bus and train stations 2 min walk to hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorwheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear lorwheatley

I am sorry we did not meet your expectations for your recent stay. We are a city centre hotel situated between the bus & train station, however I have never heard of us being referred to as being "in the middle of a housing scheme". Thank you for your review.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Lanarkshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Friendly and helpful staff, Spa facilities were excellent, a really enjoyable weekend. Would have no hesitation recommending to friends. Breakfast was great and really good selection of bar lunches menu varied daily.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fultons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Fultons
Thank you for your review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your weekend and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverurie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

My parents, my friend and myself stayed here for a night at the beginning of may and had a very pleasent stay. The girl on reception was lovely and gave us a fantastic welcome to the hotel and tried to get us checked in early. The rooms were fine, a little old fashioned but they had everything we needed and were really clean, what more do you need?! Good nights sleep although the floorboards above were quite noisy so we heard when people were walking around. Fantastic breakfast with a good selection. Great pool and facilities - it was a great way to start the day. I'd definitely stay here again and would recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Fiona M
Thank you for your review, I'm glad to hear that you enjoyed your break with us and that the staff made you feel welcome. Hopefully you will visit again in the future.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Husband booked hotel as a birthday surprise and because it was in centre of Perth. First impressions..carpark with loads of spaces; friendly receptions; room ready even thought we arrived too early. Room was small and the furniture did not all match. Bed seemed comfy enough. Having a bar on the premises was good. Leisure facilities were first class..although the locker in ladies changing room did not work but I just put my things in my husbands locker so it wasnt a problem. We ate out and its just as well we booked a table. Sleep quality is where the hotel failed for us. The walls are so thin. We were in room 310 nearest to the lift and the stairs and could hear the lift buzzing everytime the doors opened. We unfortunately were wakened most of the night. Other guests had to walk by our door to get to their rooms. The fire alarm also went off during the night. Looking forward to a quiet nights sleep at home. Breakfast was lovely and staff were all friendly. It was a memorable birthday weekend away because we came home knackered!

Room Tip: Stay clear of room 310 as its too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hairyhaggis52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear hotlips5001
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I'm glad you managed to make use of our leisure facilities but I am sorry to hear that you did not sleep well during your stay.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights on 5 May. We enjoyed our stay, breakfast was nice and overall the food was good. The hotel was clean, the staff were pleasant and but feel the whole hotel looks tired and could do with an upgrade.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goggies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Goggies
thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are currently working our way through a planned refurbishment programme.
Kind Regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

good breakfast quality for money nice spa pool to chill stayed a good few times staff pleasant and helpful well worth a visit as perth is a lovely place.me and the wife try get up there as much as we can and look forward to it every time nice places to eat not ate inside apart from breakfast and it was well tastey good selection of food for everyone so take my word for it and give it a visit if you are looking for place to stay for a night or two,yours
Mr A Lees.

Room Tip: any room thats not next to a family room but even though it won't bother you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Alan L

Thank you for taking the itme to leave a review of your most recent stay. I'm so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Queens Hotel

Property: Best Western Queens Hotel
Address: 105 Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Perth
Perth Best Western
Best Western Perth
Best Western Queens Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing