We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short break in Perth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Queens Hotel
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Husband and myself stayed for one night, mother's day present from our daughters. Very warm welcome at reception on arrival and receptionist was very informative about meal times, hotel facilities, etc. We used the leisure facilities before dinner and enjoyed, swim, steam room and hot tub. However, although our meal was excellent it was spoiled by another diner in a party of ten who continually swore loud enough to be heard by every other diner in the restaurant. Although the manager was present in the restaurant he did not address this issue.

After our meal we complained to the receptionist and she duly sent for the "manager" who came down from the restaurant but he did not approach us. When we finally approached the manager, I was astonished when he told us that as the person swearing was not being aggressive he didn't feel the need to address the issue. When I said the man had been using both the "f" word and the "c" word he replied that he hadn't heard the man using the "c" word. I then stated that he must think it was ok for the man to continually use the "f" word and he just shrugged his shoulders and said there was nothing he could have done.

I have stayed in many types of accommodation over the years and I have never been subjected to such language whilst dining. The Manager "Kyle" obviously needs some form of training on how to handle such situations.

Apart from this one incident we did have a lovely time and the hotel, food and facilities are very good.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dochertym8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Dear dochertym8
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, but I am sorry to hear that your stay was marred by the behaviour of other diners during dinner. These can at times be very difficult situations to handle, I will however be having a chat with my management team to dicuss ways in how this could have been handled better should any similar situations arise in the future.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (597)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 597 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here on the 23rd of march with my husband on a dinner bed and breakfast tariff,which we would rate as excellent value.
The room was spacious,clean had a good sized wardrobe (with lots of wooden hangers!) bed was ok but starting to have a slight hump in the middle,blackout curtains on windows, large flat screen tv usual tea coffee facilitys, iron and ironing board,hairdryer in room so nothing amiss here rooms are a bit tired and could most probably do with being updated soon.but clean and comfortable so no complaints. Bathroom was a good size very dated, had avacado green fittings but was very clean no signs of mold anywhere on tiles or bath seal(a pet hate for me).
The dining room is small,but we did not feel cramped, the kitchens must be on another floor as there is more than the normal delay when you order food between courses (not to long) we found this ok as we were not in a hurry, but people at next table were going to theatre and were worried they would have to miss dessert! The food was good and a decent portion size it was included in our stay so excellent value(we eat from set menu,although we had a £16 spend if we had wanted to eat from normal menu)the hotel is so well situated that you have many places to eat within minutes of hotel,so you would not need to eat there if you did not want to. Breakfast was great ,very good choice of cold or cooked items,also no problems when you asked for more coffee or extra toast. Service very good both for dinner and breakfast,staff are more than happy to help. One tip we were advised to book for dinner as dining room is small,glad we did as it was full when we arrived and would have had to wait for table to become free if we hadn't.
We really enjoyed using the lesiure facilitys on the sunday the pool is small but was not busy so we had a decent swim,used the sauna and jacuzzi and generally had a lovely relaxing time. the changing rooms are spotless have good hot showers,hairdryers and have things like wet bags for your swimsuit,so would recommend you try it.
The hotel bar is small and was about the same price for a drink as most hotels it was very busy the night we were there as about 20 girls from a childminding conference were there so only room for us,another couple and the childminders in the bar,you can also choose to eat your evening meal here.
There is comfy seating in the foyer at reception where you can have coffee/tea and a delicous cupcake and watch the coming and goings as well.
All in all we liked this hotel the staff are competent and friendly, it is clean and good value for money and very well situated

Room Tip: don't worry about rooms near train station as I'm a light sleeper and heard nothing. Book yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Dear jill p

Thank you for your recent review of your stay with us at the Queens Hotel. It's always good to hear feedback from our guests especially when they have enjoyed their stay. I am glad to hear you also had a chance to make use of our Leisure facilities and hope to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I go to this hotel frequently as a day visitor. We are members of a chronic pain support group,,and have a day in Perth,when we have morning coffee and lovely shortbread, The ladies go shopping ,then come back for a swim.or sauna,or jacuzzi which helps pain a bit. We then have a meal,,before home,which can vary from not the best, but sometimes very good ,but not consistent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear Anne W
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, it's lovely to hear from regular visitors. I am sorry though to hear that the high tea does not always meet the standards that it should, I will be speaking to the management team to assure the best quality in the future.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

From the first step into the Queen', you are assured a wonderful, cheery welcome. Staff have to be commended as nothing is too much problem. Food delicious and competitive pricing. Hotel rooms need a wee bit of TLC, but great value for the overall experience. Staff are to congratulated about the service they provide to young and old, including hosting our RAFA Conference each year. I will certainly book to stay in the Queen's out with the Conference this year.

Room Tip: Go for rooms 3rdfloor upwards, no noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monkeymum10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear monkeymum10

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay. Here at the hotel we also enjoy the RAFA conference weekend, it's a pleasure. Thank you for complimenting our staff, we are extremely proud of them. And of course it would be lovely to see you back at the hotel before next years conference,
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I stayed hear over the Easter weekend, arriving on March 28th and leaving on Easter Sunday. It's ideally located within a couple of minutes walk of the city centre. The train station is literally a stones throw away and visable from the hotel and the bus station is right next door yet there was absolutely no noise from either. There is a car park which isn't huge but we always found a parking space. It has a licensed bar which I didn't use so can't comment on. I only had one issue with the room; the cold water tap needed a new washer. I notcied it late at night, reported it and it was resolved the next day.

We were able to check in early at mid day despite the web site advising of a 4pm check in time.

The staff were all friendly and helpful and I particulalry liked the spa facilities which appear well used by the locals as well as hotel guests. There was always someone using the facilities but it was never crowded. The gym might not be large enough for the dedicated fitness fanatic but it's sufficiently well equiped for the more casual and laid back users. The pool is large given it's location within a hotel but obviously smaller in comparison to municipal swimming pools. There is also a steam room, sauna and jacuzzi or spa pool and all very clean and well maintained. Unusually, in my experience, there was free use of lockers and towels.

The rooms weren't the biggest but were big enough and lovely and warm despite the freezing temperatures outside. Perhaps surprisingly there was a lot of storage space. The decor was fresh and modern and there was a decent sized wide screen TV carrying freeview chanels. The bed was very comfortable and the tea tray included short bread biscuits that were replenished daily. There was a bath and a shower and the all of the toiletries were replenished daily.

My only criticism would be the price of the food. The breakfast was £7.50 if pre booked otherwise £12. £11 for Steak and Ale Pie, £12 for fish and chips might not be extortionate but I found much better value for money at restaurant's in the city.

The best thing about the Queens is the value for money. At £55 per night for a double room, it's not the most inexpensive of hotels by any means but given what it has to offer it's well worth it and I'll definitely choose this hotel again if staying over in Perth.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arabchris225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear arabchris225

Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us at the Best Western Queens Hotel. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and do look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

booked this last minute as a stop on route to aberdeen.Decor a bit dated but on the whole enjoyed our stay.did not have dinner in hotel but breakfast was very good and staff were all pleasant and friendly.The pool area was much better than we expected and in fact better than the 4 star hilton in aberdeen.It could get noisy in the corridor outside the room but we were next to the lift which didn't help.The room itself was clean and the bed very comfortable.Overall pleased and good value for money.quite fancy going back to one of there tribute nights

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelac32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear angelac32

Thank you for taking the time to leave your recent review. I am so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us. We do have a theme night planned at the end of the month and another one in November, we'd love you to come back. Keep an eye on our Facebook page for details.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Dined here on Good Friday. After reading some of the reviews was not expecting much. What a surprise. We were welcomed by the smiling receptionist and greeted upstairs by the waitress who showed us to a table by the window in the lovely dining room. The meal was faultless, from the starters of mussells and haggis in filo pastry with plum sauce followed by delicious steak pie and rack of lamb with mash potatoes with black pudding. Absolutely delicious. My partner and I eat out every week and this meal as amongst the best. Througout the meal the waitress was extremely attentive and always smiling.

After our experience I woul strongly recommend giving this a try.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vicpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MikeSheff, Owner at Best Western Queens Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2013

Dear vicpayne

Thank you for your review, I am very glad you chose to dine with us especially as you were wary with regards to previous reviews. Unfortunately it is often the way that people let us know when they are not happy and very few who like yourself who take the time to let us know when we get it right. I do hope that you come back again, today we are implementing a new menu and it would be nice to get your feedback on it.
Kind regards
Mike Sheffield - Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
978 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,129 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#7 of 18 in Perth
662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Queens Hotel

Address: 105 Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HB, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $75 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Best Western Queens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Perth
Perth Best Western
Best Western Perth
Best Western Queens Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing