We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mercure, Perth”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Perth Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    289
    251
    118
    71
See reviews for
85
462
25
163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Padiham, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised when I saw the outside of the building, a converted watermill in the middle of town. The public areas are also acceptable. However the bedroom was disappointing. It was very hot and the window wouldn't stay open and there was no aircon. The bed was comfortable but the rest of the furniture was very old fashioned. The only useable power points were away from the bed so I couldn't use my phone while it was charging overnight. The bathroom was quite sad, chipped basin, some mould on the shower grout, very stiff shower tap. On the positive side again, the staff were lovely. Please Accor, some TLC for the place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelagh G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Perth Hotel through trip advisor website.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Many Thanks

Karen Johnston
General Manager
Mercure Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

As a hotel, this isn't "Very Good", in fact it's pretty average. As a visual feat for the senses, it's spectacular. A 14th Century (according to the manager on that night) mill house, which has the mill stream gushing under it, viewable from the reception area and bar through a glass viewing window. Simply stunning. The bulk of the rooms are in a wing off the original mill and probably date back to the early 1900's. Tiny rooms with modernized bathrooms, creaking floors and saggy beds. Barely adequate as a hotel . The staff are wonderful and try to be helpful.
Having stayed here once I wouldn't do it again, but that wouldn't stop me urging anyone who hasn't stopped here from doing so. It's something you have to do once in your life.

Room Tip: Not facing the mill stream - you won't get much sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronsmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Perth Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience didnt met your expectations. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Many Thanks

Karen Johnston
General Manager
Mercure Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

A weekend break here , hotel was very central ,comfortable rooms ,everything you need ,breakfast was lovely a great choice. The only bad thing was drinks at bar are way too expensive ,but plenty of bars within easy reach. Would certainly come again

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future.


Thanks again.


Karen Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Alabama
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Where to start... The hotel looks charming - in a cobbled back street but in reality, it is a less than salubrious location. Directly behind the hotel is what seems to be an inner city estate - full of noisy residents shouting the odds at unearthly hours. Due to the lack of air conditioning and overheated rooms, the windows had to be left open - et voila - hardly a wink of sleep to be had because of the infernal racket!!! It's not clear that the overflow car park is across the road behind a barrier - not far away but do make note - parking at the front of the hotel is a practical no-no! The reception area is ok - a bit dark - but redeeming feature is the water wheel and glass feature floor exposing the stream beneath. The rooms and corridors are a disgrace - tired, and in serious need of update, although the bed and bedding was clean. The lack of plug sockets was seemingly overcome by an extension cable running across the room - the HSE would have had a field day!!! The over bath shower was ineffective and the bathroom cleanliness left a lot to be desired. All in all, if we had paid full rack rate, then we would have demanded our money back and moved on, but as somewhere to "crash" it wasn't worth the hassle. We will be avoiding this place like the proverbial plague....

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JHibbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Perth Hotel, but I was very disappointed to hear that your experience was let down by two points. Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Many Thanks

Karen Johnston
General Manager
Mercure Perth Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fort William, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Stayed with 4 other friends and the staff were really friendly and helpful. Maybe could do with a bit of redecoration and updating in the rooms but it is clean and very comfortable. Staff were brilliant even though under pressure with a wedding going on at the same time. Pity there was no hot water in the morning as the boiler had failed, but it was only one morning. Great to have breakfast on till 12 pm which gave us a relaxed Sunday morning , just what we wanted. Breakfast was very good. Lunch was really good... must be the best crayfish and prawn sandwich I ever tasted, lots of the shellfish and not overpowered with sauce. Lovely garden area and lucky enough to have weather to allow us to spend time sitting out. Would definitely choose to stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatrionaMairi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future.


Thanks again.


Karen Johnston
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
1,051 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
636 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
233 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Perth Hotel

Property: Mercure Perth Hotel
Address: West Mill Street, Perth PH1 5QP, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Perth Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a 15th century watermill, the Mercure Perth City Mills hotel provides the ideal place to take a business trip, a short leisure break or somewhere unique to hold a meeting or special event. Whatever the reason for your visit to the newest CITY in Scotland, the Mercure Perth will look after you! The charm and character of the hotel offers a perfect backdrop, along with 76 bedrooms, our beautiful Kinnoull Suite which is the largest of our event suites accommodating up to 150 guests, two other event rooms which can accommodate smaller, more intimate parties and a lovely, relaxing lounge bar area. Whatever your requirements, we would be delighted to welcome you to the hotel and help make your stay or event one to remember. Karen A. Johnston, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mercure Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Perth
Mercure Perth Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing