We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy Base”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Perth Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“handy Base”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Handy place should a shopping trip is planned. Staff are excellent with the barmaid in the downstairs bar deserves a special mention. She went to the trouble of asking her fellow workers how long it would take to drive to Aberuthven. Room was clean just a pity there was a hole in the carpet. We are used to a cooler room so we found the heat a bit too much but others might not mind this. Would I stay there again yes I would.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dashodoric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future.


Thanks again.


Pamela Mees
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    292
    258
    127
    73
See reviews for
89
472
25
166
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here whilst traveling Scotland with our inlaws and the party included a 10 month old infant. Hotel has a good location but parking could be challenging as there is only space for about 10 or so cars. There are lots of small things that needs a bit of TLC but overall good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EagerExplorer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Perth Hotel.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

In reference to the car park the hotel has 2 car parks one at the main entrance and the other one is to the side of the hotel, our car parks can cater for approx 50 cars.

We appreciate your feedback, andI hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Pamela Mees
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

reception & bar staff great, let down by poor facilities i e car park fills up so you have to pay next door. toiletries not kept up to, noisy drunks not controlled 1 am somebody had a breakfast in our names the fire alarm went off at 8 am , someone showered with the bathroom door open ! other than that we enjoyed our stay.we would stay again if they sort out these little problems p.s. try the old ship , off the main precinct great staff and great real ales.

Room Tip: for a good breakfast ,go to sandemans pub just down the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Perth Hotel.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I have passed your comments over to our Senior Management of the hotel who will look into the issues you have raised.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Pamela Mees
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

The positives outweigh the negatives in this Mercure but a small investment would pay dividends.
We arrived in the hotel and checking in was efficient. Free parking is a bonus in a city centre hotel. The general ambience around reception is dark, old and tired. There is no lift and we were on the first floor. We were offered help with luggage but declined.
The bedroom was fine. Good big bed, smallish bathroom (very clean). Wifi was free, password from reception. Wifi reception was good enough, not very fast but reliable.
We enquired about dinner but there was a big group booked in so we went out to eat at the North Port restaurant next to the Concert Hall - well worth a visit.
Breakfast was fine each day. We were here on business for four days. I liked the fact that when your room number was checked each morning the waitress took your tea/coffee order - that is an efficiency which could be copied in all hotels.
The restaurant/dining room really needs to be upgraded. It is dark and the low ceiling makes it seem claustrophobic.
On our final night we decided to eat in the hotel. BIG mistake! We went to the dining room and the waitress was most pleasant and very friendly. She informed us that it was a carvery option. We had done a lot of walking that day so we decided to stay. Starters were soup or egg mayonnaise. We both had the egg mayonnaise - felt like a blast from the past! It was okay, a few bits of lettuce with an egg covered in mayonnaise- no frills! Then we headed up to choose a main course. There was turkey, lasagne or a chicken in tomato based sauce. The chicken dish looked like it was sitting there for hours and the meat certainly looked very overcooked. The lasagne was bubbling away and looked okay but was not what I wanted. So we both opted for the turkey. I don't know if the chef was new or inexperienced but he could not cut the turkey - we both got a plate of turkey shavings! The accompanying vegetables were poor- the roast potatoes were burnt, the mash was very badly mashed and the veg were not exciting! There were a few nice side salads which helped. On the plus side, the desserts were tasty. At the end we felt - okay we had eaten - it was fodder - not a good dining experience. £6.50 for a glass of house wine was a bit expensive.
The hotel is central, the staff are very good and really friendly. However the price we paid for our first night was exorbitant. The B&B cost £115 (€140) which is outrageous. We were not paying on the other nights as it was booked and paid for by our company.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iosaif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Perth Hotel.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I have passed your comments over to our Senior Management of the hotel who will look into the issues you have raised.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Pamela Mees
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

The hotel is centrally located in a relatively quiet area of the town centre and with free car parking is ideally situated for all Perth attractions including Perth Concert Hall which was the purpose of our visit the following day. On arrival at Reception we requested a meal either in the bar or restaurant at around 7pm and were advised that that would be fine, but as there was an evening function, there could be a little delay in service in both.

At around 7pm in what quickly became a crowded bar with wedding guests we were advised that the earliest time for a meal was uncertain, but could be after 9pm and so we ate elsewhere.

Unfortunately, our first floor room was close to the function's late night musical entertainment area and this together with groups of noisy guests outside the entrance awaiting taxis well into the early hours, seriously precluded an anticipated full night's sleep.

We believe that the management at the time of booking, was negligent in not advising of
the disruption to meal service and the liklihood of prolonged late night noise.

However, we were impressed by the friendly staff and wish the wedding couple well!






  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank scampi34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Perth Hotel.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I have passed your comments over to our Senior Management of the hotel who will look into the issues you have raised.

I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Pamela Mees
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stayed again on Saturday night with my partner, we've stayed 3 times now, each time in a first floor room (executive).

I have to say I think the hotel is a little gem, with fantastic and attentative staff. Our room was as ever, spotless. The bed is huge and very comfortable. There was a wedding on and I was worried we would be kept awake from guests who were smoking outside, but not at all, they were obviously moved on early enough. I agree with Tony T the staff often make a hotel, for us again, from check in to check out, they were friendly, helpful and attentative.

The hotel is in the centre of town, a 2 minute walk takes you to the main street and it's easy to walk about. There is free parking for hotel guests and I've never struggled to get a space in their car park.

The breakfast is self service style, unless you want certain things like kippers or porridge etc. Your tea or coffee gets brought to the table and the rest you get yourself. To be honest, I think for a 3 star hotel, there is plenty of choice; from a full cooked breakfast, to cereal, fruit, danish pastries, toast, kippers, mackeral, eggs benedict etc.

I don't disagree with other reviewers that the hotel could do with a bit of an upgrade, especially bathrooms which are quite dark and old fashioned. I think if a bit of money was invested, it would certainly reap the reward. The drinks at the bar are very expensive, for a gin and tonic and a jack daniels and coke it was practically £11 (for singles!). But as I say at a very central hotel, use your feet, there are pubs galore within a 5/10 minute walk!

I would certainly recommend the hotel, we will be staying again, central, very comfortable and clean with great staff. That's all I need!

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room on the first floor - makes a massive difference, trust me!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Kitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.


We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future.


Thanks again.


Pamela Mees
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnshaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just had one night stay (Sunday 9th June) in this hotel, 8 rooms booked for a corporate function, and all eight rooms were stifling hot and the windows would not open enough to provide fresh air. The beds were soft and quite small (just doubles, not kings) and the pillows like marshmallows. Added to all that the drink was extortionate - £4 a pint, when you could go next door to the pub and get it for £2. Although the staff were friendly and efficient we will not book this hotel again due to the points raised

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SUE815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercure P, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay at the Mercure Perth Hotel.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every guest and your feedback is very important to us. I would like to confirm that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth Hotel and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience.

Yours sincerely,


Pamela Mees
Guest Care Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,090 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.4 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#16 of 18 in Perth
763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
643 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Perth Hotel

Property: Mercure Perth Hotel
Address: West Mill Street, Perth PH1 5QP, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Perth Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a 15th century watermill, the Mercure Perth City Mills hotel provides the ideal place to take a business trip, a short leisure break or somewhere unique to hold a meeting or special event. Whatever the reason for your visit to the newest CITY in Scotland, the Mercure Perth will look after you! The charm and character of the hotel offers a perfect backdrop, along with 76 bedrooms, our beautiful Kinnoull Suite which is the largest of our event suites accommodating up to 150 guests, two other event rooms which can accommodate smaller, more intimate parties and a lovely, relaxing lounge bar area. Whatever your requirements, we would be delighted to welcome you to the hotel and help make your stay or event one to remember. Karen A. Johnston, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Perth
Mercure Perth Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing