We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Perth Hotel
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Hotel nice, staff very friendly, great location. Booked a ready to visit package so got a good deal although never received a free gift as stated. Would stay at this hotel again if i was in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DSinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I have noted your comment relating the gift and this is an area which I will look into in detail as to ensure that we don’t disappoint any of our clients. Please accept my apologies.

I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Thanks again.

Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    288
    247
    115
    71
See reviews for
85
457
25
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

My wife and I were guests at the Hotel from Thursday 28th June until Sunday 1st July.

I felt that I had to drop you a brief e mail to compliment the Hotel for a most enjoyable stay …pity the Game Fair was cancelled but such is life and the weather not to mention the loss of revenue for all the businesses in Perth.

This disappointment did not prevent any thought of an early departure.

One member of your staff I feel deserves recognition for his personality, helpfulness and most pleasant and friendly approach to ALL guests was the young man serving and looking after the bar during the early evening .

I tried several times to catch his name from his ID badge and the best I could see was Matchy or Marky ?

Please pass on my thanks to Matchy [and forgive me if I have got that wrong] ………………… if we are as quick to criticize we should be equally quick to say thank you !

So thank you Mecure Hotel Perth

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAUL B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Matchy is a young and upcoming individual with a lot of potential and I will not only pass your comments to him but I will also reward him for his exceptional service and customer care.

I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Thanks again.

Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Spent a relaxing weekend here.
Situated in the middle of the city but still quiet.
Rooms small but clean & comfortable.
Staff polite & helpfull & & food is reasonably priced, & cooked, & presented tp a good standard.
All in all a nice place for a short break.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foreverblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 4, 2012
Thank you for the lovely comments which I have passed on to the team of the hotel. We all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

When you have the date of your next trip please contact me directly as I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Looking forward to meeting you in the near future.

Thank you again

Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

My husband and i stayed at the Mercure Hotel in Perth last weekend. It was for a Black Watch reunion and i have to say we were very impressed. The location is great very central for everything. The hotel is an old water mill and has some unusual features like the river running under glass tables in the lounge and also through reception. the rooms are very clean and comfortable and the staff are helpfull friendly and polite. The breakfast has everything you could wish for and is on till 12 on a sunday so there is no rush to get up early as check out time on sunday is 2pm so after breakfast we sat in the lounge reading the sunday papers it was very relaxing. We will defanetly be staying there agian in the future great value for money .Rerards Linda & Ian Kilgour

Room Tip: Although there is no lift rooms on the top floor at the back are more quitet as the rooms are very h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindak856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Kilgour

Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Thanks again.

Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Mercure Perth for a weekend break. The hotel is centrally located with shops, pubs, restaurants and the theatre all within easy walking distance. There is limited parking in the hotel forecourt, but ample parking is also available just across the road. Check in was straightforward and efficient. We discovered that the toilet in the room we had been allocated didn't flush and we reported that to reception on our way out to lunch. When we got back we found that we had been allocated a different room and that staff had moved our bag to that room for us - excellent service!

The room was fairly typical and had the usual flat screen TV with various media options. There was also a hair dryer and coffee making facilities. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. One slight criticism is a lack of electrical plug sockets in our room. We had to unplug either the lamp or tv to use a plug and if using the hair dryer, the plug is situated low to the floor, so you can't actually see in the mirror. Our room was an attic one, so that situation may not exist in other room types.The bathroom was also clean and had a shower and bath combined.

The public areas of the hotel are very nice. The building was an old water mill I think, and the original mill stream still runs under the building. There are various glass-covered panels where you can see down to the stream below and some nice features in the bar area where you can sit around glass topped tables and see the water running below.

Staff are very helpful and friendly. I forgot my mobile phone when I was leaving and by the time I got home I'd received a message from the hotel to contact them and arrange collection.

You can either eat in the bar or in the restaurant. Both are good and not unreasonably priced. We took breakfast in the restaurant and whilst it is a buffet service, staff show you to a table, and deliver tea, coffee and toast. The service is excellent in the restaurant, with friendly attentive staff who keep tables clean and make sure you are properly attended to.

All in all this is a pleasant hotel, in a good location, and one that I would definitely visit again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 123nugget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.
I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
As you most probably gather by reading my replies and guests comments I take a lot of notice on our customer’s feedback as I am a greater believer that this is a key area towards trying to improve. We may never achieve perfection but by keep listening and trying we can meet our customer’s expectations on most occasions. Your feedback and comment relating the bathroom toiletries is no exception . It is clear that the room was prepared for one guest and not two. Too late to rectify this but have taken some measures to make sure we do the little things well and a lapse on concentration and attention to detail some times can portrait the wrong image for our business. We don't like wasting anything but at the same time we never reduce or withdraw any of our services or facilities at the expense of our customers, quality or standards. An oversight, which I am glad you have taken the time to communicate this to me.
I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Thanks again.

Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel from Sunday to Wednesday on a bed & breakfast basis. Because of the original use of the building (a water mill) the layout was quite quirky. But once you found your way around it was ok. The restaurant is on the first floor and is of a good size, plenty room between tables. The selection of cereals, fruit and cooked food was very good. The service in the restaurant was excellent. We were looked after like royalty. The room we had was on the second floor and was reasonable in size but spotlessly clean, as was the bed and bedding. As we were on a deal for 3 nights b&b for £210 for 2 we did not expect the presidential suite. I felt the hotel was a little frugal in their distribution of bathroom toiletries. One shower gel and one conditioner between two people was stretching economising a bit far. The location of the hotel is excellent, especially if you are in Perth for the shopping, it's one street away from the shops. This was ideal for us as my wife had only had a hip replacement 8 weeks previous to our visit so the location was a plus. The reception staff were pleasant and positive in their work. We did not use the bars. Our experience was very good and we would have no hesitation visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: No lifts. If you have trouble climbing stairs try for a room on the ground floor. But you still have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barber50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

It is particularly nice to see that you have taken the time to give some good specific details relating your stay and this will help both our customers and team on focusing on what is important to our clients.

I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Thanks again.

Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

I only stayed here the one night on business but it offered everything I needed. Good service when checking in and at breakfast. A good range of food at breakfast started my day off well. No complaints.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrogDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Mercure Perth Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your views on the hotel via the Trip Advisor site.

I will pass on your comments to all team members which I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I hope we will be in a position to welcome you back to the Mercure Perth in the near future. Please contact me directly once you have a date in mind as I would welcome the opportunity to thank you for taking the time to give me your feedback.

Thanks again.

Chris Charalambous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,029 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.4 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
0.3 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Perth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Perth Hotel

Property: Mercure Perth Hotel
Address: West Mill Street, Perth PH1 5QP, Scotland (Formerly Ramada Perth Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Perth Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly a 15th century watermill, the Mercure Perth City Mills hotel provides the ideal place to take a business trip, a short leisure break or somewhere unique to hold a meeting or special event. Whatever the reason for your visit to the newest CITY in Scotland, the Mercure Perth will look after you! The charm and character of the hotel offers a perfect backdrop, along with 76 bedrooms, our beautiful Kinnoull Suite which is the largest of our event suites accommodating up to 150 guests, two other event rooms which can accommodate smaller, more intimate parties and a lovely, relaxing lounge bar area. Whatever your requirements, we would be delighted to welcome you to the hotel and help make your stay or event one to remember. Karen A. Johnston, General Manager. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mercure Perth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Perth
Mercure Perth Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing