We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Salutation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salutation Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Denton, Texas
1 review
“good for price”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

excellent staff and location in Perth . Must get family room and top floor due to incredibly creaky floors. Other rooms are small. No parking so add cost of 10 pounds per day to trip/day.NO WIFI IN ROOM.

Room Tip: Top floor and only family room else you will be in a closet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sean a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to note down a few lines about your recent stay, I am pleased you found the staff excellent and the location spot on. We are looking at extending the WiFi as only some of the rooms have WiFi at the moment but all the public areas have WiFi,
We do hope you will return and we can then show you some of our family rooms on lower floors.
Once again many thanks.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,003 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    396
    133
    39
    26
See reviews for
137
386
83
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Stayed here with my husband for four nights for an organized trip to the Edinburgh Tattoo.
The hotel is in need of a little updating, despite that the rooms were very clean and the staff were
very friendly. For a 3 star hotel the breakfasts were excellent and so were the evening meals.
We had a carvery for the evening meal which for a change were hot. There was also a choice for everyone including fish and a vegetarian option. I can honestly say that hotel's facilities were and food were better than some 4 star hotels we haved stayed at

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words, we try and do a bit of refurb every year and our next big plan is the front of the hotel. I am pleased you found the rooms clean and staff friendly. I am also pleased to read that you found the breakfast and carvery dinners spot on and met your expectations and above.
We do hope you will be back soon, once again thanks for your review.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Bar food poor. Restaurant was closed on one of the nights so can't say what that was like. Breakfast how ever was good. Room just okay. No parking at this hotel. Heating was not on and when I asked for it to be put on they said yes, 2 hrs later still no heat. Went to reception to be told it was not on and they gave me an electric heater. All in all a very average hotel. I travel to Perth on a weekly basis and there are far better hotels than this one.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2014
Oh I am sorry to read that you did not really enjoy your stay and found the bar food to be poor. We do try and offer a wide range to suit all tastes. I am pleased you like the breakfast. The nearest car park is only one minutes walk from the hotel which the majority of our customers use. We did investigate the heating issue and it appears that one of the zones in the hotel had a faulty valve, this is being fixed in time, especially with Autumn looming.
I am sorry to read that you will not be back, I do hope you change your mind and give us another chance. Thanks for your feedback.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
southport, england
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Me, my husband, my two young children and my gran stayed here for two nights when on an organized coach trip to the Edinburgh tattoo.
The hotel itself looks very tatty from the outside and decoration does need upgrading, however the staff were fantastic and the rooms very clean.
We had breakfast and an evening meal. The dining room staff and the chef couldn't have done enough for my children. It was a set meal but they gave my children extra choices and made sure they had something to eat that they liked for each course. The food was really lovely with a lovely selection for breakfast.
The beds were comfortable. One of the problems I had is that we appeared to be above the function room and both nights there was a party going on. It was very noisy but did stop at 1am, as promised by staff. On the second night I also had a large fan or something running right outside my room it was very noisy. I believe guests in other rooms in the hotel didn't hear any of these noises so I guess I was just unlucky with my room allocation. Don't think the hotel has family rooms as me, my husband and kids were split over two rooms, however these were directly opposite each other so it wasn't terrible.
Overall we had a wonderful stay and would use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Don't get a room over the function room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigginpoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Many thanks for posting in such a detailed and pleasant review. I am so pleased that you found the hotel to be spot on. We have just had the building surveyed with a view to painting the building early 2015. I am pleased you found the staff pleasant and the rooms very clean. I am so pleased the Chef looked after all the wee ones needs and you found the food to be lovely especially the breakfasts. We do indeed have three family rooms, which although very popular, can be booked in advance and off course a family room away from the function area.
I am so pleased you had a great time and look forward to seeing you all back again soon.
Kind regards
Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

I had occasion to use this hotel as a guest. Found the reception staff rude and unhelpful. Bar prices for alcohol okay but at £1.90 for a can of cola etc thought that was daylight robbery. No excuse for this type of profit.

Room Tip: rooms need updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to send in a few lines, I am most concerned that you found the reception staff rude and unhelpful - this is an area where we receive positive comments....I wish you had mentioned to me which staff were rude; why were they unhelpful; who was unhelpful on what grounds were they rude. Not much for me to investigate with such a vague review ?
Cans of Coke are less than £1.90
Once again many thanks for your review.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel is a must for a wonderful stay! Like the Tardis, larger than it looks from outside.
Staff, very friendly and helpful, take bags to and from your rooms. Lift and stairs. Room very clean and tidy, bathroom, wow!! Tea/coffee facilities, TV in all rooms.
Food was fantastic, plenty of it, breakfast was a full and a help yourself bar if wanted cereals etc.
Evening meals were piping hot, plenty of it again, too.
Late night back from Tattoo(1.00am), staff were helpful with all our keys and asking if teas or coffees were wanted.
Overall, a wonderful stay, would highly recommend this hotel to friends and family.x

Room Tip: We didn`t have a choice of room as such, but I`m sure that all rooms are of the same clean standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Thanks do much for such a lovely review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and I do appreciate the time you have taken to highlight the friendly staff, clean rooms, great food and excellent breakfast, I am pleased you appreciated all the extras after the tattoo, we do our best to look after our customers with a few extras when we can.
We hope we will see you all back next year for 2015 Tattoo , perhaps even before.
Once again many thanks.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourport on Severn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed August 8, 2014

I enjoyed very much the stay at the hotel and attending the tattoo at the castle. The hotel was clean, the staff very friendly and food excellent. Thanks for a great stay. Breakfast and evening meals and service were hot, quick and very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keenal1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Thanks for taking a few minutes to note down a few lines from your recent stay. I am so pleased you found the hotel clean, staff friendly and food excellent - that's great.
I do hope you will return soon and hopefully before the next years tattoo.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
3.2 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
878 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
871 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
643 reviews
0.3 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#13 of 18 in Perth
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Property: Salutation Hotel
Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels in Scotland, the deceptively large Salutation Hotel has been operating since 1699, with its decorative front windows and grand entry. There are 84 rooms at the hotel from which guests can select a variety of sizes and configurations from Classic Rooms, Superior Rooms and Four Poster Rooms. All rooms come with an en-suite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, phone and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, and in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The hotel’s conference centre is available for booking functions such as banquets, weddings and meetings with the team to service requests. The hotel’s Adam Restaurant serves a hot Scottish breakfast in a buffet style. In the evenings the hotel serves a carvery-style menu as well as an a la carte menu. Reid’s Bar is a cosy lounge serving drinks of various types including local Scottish malt. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the bus and train station. One of Perth’s key tourist sites is Scone Palace with other castles and attractions nearby. Public parking is only a one minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing