We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A convenient watering-hole.”
Review of Salutation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Salutation Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 23, 2013

An old worldly and frequently used hotel in the centre of Perth. It is popular locally. It is an okay place, clean, tidy, with courteous staff. I have enjoyed my visits and its meals and have no complaints. It is very convenient for the town's centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank delparc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to note a few lines about your recent stay, I am pleased to read that you found the hotel clean and tidy with friendly staff and meals. The hotel is indeed very convenient for all the town centre events.
Once again many thanks for the review.
Kind regards and look forward to seeing you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,138)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

791 - 797 of 1,138 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Have just returned from the Salutation Hotel where I had a most pleasant stay. Its location is bang in the middle of the town which is ideal. My room was very spacious and tastefully decorated. The hotel has a lovely warm and cosy feel to it. The meals were great, with a good choice of menu. I have been there three times and I will certainly go back again

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2013

Many thanks for your kind words, I really appreciate the time you have taken to highlight the fact the room was tastefully decorated and that you found the food great with plenty of choice. We do look forward to welcoming you back for a forth time and many times after that.
Once again many thanks.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2013

Conferences are probably not the Salutation's bread and butter business, but they provide a certain quirky charm that some other venues lack. There something olde worlde about the place- which isn't too say it doesn't have mod cons like WiFi, projector display screens etc- that the chandeliers sort of amplify: faded grandeur, but with a contemporary edge.The table service for conference dining was a nice touch.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank LickerofPlates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to note down a few lines about your recent conference. I am pleased you found the hotel had a certain quirky charm. Actually conferences do make up a good chunk of our business and we have recently spent over £100.000 to improve the hotels conference facilities but retain that unique charm. I am pleased you noted the table srvice for conference delegates was a nice touch.
I do hope we will see you again.
Once again many thanks and kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Have just returned from a most comfortable stay in the Salutation. It's central location makes it ideal if you travel by bus or train. The outside appearance of this old hotel perhaps could do with some TLC but inside the atmosphere is friendly and welcoming. Our superior double room was in a very quiet setting, was tastefully furnished and laid out for us was a lovely box of the most delicious pralines from a local chocolatier. The Arran cosmetics in the bathroom were also appreciated.
We could find no fault with the breakfast buffet. Cereals,porridge, fresh fruits, joghurt, and juices were all there. The hot buffet contained all necessary components of a full Scottish breakfast. The whole package was extremely good value and could be highly recommended.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Criagendinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Have just returned from a most comfortable stay in the Salutation. It's central location makes it
Thanks for taking the time to send in a review about your recent stay in which I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are looking at ways tidy up the front of the building and hopefully will look at this closer in the coming months. I am delighted to read that you found the extra touches such as the local chocolates, which are indeed scrummy, and the soaps spot on. I am also delighted that you found the breakfast choice first class.
Once again many thanks for your time and we hope to see you back soon.
Kind regards
Gordon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

well what can i say from the outside the building looks very run down, but when on entering the building you soon change your mind. Very warm and cosy with a tartan feel to it. Bar immediately to the left of reception and seating area. stairs right in front of you left down to the left. Rooms done to a good decor and very warm. No bath but shower cubicle, tv, coffee making facilites in room. Great choice of evening meals and very hot, breakfast good choice hot and cold

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank postman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Many thanks for dropping in a few lines about your recent stay, I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the rooms to be warm with good decor. I am also delighted to read that you found the breakfast and evening meals to be good with lots of choice.

Once again many thanks and we do look forward to seeing you back at the hotel.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

What can I say! This is one of the best hotels in Scotland. The staff are so helpful, the food is superb, the rooms are clean and very comfortable. What more is needed to be said.The dining room has been refurbished and the large window has a great view up St. John St. This hotel is near the shops and as the High St. car free this makes shopping a pleasure

Room Tip: Rooms on the 3rd floor are great as you do not hear people walking about above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2013

Wow what a superb review, greatly appreciated. I am so pleased and touched how much you rate the Salutation Hotel and its food, staff and decor, The Adam Restaurant looks superb now after the refurbishment and yes it has a great view of St Johns street. The view will be even more stunning after the Christmas Lights have been switched on.
Once again many thanks for your review and we do look forward to seeing you back soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Good central locations, comfortable rooms, public and private. Breakfast was good, just one wee gripe, as there were plenty of staff on hand surely one could have fried eggs as required, it would complete an otherwise excellent 'full Scottish breakfast'.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2013

Thanks for taking a few minutes to jot down a few lines about your recent stay. We do appreciate this. I am glad you found the rooms comfortable and the location central - very handy for all the city events.I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast and I will certainly take your points on board re the fried eggs, as we fry them fresh to order there are some of the waiting staff that can jump in when the breakfast cook is busy to fry the eggs. I am pleased to read that you otherwise found breakfast was excellent.
Once again many thanks and we do look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
248 reviews
2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.4 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#7 of 18 in Perth
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
984 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Perth
#5 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $68 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels in Scotland, the deceptively large Salutation Hotel has been operating since 1699, with its decorative front windows and grand entry. There are 84 rooms at the hotel from which guests can select a variety of sizes and configurations from Classic Rooms, Superior Rooms and Four Poster Rooms. All rooms come with an en-suite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, phone and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, and in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The hotel’s conference centre is available for booking functions such as banquets, weddings and meetings with the team to service requests. The hotel’s Adam Restaurant serves a hot Scottish breakfast in a buffet style. In the evenings the hotel serves a carvery-style menu as well as an a la carte menu. Reid’s Bar is a cosy lounge serving drinks of various types including local Scottish malt. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the bus and train station. One of Perth’s key tourist sites is Scone Palace with other castles and attractions nearby. Public parking is only a one minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing