We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't be misled!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Salutation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Salutation Hotel
Ranked #4 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't be misled!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

when we arrived for the start of a two night stay we thought the hotel exterior looked very shabby.
How wrong we were!
The rooms were excellent and as for the staff, nothing was ever too much trouble always happy and smiling.
The food was excellent ,well presented and hot!
Only downside was the road noise if you are at the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try not to have room on main road side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words regarding your stay at the Salutation Hotel

We are currently in the process of planning to undertake a complete overhaul of the exterior of the building, which is in its early stages.

I am very pleased to read that you thought the rooms and food were excellent.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,004 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    397
    133
    39
    26
See reviews for
138
386
83
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a very welcoming house.

Staff are courteous and helpful: Desk, Housekeeping and Restaurant are a good team, and I was made to feel really at home. In fact, I extended my stay !

Food: very good indeed
Room: well prepared, and most comfortable
Staff: no frozen smiles in sight ( thank Goodness ! ), just open pleasure at helping
The Place: so much interesting history IN and OF the building

Lang may yer Lum Reek, Salutation ...
now, my name ain't Schwarzenegger, but I'll Be Back !

Room Tip: Just ask the staff !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words regarding your stay at the Salutation Hotel.

I am so pleased that you was made to feel really at home and that nothing was too much trouble to help make your staff more enjoyable.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coatbridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Just stayed three nights at Salutation Hotel. This was our fourth visit and once again we were not
Disappointed. From check in to check out the service was excellent. The staff were all professional yet friendly. The rooms were clean and comfortable and the housekeeping staff provided an excellent service. The evening meals were of a good standard. Helen from the restaurant was fantastic at arranging a table in small dining room near a window. All the restaurant staff were helpful ,friendly and helped to make our stay enjoyable. We look forward to returning next year.
Thanks for a great few days.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KatieCoatbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words regarding your stay at the Salutation Hotel.
I am very pleased to read that you found the staff to be very helpful.

Look forward to seeing you again

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

Found all the staff extremely helpful in all capacities. Room comfortable and food very good. All staff very helpful. Reception very helpful in all respects. Visited with my sister and she agreed with all I have said.

Room Tip: Phone hotel and they will help
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EandJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words regarding our staff.
I am very pleased to read that you found your room comfortable and the food offered was very good.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed here for one night in June on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and could not fault a thing. This hotel has no "rooms with a view" but they are very well appointed and extremely comfortable. The staff are very presentable and friendly being very eager to help or advise and, in the spacious dining room, very efficient. The choice from our set menu was very good and even though they had to deal with a foreign bus tour, no time was lost in serving us at the same time. The part buffet style restaurant meant that your dinner was well organised with plenty to eat. We relaxed in the well stocked bar afterwards. Breakfast offered the best hot buffet choice we have seen and we departed relaxed, sustained and very pleased.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Many thanks for posting a few lines about your recent stay.
I am so pleased to read that you found your stay to be extremely comfortable & your dining experience to be very efficient.

I am also pleased to hear that you found our Breakfast offered the best hot buffet choice you had ever seen.

Look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dailly
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

was there from 11/6 to 13/6 had the most enjoyable stay the reception staff were lovely and friendly and the serving staff in the restaurant at breakfast were first class. The breakfast was great - good choice and polenty of it - set us up for the day Thank you for making us so welcome and making our couple of days away so enjoyable. Mrs Eleanor Mair

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eleanor m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a couple of lines about your recent stay.
Your comments regarding the staff are appreciated.
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your Breakfast and it really did set you up for the day!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

We have used this hotel for an annual conference for several years now and each year it is clear that further work has been done to improve the quality of the venue - although with this age and size of building this is a never ending task. This year the restaurant has been refurbised and looks very attractive. The quality of the food is very good and it was served efficiently which enabled our conference to run to time. The staff throughout the hotel could not be more helpful. The rooms are fine - some are a bit dated but they are kept clean. For the conference, the Moncrieffe Suite can seat 250 comfortably and has good audio visual facilities.
Although the hotel does not have its own car park, there are several car parks nearby. Cheapest (£3.50 per day) is at the South Inch which is only a 5/ 10 minute walk.
I would recommend this hotel for similar events.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeNewton53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Many, many kind thanks for your lovely review, I really appreciate the time you have taken to jot down your views of your recent conference. I am so pleased that the food and service at your conference was spot on and ran to time. I am also pleased to read that you found the staff to be helpful and the rooms to be clean. Yes indeed the Restaurant is now open and looks first class - this was refurbished as part of our on going refurbishment plan.
Once again many thanks and we do look forward to seeing you again at another conference.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
3.2 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Property: Salutation Hotel
Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels in Scotland, the deceptively large Salutation Hotel has been operating since 1699, with its decorative front windows and grand entry. There are 84 rooms at the hotel from which guests can select a variety of sizes and configurations from Classic Rooms, Superior Rooms and Four Poster Rooms. All rooms come with an en-suite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, phone and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, and in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The hotel’s conference centre is available for booking functions such as banquets, weddings and meetings with the team to service requests. The hotel’s Adam Restaurant serves a hot Scottish breakfast in a buffet style. In the evenings the hotel serves a carvery-style menu as well as an a la carte menu. Reid’s Bar is a cosy lounge serving drinks of various types including local Scottish malt. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the bus and train station. One of Perth’s key tourist sites is Scone Palace with other castles and attractions nearby. Public parking is only a one minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing