We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service- everyone should try it..........”
Review of Salutation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salutation Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Recently attended one of the Xmas party nights and have to say how impressed I was. Quick,efficient service and the food was fantastic! I have been to a few of these nights and they are often a let down but on this occasion I cannot fault the experience.

The cheeriness of the staff also helped to make it a good night and the surroundings are very clean and modern whilst the hotel has loads of history attached to it. For anyone looking to stay in Perth I would always recommend this hotel or if you are organising a function this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words, we really do try to make our Party NIghts special. Good food and friendly staff are all important for a good night out. Thank you also for recommending us to others for functions and events, we are lucky that we have a great venue that can cater for upto 300 people with all the latest in modern equipment.

Once again many thanks, it is appreciated.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,149)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

913 - 919 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed December 21, 2012

From the outside the hotel looks run down, step inside and you will be pleasantly surprised. Welcoming real coal fire, although on the Sunday morning it did set of the fire alarm and we were all in the street around 7ish, it happens wasn't a real big deal. Anyway back to the review. Staff are amazing and the friendliest bunch I have had the pleasure of meeting in a hotel. Only complaint we had was the room allocated to us, we are up in what I could only describe as the servants quarters. A very long narrow corridor which they described as a family room. First room had 2 beds, led to another door and we found the bathroom, then through another door with more beds and another tv, there were only two of us. It was the attic so ceilings very low, in fact the whole room was dingy. We were offered another room, this one was much smaller with a double bed and bunk beds, declined that one too, third attempt and we were given a room that was much more pleasant, a nice but bit jaded four poster room overlooking the Main Street, as we had paid for upgrading I would have expected a room like this when we first booked in. After the room was sorted we thoroughly enjoyed our experience, even attending the Christmas bash on the Friday evening was good fun. Overall the visit was pleasant when we visited from 8 December. Was thinking of returning with friends for the 80's night in January but would want to make sure we got nice rooms allocated so will make a point of mentioning to reservations before confirming booking.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandymac64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to post a few words about your recent stay....I am pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay, even after variuos rooms moves. The hotel has a wide variety of bed room shapes and sizes, room 301 on the third floor is actually a well sought after family room due to the nature of its size. There are certainly no servants quarters in the Salutation Hotel anymore. I am so pleased to read that you found the staff to be amazing and friendly, that indeed is a very important aspect of the hotel.

The post festive 1980s night is selling well and we do hope to make this a good night, there is even a chance to win a case of Champagne again.

Once again many thanks and we do look forward to seeing you very soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I have visited the hotel many times before and everytime I leave with a great experience! Most recently I was there for a party night with friends, and everyone had a fantastic time, we can't wait to book for next year!

Dj was fantastic playing great new and old songs, and plenty of christmas party tunes, EVERYONE was dancing all night! And thanks to the Dj for playing requests too!

The drinks are reasonably priced and we took full advantage of the christmas specials - pitchers etc which were very tasty and good value!

The food was lovely and the service was very efficient and friendly, as always.

All 17 of our party love the sally and will be returning sometime soon!

P.s put the haggis baubles on the menu for next year, they went down a treat! ;)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravel2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Ho Ho Ho - many thanks for taking the time to post such a pleasant and truly festive review. The party nights have indeed been great this year and yes we have had so much feedback and requests to put the "haggis baubles" back on next year that they may become a feature of the Party Nights for years to come. I am pleased you found the food, service and value to be spot on and duly note that you had a great time on the dance floor and enjoyed all the tunes from the DJ...he is very open for requests.
Once again many thanks for taking the time for this, I really do appreciate it and we all look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent 2-night break part-business, part pleasure. Stayed there previously, before doing reviews, and knew that hotel would be good. Single room spacious and warm. Breakfast, as always, a very comprehensive buffet....enough to last throughout the day. The corridors to the rooms are a bit like a rabbit warren, but that only adds to the character of the building. Reception staff always happy and helpful, restaurant staff superbly efficient, bar staff likewise. But the real stars for me were Tyler and Stuart, who were on duty during the night and kept me fed and watered (not water!) while being extremely cheerful at such an uncivilised hour. Restaurant meals, bar drinks and snacks reasonably priced. Everywhere very clean. Location perfect in centre, everything within easy walking distance (even the prison). The only problem is parking, there's no hotel park, but overnight is OK up to 8am, as there's a council park less than 2 mins walk, free from 6pm-8am. It's cheap enough to pay for an hour up to 9am while you finish breakfast. The best way to park free for a while is to use Morrison's car park at the top of High Street. It's 5-7mins walk, and there's 2 hours free, but I've parked there for longer without a problem. Probably best to check at reception in case Morrison's have become more strict. For anyone who wants to see the best of Scotland from a central location, Perth is ideal, and the Sally is as good a base as you can get.

Room Tip: Ask to avoid the few rooms which are difficult to access from the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KRNOTTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

I am so pleased to read, after your recent stay, that you were very impressed with the character of the hotel. I also appreciate the time you have taken to write such a positive and detailed review of the hotel and note you found Stuart and Tyler to offer first class service during the night. - they are a great asset to the hotel. I also appreciate all the information on the carparking - we do offer good value rates as we understand the hotel has no carpark, but plenty of spaces near by.
Thanks again and we do look forwarding to seeing you soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Booked this hotel online for 1 night as we were going to a concert. The price was very good, we had lunch out, but we had a hot bar snack before we went to the concert. The bar was nice and cosy the staff very nice and friendly. The room was very clean and the bed comfy, both the bar snack and the breakfast were very good. You must try the haggis! All in all we could not fault our stay and we will go back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob186525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to drop such a charming and pleasant review, I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your bar meal and found the bar cosy and the staff nice and friendly. I am pleased to to note you found your bedroom clean and the bed comfy and all the meals provided were very good. Oh and yes the haggis is excellent, I eat it at least three times a week...
Thanks again.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

Having tasted the Sally's party night last week the best thing the management could do is send the self indulgent DJ to Murrayshall's to see how a party night should be run. I'm not faulting the Sally's food and drink offering which was fabulous value or money but an invariably empty dance floor spoke volumes for the general ambience of the evening. Blasting out one non-hit after another non-hit at full volume does not make a party - the DJ has the ability to make or break a great night out. Will we be back doubtful but we will definitely return to Murrayshall to get the Christmas festivities off to a swing.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank GordonfromPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a recent review with regards to the Sally’s Party Nights. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed the food and felt the drinks and general Party Night were good value for money. I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy the sounds of the DJ or you felt that there was a lack of “non-hits”. I am really not sure what you mean by the description of “non-hits”…But with thousands and thousands of songs in the system I could imagine there may have been some classics that had been requested and would not appeal to everyone’s taste, after all taste in music is personal. Having been at all the Party Nights and on speaking to the bar staff and some of our other thoudsands of party goers we have not been aware of any comments at all that would leave me in a position to “ditch the DJ”

We had looked into the disco volume at the start of December measuring the dB lever to be approx 85dB peaking at 95db which we felt was loud enough to create the right atmosphere but far from the loudness associated with that of some late night entertainment venues which can be around 110 -120dB. We do review all the feedback and once again thank you for your time and comments.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

just back 2nd dec had agreat time food was excellent rooms excellent bar staff including john (kp and walkers} and the rest of the staff cheyrl adam and george and as for the manager gordon he was brillant he takes time to speech to all the guest and the christmas dinner was brillant

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakeedinburgh_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Brilliant remarks, thak you indeed. I am so pleased you enjoyed your christmas dinner and that all the staff were excellent - I do agree all the staff you mention are spot on with the customers and are indeed great ambassadors for the hotel.
Many thanks and we all look forward too seeing you soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#7 of 18 in Perth
673 reviews
0.3 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#16 of 18 in Perth
794 reviews
0.9 mi away
Best Western Lovat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Perth
#5 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $69 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels in Scotland, the deceptively large Salutation Hotel has been operating since 1699, with its decorative front windows and grand entry. There are 84 rooms at the hotel from which guests can select a variety of sizes and configurations from Classic Rooms, Superior Rooms and Four Poster Rooms. All rooms come with an en-suite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, phone and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, and in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The hotel’s conference centre is available for booking functions such as banquets, weddings and meetings with the team to service requests. The hotel’s Adam Restaurant serves a hot Scottish breakfast in a buffet style. In the evenings the hotel serves a carvery-style menu as well as an a la carte menu. Reid’s Bar is a cosy lounge serving drinks of various types including local Scottish malt. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the bus and train station. One of Perth’s key tourist sites is Scone Palace with other castles and attractions nearby. Public parking is only a one minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing