We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but showing its age”
Review of Salutation Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salutation Hotel
Ranked #6 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have stayed in this Perth institution a few times over the years as it is in a great location for visiting Perth but it is now showing its age and could do with some major renovation work,hopefully retaining the grand facade.

However it was comfortable, clean and showers worked well with plenty of hot water plus complimentary tea, or coffee, and shortbread in the room so can't ask for much more at the price.

Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice but dined out due to business commitments.

As others have said it does not create a great first impression when there is no check in allowed even one minute before 2 p.m. also a bit of confusion over morning paper order but staff were all very good.

Overall it was good but not quite very good.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
Thank Yes2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Many thanks for your comments and pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We have been working on plans for a major renovation of the exterior of the building and this is being done with the appropriate societies ,with the Salutation being a listed building.
As regards to check-in, we have a dedicated luggage storage facility which all guests who arrive prior to the specified check-in time are welcome to use.Being a very busy hotel, it is not possible to check-in earlier, as often all 84 rooms have to be serviced after the departure time of 11am.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,108)
There are newer reviews for Salutation Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

896 - 902 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

I booked this hotel for one night last minute as I was working in Perth. I would not choose to stay here again not because the hotel wasn't nice but it seems more aimed at the OAP market with bus tours etc.

The room was ok but very old fashioned, I didn't think the toilet was that clean. Room warm and bed comfortable. Breakfast was traditional with a good variety of choice and with good coffee.

As a young person I would stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTCarney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review, I am sorry that you feel the hotel is aimed at the OAP market - we do infact aim for all ages and this is indeed reflected in our very varied business. I am sure our regulars would think otherwise.... I am sorry to read that you felt the hotel "wasn't nice" ? But I am pleased to read you felt the breakfast to offer a good variety of choice with good coffee. I am not aware of any reportd of the toilet not being clean - otherwise we have rectified this straight away. I am pleased you found the room warm and comfortable.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Recption staff helpful but followed the rules the rules. Check in 2 pm and not a minute earlier. Meal times stricly abhered to breakfast 7.30 to 9.30 do not be late. TV not working at week end unable to help, lift out of action Sunday morning plenty of stairs. No car park but council car park available free on Sundays.
Floor boards creaked in the room above and in mine as did the passage outside the door.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oldcountryman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Thank you for your feedback after your recent visit to the Salutation.
We value all our guests comments and use these to further improve our service.
Pleased to hear our reception team were helpful on your arrival.Check-in time is 2pm and that enables all rooms to be serviced after a departure to a high standard.
We offer a two hour service for breakfast, with this extended to 10am on a Sunday.Room service continental breakfast can be served from 6am if required.
Sincere apologies for your television not being attended to, this should and normally would have been dealt with immediately.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Booked this place at the last minute through Hotels.com as needed a night stop to break a car journey to Inverness....The price was right so was not expecting too much but to be honest was pleasantly suprised. On arrival was greeted by both John and Eva at reception who could not have been more friendly and helpful....I have stayed in many 5 star hotels before where the staff have not been any where near as helpfull as these two.
In its day this hotel must have been a lovely place to stay.....to be honest it is now in need of a bit of TLC but that said our room on the third floor was clean if somewhat dated...but as I said before the price was right.
We chose to eat in the bar and to be honest the food was again for the price first class. Breakfast too was great with a large selection available presented in a buffet format.
The position of the hotel is great, a few minutes stroll takes you along the newly developed river bank or to the centre of the pedestrianised town. The hotel seems to be a favourite with older travellers as in my late fifties I felt quite young!!
Would I stay here again?.....well yes for sure I would at the price I paid. How great it would be though for either the present owners or new developers to throw a shed load of money at it and turn it into the magnificent hotel that many years ago no doubt it was.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank PaulTroon_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you so much for such a pleasant and complimentary review - John and Eva are indeed extra friendly and always do their best to look after our guests - five star style. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your bar meal and the breakfast in the morning. I am also pleased to note that you found the room to be clean. We have about 600 rooms in the Strathmore Group and each year establish a refurbishment schedule which usually includes some bedrooms in each hotel - perhaps next time you call in we can show you some of our newer rooms.

Once again I really do appreciate the feedback and the time you have taken to write this review.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed for one night on b&b, we had a lovely large room (318) and the breakfast was lovely, we will look forward to returning in Feb.Great location for shopping in Perth, we walked at night to find quite a selection of resturants around this area.

Room Tip: 318 was a large room and I could see my car in car park.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carzayrshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to say a few complimentary words about your room and the breakfast. Room 318 is a larger room. The hotel is ideally placed for walking round the restaurants.
We look forward to seeing you all in February.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

good hotel with very friendly staff one drawback is the parking you have to use public car park which is just round corner but at £3 for 3 hours its quite expensive hotel is within walking distance of town centre riverside etc you must visit Kirkside bar 5 mins walk away great little scottish pub with very friendly staff

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to say you found our staff friendly, we do note the car-parking charges and offset this by offering competitive rates to stay in the hotel.
Once again the feedback is most appreciated.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a two night break at the Salutation Hotel in Perth. we had bed and breakfast and could not complain about the food we had. The room was adequate and very clean and comfortable.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Frances295
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2012

Many thanks for taking the time to say a few words about the hotel, I am most pleased to read that your room was clean and comfortable and you found no faults with the food.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#7 of 18 in Perth
648 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
953 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
688 reviews
3.2 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
943 reviews
0.4 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#9 of 18 in Perth
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salutation Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
Price Range: $76 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest hotels in Scotland, the deceptively large Salutation Hotel has been operating since 1699, with its decorative front windows and grand entry. There are 84 rooms at the hotel from which guests can select a variety of sizes and configurations from Classic Rooms, Superior Rooms and Four Poster Rooms. All rooms come with an en-suite bathroom, TV, hairdryer, phone and tea and coffee making facilities. There is Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, and in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The hotel’s conference centre is available for booking functions such as banquets, weddings and meetings with the team to service requests. The hotel’s Adam Restaurant serves a hot Scottish breakfast in a buffet style. In the evenings the hotel serves a carvery-style menu as well as an a la carte menu. Reid’s Bar is a cosy lounge serving drinks of various types including local Scottish malt. The hotel is 10 minutes’ walk from the bus and train station. One of Perth’s key tourist sites is Scone Palace with other castles and attractions nearby. Public parking is only a one minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing