We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Tour Hotel”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Grand Tour Hotel”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

Arrived here from Aberdeen on our Rail tour of Scotland. This was the final stop on our tour and our base for five days.It's just across the forecourt from the station exit therefore very handy.Reception staff were very friendly and helpful providing a map of the locality and directions to the town centre. Local and regional bus services are available from the bus station within a hundred meters of the hotel. The Station hotel is spacious with many original features including a lovely staircase, dining room and gardens. Food was delicious especially their porridge (made to order) Room servicing was very good with generous provision of tea and coffee. I recommend this as a base for business and leisure, its well placed comfey well run with great facilities.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    210
    152
    94
    82
See reviews for
91
257
63
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fife
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

Hotel was ingreat location for shops, bars etc. we paid for a deluxe room and it was fine. Hotel does need an upgrade but I have no complaints with cleanliness or service. Very handy for the railway station.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank audness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2014

This hotel is ideally located if you're travelling by train straight out the station and a short walk into town . You can see that it was a grand hotel in its day and still has a nice feel about the place. The rooms are tastefully decorated and furnished and clean just like the whole hotel is . Its a nice bar which leads onto well maintained gardens for a drink on a summers afternoon

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

This hotel would have been outstanding in its day ,but boy does it need upgrading. The room we were in was bad ,blood on dressing table side ,walls were marked all over, the curtains had seen better days ,all the doors were in need of a finishing coat of paint, Drawer missing from table. The receptionist never looked up when we arrived just took my booking confirmation form ,pointed to the lift and said 3rd floor and room number. As for the full breakfast it arrived cold both mornings ,some items were unedible. I would say the only good thing was the location.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Booked this hotel from internet wishing to have a long weekend in Perth. Looked great- very disappointing nothing like the photographs. This should have been a beautiful hotel but not very clean housekeeping did little more that wipe round the wash hand basin and toilet bowl. Beds badly made, couldn't believe how badly. There was a bit of an attempt at vacuming, but there was a trail round the skirting board of quite thick dust and on the chairs no effort to clean between back and seat. Breakfast was fine but there was not a lot of choice on the menu; very understaffed if you wanted a drink or coffee you had to wait till someone appeared. This hotel was probably beautiful 20? years ago but the state of the woodwork very badly chipped and our bedroom had lots of marks on walls large scuff marks on skirting boards. Could not recommend it.

Room Tip: Could not recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purdie03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Travelling around Scotland by train this proved to be very convenient as it is opposite the railway station. It was only a fleeting visit as we checked in at midnight and were checked out before 8 in the morning. Overall impression is a bit faded but OK.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2014

I had the pleasure of staying here on business and have to say I was pleasantly surprised.

The reservation process was painless, and the welcome on the day very efficient. Breakfast and lunch were served with a smile, and the quality fine. My only 'concern' was the erratic nature of the wi-fi, but unlike many other hotels, it is free and easy to log onto.

If I am back in Pert I will definitely use The Station again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mawa24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#13 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing