We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Delightful Station Hotel Perth Scotland” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Yakima, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Delightful Station Hotel Perth Scotland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was very pleased with the Station Hotel in Perth, Scotland. The location was excellent; very close to both the train and bus station. The help at the front desk were wonderful. I had lots of questions about finding places I wanted to visit and they were very knowledgeable and helpful. The room was cheerful and the bathroom had big fluffy towels. There were many cheerful touches around, like lighted candles in the lobby windows in the evening. The breakfasts had the best fresh fruit I've had in a long time and the chef made the most delicious soup. There is also a delightful garden surrounding part of the hotel with lovely flowers. A delight place to be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank G G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    204
    149
    91
    80
See reviews for
87
247
60
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The staff are friendly and wonderfully helpful, the new chef is amazing! Real Scottish feel to the place. Central so everything you would want is on hand. You can tell its been refurbished to a high standard, great nights sleep and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gemma V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

NOT 5 star, so don't expect modernity and splendour. This is a great old building with high ceilings, large windows and the inevitable creaky floorboards. It has everything the average traveller could ask for: comfort, cleanliness, good, friendly service,free wifi, an excellent restaurant, and outdoor tables in a large garden for drinks from the bar in sunny weather. It has a long history dating back to 1890, and has hosted many famous visitors including Queen Victoria... and, more recently, actor Colin Firth.
Best of all, for train travellers, it is right across from Perth station, less than 1 minute's walk, and the town starts directly behind the building.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrissieJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We arrived to be told that we couldn't check in as the system was down but would be remedied in a few minutes several hours later the system was still down and we were ready to leave at this point we were handed a room key but did not check in. The following morning we went down to breakfast full Scottish which had obviously been sitting under hot lamps for at least an hour and was disgusting and just to rub salt into the wounds we were charged 9.95 each despite it clearly being priced at 8.95 on the menu. When complaining about this we were informed that you had to book breakfast in advance to receive lower price but as we were not informed of this we didn't.

We were told it was Queen Victorias favourite hotel and it looked like it hasn't changed since.

I would never return ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Weegieman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Woodbridge
Level Contributor
121 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel built in 1888 is an old railway hotel located next door to Perth railway station, and only a few minutes walk to the city centre. Apparently Queen Victoria used to stay at the hotel on her way to Balmoral.

Had booked an executive room for 2 nights at the front of the hotel facing the railway station entrance, as we were on a railway touring holiday of Scotland. We were not disappointed. The large bedroom and bathroom with a huge old bath with massive taps, had wonderful high ceilings keeping in character with the building. Despite being next to the station, we had 2 wonderful nights sleep.

The full Scottish breakfast was cooked to order, arriving fresh on our plates. We had an excellent bar meal of fish & chips which at £7-95 was an absolute bargain for a hotel, and highly recommended.

The staff on reception and the garden bar were very helpful and friendly. We would not hesitate to stay at the Station Hotel again, if we are again in Perth.

Room Tip: Ask for an executive room at front of the hotel - we had room 62.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank V2-60885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the Station Hotel for 3 days. It is a beautiful building with excellent parking within easy access to Perth city centre. Our twin bedroom was small and dismal. There was a drawer missing from the chest of drawers, and a hole in the wall between the bedro and the ensuite bathroom.

The kettle didn't work but was replaced promptly on request. The room was dark and shabby. The receptionist was friendly and very efficient.

Breakfast was awful, the service was non-existant and we had to wait so long for our cooked breakfast we had to press them as we were going to be late for our Conference. The toaster only warmed the bread, there were no plates for the toast and we had to carry it back to our table in our hands. The staff were scruffily dressed in jeans and sloppy cardigans. They seemed unsure what we had ordered and continually got the orders mixed up.

This hotel does not constitue good value for money and was more like a stay at the Hammer House of Horrors.

I wrote to the Manager on returning home but to date I have not had the curtesy of a reply.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawick, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

This is the 4th week in a row I have stayed here and will be staying again next week. The friendly and cheerful staff have made my time spent in the hotel very enjoyable. Although the rooms and décor may be slightly dated, the rooms are well equipped, clean and comfortable. Eating in the hotel is much the same with good basic food that could do with better presentation. Although not perfect The station Hotel has been excellent value for money and I would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: On my 1st stay they upgraded me to one of their suits and I found the normal double rooms on the bac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rsbrown60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#12 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#15 of 18 in Perth
3.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing