We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conference”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Conference”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Rooms very shabby in need of a total overhall, staff were best thing about this hotel food was mediocre at best breakfast was lovely but generally room not good enough would not stay here again unless I had to

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisamcgee1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    211
    155
    97
    82
See reviews for
94
260
63
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

THE STATION HOTEL HAS A NEW CHEF and boy is he good, where possible he sources locally so as much as possible is fresh. I was at a conference and sampled breakfast, lunch and dinner and was really impressed, especially as I had eaten there a few weeks ago when the food was shocking - but not now - the quality and standard is vastly improved. The lunch numbers for the conference was approx. 130 and everyone attending said how enjoyable it was, there was not one complaint.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Booked in for the weekend as i was attending a conference in the hotel for SKF , Hotel looks great from the outside but inside is a different story. Very shabby , tired and in need of a makeover . Once i got to my room i was even more shocked it was filthy .Cobwebs hanging from the ceiling. Light fittings hanging off the wall , torn wall paper , faulty sockets and even the wall was coming away from the floor under the dresser and could clearly see all the rubble . Shower screen was cracked and filthy with a shower cubicle that could have dated back to the 60's . Once these problems were taken up with reception we were quickly moved room BUT the next room wasn't much better , decor pretty much the same, cobwebs hanging off wall and toilet seat wasn't bolted down so kept sliding to one side . Shower curtain rail hanging off the wall and floor boards in both rooms were so squeeky that you were affraid to walk on them at night for the fear of waking everyone up. As for breakfast we were very dissappointed , arrived in the dining room to be told to sit in the corner and as we had said we wanted a cooked breakfast the day before we waited for a member of staff to serve us. We waited and waited and waited to be worked around while they cleared tables and seen to others that had already had there breakfast so on that note we got up and left to only have to leave the hotel and buy breakfast at the bus station round the corner . On a more positive note tho the night time bar staff were fantastic very helpful and chatty . Would not book this hotel again and would not reccommend .

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolminogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

this was our 3rd stay here, again room only so cant comment on food but again room was excellent lots of space and good bathroom and shower ,well equipped and clean, friendly staff easy check in and plenty of free parking, easy short walk to town
great value hotel

Room Tip: executive or superior rooms have lots of space for not much extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robmac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights while in Perth for business.

The location is perfect if coming by train and the building has an impressive edifice, but beyond the doors things are less ideal. Enthusiastic and courteous staff can't make up for rooms in which the decor has seen much better days. Cracks in the walls and furniture you would be surprised to find in a dilapidated B&B.

I originally had a room with no curtains. I was moved promptly after complaining about the light, but the next night the hotel ran a dance class until 2230 with music transmitting louder than the TV in the room. Don't come here if you are in any way requiring of some sleep. I can only assume Zumba pays more than returning guests.

If you do come, don't prebook breakfast. The full Scottish is pretty dire (at what point in the last 20 years has a Hall's sausage been a selling point) and expensive to boot. You're much better off with eggs on toast.

On the upside, there is WiFi, so you use their bandwidth to write a review. Doesn't quite justify the cost, though.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank generallysceptical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was a quick business trip for 2 nights with a colleague. The rooms were fair value for the money, basic but adequate. The food however, woeful! Breakfast was pitiful & I even had to ask another diner for the bottle of brown sauce! We ate in the beautifully appointed Garden Bar, but the food was shocking & expensive, we had a few business colleagues meet up with us & I think they went to the local fish bar on the way home for a top up, as the portions would not have filled my 8 & 6 year old kids. Did I mention the Nacho's!?!?!....£9 for a bag of 30p tortilla chips from Aldi with a bit of cheese chucked on top & 30 secs. in the microwave & hey presto!..the worse thing was we ordered 2 plates of the them!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My wife and I arrived late on Monday 6th May and received a lovely welcome from the Australian lady on Reception (who has now learned to say 'Lift' instead of 'Elevator'!). Our room was really clean and everything worked as it should, plus there was a nice big TV. We were amazed that in such a huge old building their was 'on tap' hot water for the shower and the radiator. Even more amazing, when we went down to Reception at 5.45am on Tuesday to check online and do some bits before leaving, the delightful lady on Reception (night porter?) offered to make us tea and coffee. Free parking; great location and free smiles. This place is a gem.

Room Tip: Expect a big, old hotel that a bit faded but is clearly a 'work in progress' and you won'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
1,049 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
233 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
914 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#14 of 18 in Perth
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing