We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faded railway glamour”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Faded railway glamour”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Station Hotel for one night away in February. The grand lobby space is a lovely welcome, the seating area has a selection of newspapers available. The reception staff were very helpful, we were checked in quickly and efficiently.

Our room was nice and well maintained, albeit far from modern in its decor. The bed was comfortable although the pillows were poor. One of them was so flat it needn't have bothered coming to the party. The TV on the wall was pretty new, it had built in freeview and seemed to be a SmartTV although I didn't test it out. There was a digital radio on the nightstand which I was very impressed with as my favourite radio station is digital only.

The bathroom was spacious and well lit. The shower was adequate, although the bath that it was over has seen better days.

Overall, a nice stay, I would stay here again, but perhaps I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrBarberella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    208
    150
    93
    80
See reviews for
90
252
61
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Reception - excellent, quick check in and even upgraded room with out any fuss, nine of this we need your card before you get your room! Just given a key and there is your room!

Room - bright, spacious and relatively spotless, I say relatively because there were coffee stains on skirting boards, windows looked like they had not been cleaned for a while! Other than that everything is great!

Facilities - Free Wifi was really poor, courtesy milk for tea and coffee was considerably out of date October and December, highlighted to reception very apologetic but not replaced for my return to the room. Courtesy shampoo, conditioner and shower gel were lovely. TV best I've ever seen in a hotel great size and easy to use! Tea making facilities, iron and iron board and coat hangers available for use, Also an extra blanket that was needed as was quite cold during the night, this is more my doing being a cold person!

Breakfast - yum yum sums this up, great selection for Scottish breakfast only gripe was slightly cold sausage everything else perfect! Great fruit and yoghurt selection, cereals, breads and pastries and excellent service from the waitress on duty! Unlimited tea, coffee, juice and toast available.

Great stay overall, couple of small things would have made this better!

Room Tip: I was on side facing train station so had no outside nice! Try to stay away from rooms near lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesey73uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for the weekend to get away from home and relax a few days!
Check in was quick and efficient. Room was amazing, it was massive with a seperate seating area in a turret which overlooked both sides of the building. Nice big bathroom also, and the place was spotless! Ferrero rocher on pillows! Comfortable bed ( could have been bigger as it looked tiny in such a big room - King size bed would have made this perfect!
Only major issue was that our laptop and 2 mobile phones could not connect to the hotels wifi (a key factor as to why we chose this hotel!). Complained at reception to be told no one else was having any issues. Receptionist spent over an hour on the phone to the internet provider trying to find a solution, to be told over an hour later it must be my equipment that is faulty! Later on she then told me someone else had similar problems - so dont rely on their wi-fi!
Bar expensive - £14 for two double vodka and cokes!
Overall a great stay and would return again!

Room Tip: Superior room was well worth the extra £20
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank james n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Mull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a short break in a very clean and smart room with all facilities,warm and quiet but the staff (who were very pleasant and helpful)were in very short supply.On arrival we tried to get drink at the bar which was deserted and after quite a while Ihad to get the receptionist to serve us.This happened several times and each person charged us a different price!
Although the hotel was clean,warm and good value this impressive building needed refreshing in some areas and more staff to make it less like the Marie Celeste.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

This hotel very convenient right next to train station and very close to town - a quick walk away Hotel itself was in need of a wee bit TLC but with lots of period features had a lot of charm Stayed one night with two gal pals we had a triple room which was bright and clean with 3 single beds A nice touch with a choccie on the pillow!! Had a bit of an issue trying to work the shower tho which kept going cold and was hard to switch off We really were surprised that we had a great sleep and never heard a peep from the trains even though we were right next to them Never had breakfast ( a tad hungover) but plenty of places nearby to eat. A few wee niggles had to reach quite high to switch off lights at night a bit of a pain and a shelf in bathroom would also be good and staff very nice and helpful on arrival but when we left the receptionist did not even look up to acknowledge us or ask if we'd had a nice stay (which we had) Would deffo come back though, as great value for money and these small things aside we really did have a lovely time and really liked Perth for a girly night out and an afternoon hitting the shops!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnyScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed1 night with mum and sister in a triple room in jan 2013. Got a good deal and looking at reviews we did not expect much and so ended up being pleasantly surprised. It is a very large hotel and the carpets and general decor is tired however our room was lovely. We had a large room (72) with three single beds each with nice fluffy towels and a chocolate on top waiting for us. We had a large tv and tea/coffee/hair dryer facilities. Bathroom was nice bright and clean. We paid for breakfast the next morning which we would recommend. Overall it was a nice stay. They are trying to put heart and soul into what they offer and add an extra special touch with the welcome pack. Lovely building lovely staff. Right next to train station. Board games available. Nice bar area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jinksyjenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

visit the station hotel for new year was very dissapionted as we walk in hotel no one welcome us , and we went up to reception still no welcome , found staff not helpfull the new year dinner was very dissapionting too staek was burnt when ask to replace it the next steak had blood dripping off it , food was very poor. me and my boyfriend first new year away together we had fun but staff and food very poor

Room Tip: the exective room was best as other ppl we met said their rooms were cold with no heating
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Loraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#13 of 18 in Perth
730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
216 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Lovat Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing