We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant really fault it”
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“cant really fault it”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

stayed for just one night on a birthday shopping trip for my daughter so decided to book a suite both room were huge with flat screen tv digital radio and everything else you would expect the larger of the 2 rooms overlooked the station and had a small balconey flanked by 2 flag poles i kept thinking i should be waving to my loyal subjects below,there was no noise from station or trains and had a great nights sleep on a huge bed ,the hotel is very old so there was a few things around hotel that could do with a freshen up but this is expected in these fine old hotels,oh and one other thing after looking at the usual booking sites i found the best prices wre by booking direct

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank robmac13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Junior Suite is extremely popular as it is so spacious and because of the balcony.

Once again thank you for your comments and I hope we see you back at the hotel in the near future.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    211
    156
    98
    82
See reviews for
94
262
63
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Letham, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

The hotel is old, but has so many period features, it's gorgeous!! Sure the deco in the lobby etc is a bit tired looking, but you don't sleep there do you? :P

Our room was big....high ceilings...a beautiful and comfortable bed....the deco in the room was fab!! Nice sized bath for me to get my portly figure into as well ;)

We were treated to a free drink in their garden bar, which has not long been done up..

A hotel that size will take a lot of money and time to do up!!

My husband and me will definately be going back when we're in Perth next :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear 'Rebecca G'

Thank you for taking the time to leave an online review. I am delighted to note that you and your husband both enjoyed your stay with us.

We all look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for two nights in this lovely old hotel dating back to 1880, it retains, a classy old world feel. We had a superior room so big it equals the size of some new modern built flats. Good food, clean comfortable and the atmospher is very relaxed.would have no hesitation staying at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear 'MargaretB'

Thank you for your recent review.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Room 65 is one of our popular Superior Double Rooms and often guests make special requests to have this room again and again, I am so pleased that you enjoyed this room too.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thank you again for your comments.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here on business on our way north after a show.

The rooms were good and the bathroom was fine, but the general decor of the hotel is quite shoddy. We came in through the back door from the car park and the paint and carpets are old.

The carpets on the stairs are patchy and well worn.

We did not choose to eat here so cannot comment on the food, but the bar only served Carlsberg (which was flat) and Tenants, bitter could be had in tins - not the best selection though.

The staff were all friendly, especially the lady on reception on the evening.

Breakfast was good, nice selection of cereals and fruits, a good serving of cooked breakfast also.

Nice enough stay and a decent price, but in need of a lick of paint and some TLC.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nedthewonderhorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear 'nedthewonderhorse'

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the TripAdvisor site.

We have an ongoing refurbishment programme which has seen many of our bedrooms refurbished and also our extremely popular Garden Bar.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the breakfast particularly enjoyable.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirlingshire
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Quite a good location as is right across the road from the train station and just 2 mins from the bus stataion. Handy for walking into town too. Rooms are spacious but the hotel does need a bit of maintenance. Clean rooms and a good sized bathroom (room 62) with a bath and shower. Room did get a bit chilly sometimes though. Toni is lovely and blethered to us at the bar.

Not too great for soundproofing as they are only single glazed windows but that was expected in this old hotel. Shower not brilliant but adequate.

We would come back but only at the right price.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the back of the hotel as the rooms facing the main road are a bit noisy. Ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lurv2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear 'Lurv2travel'

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, we are indeed very lucky to enjoy such a fantastic location. I have also passed your comments onto Toni who is delighted and enjoyed keeping you entertained in the bar.

We all look forward to welcoming you back on future visits.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Spent the night in this spacious and gracious hotel visiting an old friend! Huge ballrooms and sweeping staircases made me visualise what splendour Queen Victoria must have experienced when she sneaked in through her own secret entrance. Lots of character in this lovely old hotel being lovingly renovated to be more up to date but still tasteful and in keeping with the building. Plan to go up for new year to experience the Hogmonay ceilidh. Did not eat in the restaurant but plan to try it next time. A true journey into the past with a flavour for the present. A great place to have a large gathering, wedding,etc and just across the car park from Perth train station. very convenient. Huge gardens so will be interested to see what the spring brings with garden parties!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Giulianabais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear 'Giulianabais'

Thank you so much for your delightful comments below.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us here at The Station Hotel. I have passed your comments on to my team here at the hotel and they are equally as delighted as I , that you found the hotel to be so nice and have such a great experience during your stay.

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

On arrival at the hotel I was greeted by a cheerful member of staff who then checked me into my room quickly and efficiently. The room I was originally allocated was a single but I was upgraded to a double room at no extra charge, I couldn't believe my luck! The room itself was nicely decorated and contained a lovely comfortable bed, there were lovely fluffy white towels provided, as well as bottled water and even chocolates, considering the very reasonable price I was more than impressed! The food served in the restaurant was absolutely delicious and their The location of the hotel quite literally could not be better literally only a car park separates the hotel from the train station, the bus station is just around the corner and its a mere 5 minute walk into the city centre. Although the hotel is right next door to the railway station the noise isn't at all excessive and certainly didn't disrupt my sleep, would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicky1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear 'Nicky1984'

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay.

I am also pleased that you found the hotel to be such good value for money and enjoyed the complimentary extra along with your free upgrade.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
1,055 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#10 of 18 in Perth
234 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
915 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Queens Hotel
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#13 of 18 in Perth
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing