We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sadly, a pretty bad stay” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Station Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Station Hotel
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Sadly, a pretty bad stay”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I booked a budget hotel because the sole intention of our visit was to drop stuff in our room, visit family and meet up with friends for drinks later, so we weren't looking for anything flashy (and we didn't expect it for £55), just somewhere to lay our heads.
When we arrived in our room (73) we were surprised to find only one of the two windows had curtains, but we thought, £55 and a free upgrade, lets not make a fuss, we've got eye masks. Dropped our bags and went out visiting. Arrived back a bit later than planned to get ready, the room was FREEZING, but we had to get going, went to jump in the shower, no chance! Water was stone cold! Went to phone reception, phone? No phone? Nope. Didn't have time to get dressed, go down, complain, move rooms, so annoyingly had to have baths, but at least that water was warm. £55 was now seeming steep.
We were very late by now and it was raining, so we asked reception to call us a taxi. The receptionist told us if we went over to the station there was a taxi rank there, couldn't believe it! OK it was a 30 second walk, but it was pouring down, and guess what? No taxis, I called a taxi firm from the station and was told it would be a 20 minute wait, so we ended up walking the 15 minutes into town in the rain, pretty disgusted.
Then overnight we were still freezing, the room is the coldest I have ever stayed in.
All in all I would put a £25 price tag on this stay because the bed was comfy and the room was clean, that was all it had. Don't get me the wrong, the staff weren't horrible, just not quite what you want from a hotel.
A coat hook and a towel rail also wouldn't go amiss, there was nowhere to hang a coat (other than in wardrobe) and nowhere to hang towels.
And I have left this bit until last, although it was our first impression of the hotel, as this may have made the majority of readers lose interest as it will not effect them. I didn't want anyone to miss the point of the issues above which will effect all: On checking in at reception the receptionist was very nice, however (as I note that the management uses reviews for training purposes) I didn't appreciate being asked in the reception area if we had meant to book a double or if we wanted a twin. Yes Perth, this is the noughties, and there is such a thing as a same sex couple. My training tip on this would be to not ask this question, let guests go to their room and then if they have made a mistake, let them ask you for a twin room. It will save causing offence and embarrassment.
We definitely will not be staying again, I would rather stay in the Holiday-Inn where OK you have to get a taxi into town (which I'm sure they'd phone for us), but at least there is a certain standard you can expect, even if it is budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perthite_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear 'Perthite77'

We are so sorry and horrified to read your review. We struggle to understand exactly what happened during your stay. Guests frequently ask our team of friendly receptionists to book a taxi and despite having a taxi rank right outside the front of our hotel, our team are always happy to call a taxi when requested.

We have many same sex couples who repeatedly choose to stay with us because of the comfort of our rooms and the friendliness of our dedicated staff.

I can only apologize that you had the impression you were less important. Please be assured that every person that walks through our door is as important as another and I am just so sorry you felt otherwise.

On a more positive note, I am delighted to read that you found your bedroom to be both clean and comfortable, and with a relaxing bath.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    204
    149
    91
    80
See reviews for
87
247
60
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

The room was nice and clean and the staff were very friendly. Unfortunately there were a few things which made my stay less pleasant than it could have been. On arrival none of the radiators were working. A staff member brought a portable heater but that was too small to heat up the room and the night was quite chilly. Unfortunately this problem was not solved the next day and I again had to contact staff to help. Maintenance managed to switch on the radiator in the room but the bathroom remained cold. There was also no hot water in the shower and there was no bathtub plug when I arrived (a staff member brought one later on). On top of this the tv was not working and there was no phone in the room (which means that it is not possible to contact reception if there is a problem).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DrZee17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear 'DrZee17'

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on your recent stay with us.

Firstly I must apologise that your room was not warm on arrival. As you arrived early prior to our check in time, the heating had not had the opportunity to heat the room fully.

I am delighted that you accepted our offer to upgrade you to a superior room on your second day, but again must apologise that there were several issues with you the Standard room you had initially booked.

On inspecting your first room our maintenence manager found that there was a blockage in the radiator and has now rectified this. We did not find any issue with the television, and all channels seemed to be in perfectly good working order, however, again please accept our apologies that this was not the case during your stay in that room.

Once again thank you for your comments and we hope we can welcome you back to the Station Hotel in the near future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxon, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

It was a real joy to stay at the Station, which is a lovely, grande old traditional hotel right by the railway station and only a short walk from the river and the town centre.

The reception we got when we arrived could only be classed as cool and efficient, rather than warm and welcoming, however we could live with that as despite the hotel itself being a little threadbare in places, our room was large, modern, well-equipped, with a very comfortable bed and a new en-suite. It was at the back of the hotel on the 2nd floor with a lovely outlook, and it was quiet - we hardly heard any traffic noise and very little noise of other guests. There's a good-sized lift as well as a huge staircase to get to the upper floors, so it shouldn't be a problem for the less active, or able visitor!

The very reasonable room price didn't include breakfast (on offer for an additional £10.00) but this suited us as we preferred to be out and about seeking out one of Perth's many cafes for our morning coffee. There was a dining room and a cosy bar in the hotel, but we didn't get around to eating or drinking there either, so can't comment on the quality, but like everything else in the Station, both were on a grande scale and looked extremely comfortable.

There's no dedicated parking other than in a public car park accessed at the back of the hotel, useable at preferential rates, but it's pretty quiet and exposed, and doesn't exactly inspire a feeling of security, however as we were travelling by motorcycle we managed to sneak it in within the hotel's limited grounds which gave us a bit more piece of mind.

All in all, a great place to stay. It could benefit from having some pictures up on the bare walls in the rooms, and perhaps an upgrade on the central heating system (which looked as old as the hotel) to allow temperature adjustment - but these are fairly minor gripes.

Really looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pinpull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear 'Pinpull'

Thank you for your recent review.

I have passed your comments onto our team here at the Station Hotel and we are all delighted that you would like to visit us again.

With regards to breakfast, we offer a room only rate as we prefer not to charge guest for something they might not want. For £9.95 we offer a delicious cooked Scottish breakfast and a wide selection from our buffet table.

We have extensive parking within our grounds, with over 100 car spaces. I am pleased that you were able to find a space to store your moter bikes.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next road trip this way.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is a lovely old hotel, full of charm and character, I have stayed a few times and I love it. The rooms are big and nicely dated, modernised but unspoilt, as is the rest of the hotel. I always sleep well as the rooms at the back are quiet, and there is everything you need in them. Downstairs the bar is nice, and the lounge/reception has lovely big leather sofas that I usually fall asleep on! I find the staff very friendly, nothing seems to much trouble, I don't eat there so can't comment on the food but I would expect that it is excellent. The hotel is very good value and I hope I can stay there many more times, lovely place.

Room Tip: the rooms at the back are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankN483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Dear 'FrankN483'

Thank you for your very kind comments. We are all delighted to hear how much you enjoy your stays at the hotel. It is always lovely to have guests returning again and again.

Hopefully you will have the opportunity to sample some of our delicious dishes from the kitchen next time you are staying with us.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is the whole package. From check in to check out, our stay was lovely. We couldn't have asked for more.

We were surprised by the amazing value for money we had. The room had a lovely flat screen television, the most comfortable bed and lovely crisp clean linen and fluffy White bath towels.

The food was outstanding, the smoked salmon starter delicious, gorgeous fish and chips with yummy home made tartar sauce and deliciously decadent sticky toffee pudding! Unlike the previous reviewer, we had a good menu selection and enjoyed a cheeky little bottle of red wine.

Service was friendly and helpful, each member of staff we came across always had a smile on their face and couldn't have done more for us.

Gorgeous new bar at the rear of the hotel with good selection of reasonably priced drinks. And just right outside the train station. Could not have asked for anything more.

Will definatley return in the future. This place is a gem. Perths best hotel. Would recommend without a doubt. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank w13m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Dear 'w13m',

Thank you for taking the time to leave an online review on your recent stay with us.

I have passed your kind comments on to all the team here at the Station Hotel, and we are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

Our Customer service is something that we pride ourselves on so I am delighted that you found the staff you encountered to be friendly and efficient.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future,

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have stayed in this hotel before and enjoyed our stay, but this visit was rather disappointing. We requested a room for B & B, and were told a price. On signing in we were informed that breakfast was £8.95 each extra if we wanted it. It should have been made clear what the price quoted was for, e.g room only. Our room (67) was comfortable, but unfortunately every time the loo was flushed it resulted in a lot of banging and clattering until the cistern filled up again with water. The shower was lukewarm and the room was chilly with no extra blankets. Also the handle of the door was so difficult to turn that in the event of fire it would hamper a quick exit. At evening meal, although the waitress was extremely pleasant, she could not supply us with a wine list nor supply us with a bottle of wine - we needed to buy our wine by the glass. She couldn't tell us the soup of the day saying "it might be this or it might be that" she wasn't sure! There was little choice on the menu and little amount on the plate for the price. Breakfast was a better experience, but it might help if the staff were more friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear 'Trish M'

Thank you for taking the time to complete an online review.

I am sorry to note that on this occasion, we did not meet your expecations.

As with any comments, negitive or positive, we use them as a tool to train our team of dedicated staff and identify the areas that we can improve on.

I am delighted to note that you found your waitress to be extremely pleasant.

Both myself and my team look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Perth hotels

Glasgow
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed overnight at the Station Hotel after a conference. The hotel tried to be a cut above, with ferrero rocher on the pillow big satelite tv in the rooms and a welcome message that gave the impression they were trying to compete with the best. Failed on a few counts, the tv was not tuned for freeview let alone satelite, the breakfast was under cooked and virtually inedible the staff were not paying attention to who was arriving and had no sense of urgency we sat for at least 15 mins before even being acknowledged as being there and still people who arrived after us got their food before us. This place could do better and perhaps needs to have more staff available.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eck1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PerthStationHotel, Manager at The Station Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear 'Eck1304'

Thank you for taking the time to complete your online review on your recent over night stay with us at the Station Hotel.

We are not trying to be anything other than what we are, which is a hotel offering a high standard of accommodation at affordable and unbeatable price. We are proud to be able to cater to all budgets and offer all the lovely little complimentary luxuries such as the chocolates you mentioned. Theses little added extras are greatly recieved by the majority of our guests so I am sorry that you did not enjoy them on your stay with us.

Our breakfast service is well staffed by our team, so I can only apologise, if you felt that this was not the case. Again we are able to pride our selves on the fantastic value for money our breakfasts provide. We have a good selection on offer from the buffett table and in addtion our cooked breakfasts, which are freshly cooked to order, offer you unlimited refills if you are still hungry at no extra cost!

Any member of our team would have been happy to give you direction on how the television in your bedroom worked if you had let us know that you were having difficulties.

Once again thank you for your comments, it is only with honest feed back such as yours that we are able to maintain a consistant high standard of service at the Station Hotel.

Myself and my team look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.5 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.2 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#12 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Queens Hotel
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.1 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Station Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Station Hotel

Property: The Station Hotel
Address: Leonard Street, Perth PH2 8HE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Station Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a grand Victorian mansion, the Station Hotel is situated in Perth centre, next to Perth Railway Station. The impressive hotel offers spacious rooms and Scottish breakfasts. Traditional cooked breakfasts are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Light continental options are also available, including freshly squeezed juices and gourmet coffees. The elegant rooms are individually decorated, and free Wi-Fi is accessible throughout. Some rooms have scenic views across the landscaped grounds, and all feature a private bathroom. Just a 5-minute walk from Perth centre, the Station Hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Perth Theatre and Concert Hall. There is free on-site parking, and the River Tay is half a mile away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Station Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Station Hotel Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing