We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cold, shoebox with dismal breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Perth
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

stayed 2 night on business. was very disappointed with the room, frezzing cold and small. to be fair the bed was comfty, if you could sleep with the noise from the dual carriageway!

the breakfast was awful, yellow apples, brown bananas, powdered scrabled egg and microwave sasuages. and the toasting machine was US.

all in all, very poor and only slighty better than the park bench. left early and endured a 7 hour commute instead of staying another night!!

Room Tip: yeah, stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredbear_Hull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Perth, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2012

Dear Fredbear_Hull,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns. I would like to apologize for the issues you had with your room accommodations and the noise that affected your stay negatively. I am also sorry you were not satisfied with the breakfast options we offer. It is regrettable that we fell below your expectations. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us a chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

414 - 420 of 582 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

The rooms are very clean and well apointed for a chain hotel, beds are comfortable with a choice of hard or soft pillows. Pleanty of hot water in the mornings. Not noisy despite being close to a busy 'A' road. Thats the good bit.
Breakfast is nothing to write home about. There are the normal cererals with juice and hot beverage, which is OK if you are in a rush. Hot breakfast is a joke, scrambled egg, beans and sausage. The eggs are awefull the beans are of a low grade and often burnt. The sausage must be made of bread or something similar dont think there is much meat in it. I would stay here again but would eat out for breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve_howard77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Perth, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear steve_howard77,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work very hard to ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to be the best Holiday Inn Express around. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness, bed and hot shower.

However, It sounds like we fell below your expectations especially with breakfast. We take all reviews positive and negative very seriously, and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on the 17th Nov having spent a horrific night previously at the Best Western Queens Hotel, Perth (reviewed separately). We arrived in the morning but the girl on reception was excellent and found us a room that we could check in to early. The room was clean functional, comfortable and in good condition and we were very pleased with the first impression. Staff were polite and friendly. Beds were clean and comfortable. Our room faced the front, and we had no issue with any noise from the adjacent road. Bathroom was clean and in excellent condition. Breakfast was excellent and I would happily have paid more that the £59 total cost for the standard room incl breakfast. Especially given the experience we had at the other hotel on the previous night which cost £65. All in all, out-standing and we will definitely stay here when we are next in Perth.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Stayed here just for one night on business. Very warm welcome received and good recommendation for restaurant options in Perth - useful for those not wishing to eat on site. Usual good standards of cleanliness and breakfast options were sufficient. Only downside was that room was directly above reception/breakfast area so noisy from around 5:30am. Would return if required but would request a quieter (rear-facing) room on a higher level.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Better than our last stay, staff really friendly, rooms spotless,service at the bar bit slow but hotel was extremely busy, breakfast bit chaotic but most enjoyable.grandchildren loved the help yourself breakfast, thought it was great fun.we will be returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Staying here tonight on our way to Applecross, Had a really long journey after a major accident closed the M6.
The staff, Gillian and Kirsty were really friendly and helpful, sorted out our WiFi and gave advice on the area and where to eat.
Great place to stay, just off the A9, within easy reach of Perth.
Clean comfortable rooms and good value at just over £50, B+B for two
Night staff also helpful.
Would definitely stay again, Thanks

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnypsth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed here last week en-route to the highlands. Excellent access from the a9, plenty of parking despite the hotel being busy. Room warm and very clean, staff friendly and helpful as always. A grumble with the bed, double, which is slightly small for two tall adults, but not a big issue. Breakfast excellent as always. We can't fault it and recommend the hotel as a really good stop-off for Perth. The next-door maltings pub is excellent for a bar meal.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlackKatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
1.8 mi away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
2 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
1,149 reviews
1.6 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
981 reviews
20.8 mi away
Travelodge Perth A9
Travelodge Perth A9
#4 of 18 in Perth
196 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Perth

Address: 200 Dunkeld Road | Inveralmond, Perth PH1 3AQ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Price Range: $67 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Perth 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Perth hotel is situated close to the A9 network and is the ideal base for traveling onward to Stirling, Glasgow, Edinburgh or Inverness. This modern 81 bedroom hotel in Perth offers a high standard of service and quality for the price conscious traveller. Plan your day over our complimentary Express Buffet breakfast and on your return enjoy a drink at our fully licensed bar before dinner at one of the many restaurants in Perth. Take in a show at Perth Theatre or an event at the fabulous Perth Concert Hall. There is ample complimentary parking on site with designated blue badge parking bays. We have five specially designed accessible bedrooms. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the Hotel for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Perth Hotel Perth
Perth Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Perth
Holiday Inn Express Perth Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing