We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Homebaking & worth a visit for a good cause”

Macmillan Coffee Shop
Ranked #6 of 14 Coffee & Tea in Perth
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Homebaking & worth a visit for a good cause”
Reviewed January 23, 2012

As my husband is in a wheelchair we have to look for a place with dfisabled facilities - which this place has. The first time I took my husband there he had been just out of hospital for around a month and was still quite self conscieous about being in a wheelchair. We were told, sorry there is no room as we already have a wheelchair in today!!!! I reported this and the incident has not happened again. There is not a lot of room but the food is really good and all the homebaking is done by a super set of bakers who work very hard and make lots of money for a VERY good cause. WELL WORTH A VISIT

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lamond_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“a great volunteer run place with really good baking”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

We visit here often as we can walk kids and dog in the adjoining Quarry Mill woodland walk. I love the organised chaos from the volunteers - if there are more than 15 customers in the place they seem to panic and as they're all slightly older (got to be careful!) they get flustered. Most are very friendly and chatty though and all the baking is home-made. The scones are just the best (try the cinnamon). Don't expect lattes, cappucinos or mochas - it's a bottomless cup of hot coffee with hot or cold milk type of place. Lovely building, fantastic setting, great cause and a wonderful team of lady volunteers who give up their time and energy to keep the place going.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fionava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Friendly volunteers, nice snacks, very worthy cause”
Reviewed September 1, 2011

All profit from this little cafe goes directly to MacMillan, so please support it if you can. It opens "seasonally", but this year is staying open until mid-October. Lovely home-made cakes, scones and traybakes. There is a good choice of snacks for lunch - toasties, sandwiches and home-made soups.

When visiting, stock up on locally-made jams and chutneys from the shop, or plan some Christmas shopping as the jewellry and ornaments are well worth considering. There are also plants and second hand books for sale outside.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandPilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful home bakes”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

If you like home bakes this is a must. It is run by volunteers in aid of The Macmillan Support Group.
We stopped here for a quick lunch on our way north and found it charming, friendly and most of all, the food was very good. This is more a lite bite restaurant, soup, sandwiches, toasties, baked potatoes and such like and then there are the home bakes mmmmm!
There is also a lovely gift shop and I recommend buying one of their recipe books.
You can eat outside or indoors.
All in all a great place to stop on your travels and we look forward to our return visit which will be soon.
Sadly it is not open on a Sunday.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AndriEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Macmillan Coffee Shop also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Macmillan Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing