We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return visit Febuary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ballabeg Guest House
Ranked #34 of 49 Perth B&B and Inns
Keith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Return visit Febuary”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is our second visit as like the first visit Sen & Deb made us most welcome we unable to book our favorite room no 6 which is the top floor with own private barthroom not shared as one other reviewer stated, so we stayed in room N0 3 on second floor, was just as nice. Cosy and warm with en-suite to the same high standard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asimms_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    16
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
28
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here for one night in Feb 2013. The hosts were very friendly and accomodating. The room was very clean and warm for our arrival. We had a great nights sleep. Breakfast was Very Good. We liked Perth and the lovely walks. We would positively recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidbns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a night on sat 2nd feb 2013. Our hosts were friendly and pleasant. Our room was spotless as was the rest of the house from what we could see. The room was well equipped. Only down side was the room was cold. The convector heater didn't do much to change that. Could do with gas radiators fitted in the rooms. Breakfast was enjoyable. Food was well cooked and was a good size portion. Extra tea, coffee or toast was no hassle to our hosts. All in all an enjoyable stay and I'd be happy to recommend it to anyone visiting Perth

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Machighlander_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFSmith, Owner at Ballabeg Guest House, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at Ballabeg Guest House
.
We were disappointed you thought the room was cold. Upon entry to your room the Bedroom was warm, as we had heated it previously to your arrival. We were unaware of any issues regarding the heating throughout your stay. The thermostatically controlled Convector Heaters are more then sufficient to heat the room, and keep it at a constant temperature day or night.

After your departure we noticed that the heating control dial was situated at the lowest setting on the heater. If you had adjusted the heating control dial the opposite way toward the max setting, this would have kept the room sufficiently warm throughout your stay.

We are glad you would recommend our Guest House, and very much appreciate your time to review our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at Ballabeg Guest House for two nights in November. We were warmly greeted at the door by Deb who made us most welcome. The room was lovely and comfortable. Spotlessly clean . Superb breakfast. lovely couple. would definitely recommend and will stay again when in Perth.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asimms_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Booked and paid for a private bathroom and got a shared bathroom (you needed a separate key to get into it...hardly en-suite!). Arrived to a freezing cold room (even though we phoned an hour before to let them know our eta). Described as tastefully decorated, but we didn't find the cheap 1960s furniture very tasteful. Kettle lead in the room isn't long enough to reach from the plug to the table so we had to make our tea on the floor! Decent cooked breakfast, but who only puts 1 teabag into a 3-4 cup teapot? Asked to leave our car for 1hr after we checked out so we could have a wander around Perth. Were told we it was chargeable...shocked!
I've stayed at many B&Bs (most around £60-£70/night) and this is by far the worst i've been to! Stayed at the Hazeldene B&B just across the road last year...far far nicer!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Stuart N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeanFSmith, Owner at Ballabeg Guest House, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
As owners of the Guest House we feel we offered a warm and hospitable stay to the reviewer, and was unaware of any of their concerns throughout their stay.

There was a Double room with en-suite available at the time of the reviewers booking, but the reviewer chose and booked online the Bedroom with a Private bathroom (a Private bathroom is seperate from the Bedroom, and therefore is not an en-suite). This was clearly stated on the website the reviewer booked through. The Bedroom the reviewer stayed in had a Private lockable bathroom next to the Bedroom for their use only, and was not shared as the reviewer stated.

If the reviewer had voiced their concerns about the Private bathroom, at the time of arrival we did have a Double room with en-suite available, and the reviewer could have been relocated.

The room and Private bathroom where both warm upon the reviewers arrival, and the kettle does reach the nearest electrical socket without the need to place the kettle on the floor.

We are a Three Star Visit Scotland and AA graded Guest House, and have been awarded an AA Gold Star 2012/13 for high standards in service and facilities, this standard covers all the rooms and bathrooms in the Guest House.

We have limited parking 4 rooms/4 cars, so if a customer leaves their car after 10.30am they are taking an arriving customer's parking space.

We are sorry the reviewer felt the need to review us negatively, but if these issues were made aware of on arrival we could have altered their accomodation requirements to satisfy their needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Stayed here for the second year running whilst at a music festival, It was our first choice after liking it so much last year, it didn't disappoint, the room and separate private bathroom were both spotless, the breakfast's were delicious with plenty of choice, and the hosts Sean and Debs are a lovely couple who make you feel very welcome. If we return to the festival next year this will again be first choice, and we would recommend it highly.

Room Tip: There is a double room with large private bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

The Ballabeg was the first place we stayed on our first trip to Scotland. We picked it prior to arrival since it was close to the Edinburg airport. We were not disappointed. It was easy to find; the rooms nice and quiet; within walking distance to the downtown Perth area; and close to some nice running areas. The breakfast was great -- especially the Scottish Porridge. We liked it so well that we stayed there on our last-night in Scotland prior to flying home.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colonelthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.6 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,028 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auld Manse Guest House
Auld Manse Guest House
#21 of 49 in Perth
64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adam Guest House
Adam Guest House
#25 of 49 in Perth
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ardfern Guest House
Ardfern Guest House
#10 of 49 in Perth
106 reviews
0.1 mi away
Achnacarry Guest House
Achnacarry Guest House
#17 of 49 in Perth
38 reviews
0.1 mi away
Arisaig Guest House
Arisaig Guest House
#16 of 49 in Perth
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballabeg Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballabeg Guest House

Property: Ballabeg Guest House
Address: 14 Keir Street, Perth PH2 7HJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballabeg Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Ballabeg Guest House from Sean and Deb. Tastefully decorated six bedroom guest house. Three star Visit Scotland, AA and awarded A.A Gold Star. En-suite facilities. Free-sat TV and DVD players in all rooms. Library of DVDs and books for guest use. Fresh cooked Scottish breakfast selection using local produce. Off street private parking available. Close to the city of Perth and Scone palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Ballabeg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballabeg Guest House Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing