We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Heidl Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heidl Guest House
Ranked #6 of 51 Perth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This beautiful lady was most welcoming, she was an excellent host, the room was very nice and clean, the water was lovely and hot and breakfast in the morning was exceptional. Jacqui was helpful with places to eat at and even supplied me with biscuits and broad suitable for someone with gluten intolerance. I would highly recommend this beautiful bed and breakfast to anyone.
Thanks for the lovely stay.
Les and Joanne Hull Perth Australia and Kevin Hull Farnham Common

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark m, Owner at Heidl Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review; very kind.
It was lovely to meet you all and I enjoyed our chats.
I hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in the UK.
Once again thank you for recommending us; much appreciated.
Kind Regards
Jackie & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    31
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
44
49
13
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

I was travelling on Business in Perth and was made to feel extremely welcome by the landlady! She gave me advice on where to eat in Perth and was very easy to get along with. The room was spacious, the beds comfy and the wifi was free which is always a bonus. The scrambled egg with breakfast was excellent as well which is always a bonus as some places just can't get it right! But that's not a problem for Heidl :)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IvanIvanIvanIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark m, Owner at Heidl Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind words & for taking the time to write a review.
I'm glad you enjoyed your breakfast.
All this means a lot so thank you once again.
Hope to see you in the future.
Kind Regards
Jackie & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was a guest at this lovely family run hotel over the weekend (a secret celebration of my umpteenth birthday!) and the welcome we were given by Jackie was second to none. The room was very comfortable, fabulous shower facilities and a brilliant breakfast menu. I love porridge and am very fussy about how it is made and I wish to pass my compliments and grateful thanks to the Chef as it was delicious. My friend also commented on the delicious Scrambled Eggs & Smoked Salmon. Thank you for a very enjoyable time and I hope I may stay again at a future date. Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark m, Owner at Heidl Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your great review of your stay at Heidl.
I'm really pleased you enjoyed your time here and especially the breakfasts.
It was lovely to meet you both & hopefully see you again; maybe on your next birthday.
Kind Regards
Jackie & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The guest house is about 5 minutes walk from the railway station, and we arrived on a cold, wet and dismal evening in Scotland, to a warm welcome from the lady owner.

She showed us to our room and explained the heating and shower system to us, and said to ask if we needed anything.

Our beds were very comfortable, and the huge power shower in our en suite room was a lovely surprise.

There was no view from the room to write home about, but it was a lovely clean quiet room and this didn't bother us in the least.

Along with that wonderful shower, the tea and coffee facilities were a welcome bonus on a cold, wet scottish evening. Bottled water and shortbread were also provided..

We filled a form in, ticking the boxes of the items we would like for breakfast and dropped it in to reception on our way out.

Cereals and fresh fruit, yogurts, coffee etc laid out the next morning, and our cooked breakfast arrived hot and freshly cooked.

Nothing is too much trouble for the owners and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this guest house.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark m, Owner at Heidl Guest House, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review.
It's greatly appreciated.
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay at Heidl and we shall hopefully see you again.
Kind Regards
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights after sharing a gite with family (12 people in total) in France and it was nice to have a lovely home feel.
The owners were great, we had our two children on the trip and Jackie was always happy to see them. They had lots of information at the front desk for us and suggested we go the highland games while we were there...lots of fun.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grazing_graham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark m, Owner at Heidl Guest House, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
It was great to meet you all and the children are adorable.
I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a relaxing time.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review; very kind.
We look forward to seeing you all again on your next visit to Perth.
Kind Regards
Jackie & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

First time ever in a Guest House!! The Heidl was spotlessly clean.Had everything you needed.Bedroom was not that big, but for one night it was ok.Jackie,owner,was very pleasant and told us dining room and hall were being decorated soon,but it looked fine to us,and same colours were used throughout which was nice. If we have to visit Perth again,we will likely stay therer again.It's just a few minutes walk from town centre which is handy.It has front of house parking too.

Room Tip: We were in room 7 which looked onto wall of hotel next door so it was at least quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinkchampagneGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark m, Owner at Heidl Guest House, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your kind review.
It was lovely to meet you both and I'm glad you enjoyed your time at Heidl.
We look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Perth.
Kind Regards
Jackie & Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I spent one night at Heidl Guest House with my husband and two children during our holiday in Scotland. We enjoyed our stay there, even if it was only a very short one. The family room was big enough, the beds were comfortable and everything was very clean. Breakfast was delicious with a wide range of choice. We could park our car right in front of the guest house, even though we arrived rather late (we had reserved it in advance). Jackie was very kind and recommended a nice restaurant for our dinner. I would definitely recommend this guest house to other tourists.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Norbert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mark m, Owner at Heidl Guest House, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review; very kind of you.
I'm pleased you had an enjoyable stay at Heidl.
I also hope you enjoyed your trip to Scotland and we'll hopefully see you again.
Kind Regards
Jackie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.4 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
1,003 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
614 reviews
0.3 mi away
Parklands
Parklands
#11 of 18 in Perth
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#13 of 18 in Perth
730 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
0.2 mi away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#17 of 18 in Perth
871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heidl Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heidl Guest House

Property: Heidl Guest House
Address: 43 York Place, Perth PH2 8EH, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heidl Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heidl Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heidl Guest House Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing