We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent as usual”
Review of The Bothy

The Bothy
Ranked #21 of 200 Restaurants in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $23
Cuisines: European, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Kids, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Welcoming Scottish restaurant in PerthLocated on Kinnoull Street, The Bothy Perth is a relaxed restaurant serving traditional cuisine made with Scottish produce. The warm and homely atmosphere is the perfect place to relax with friends or family and to enjoy home-cooked comfort food. Child-friendly and wheelchair accessible, The Bothy Perth is ideally situated for visitors to the Perth Playhouse as well as Perth Theatre.Traditional dishes & hearty foodThe restaurant chefs use the best Scottish produce to offer a varied menu with classic items like Marshall’s macaroni glazed with strong cheddar cheese; freshly battered haddock with tartare sauce, crushed peas and a ‘poke’ (‘portion’, to you non-Scots!) of chips; or pub lunch favourite, the 100% Scottish beef burger with hand cut chips, tomato salsa and pickle.Perth town centre accessibility & transport linksThe Bothy is on Kinnoull Street in the centre of Perth and a brisk 10 minute walk from Perth train station. Paid parking is available in the multi-storey car park along from the restaurant and several bus stops can also be found nearby.Free wifi access is available every day of the week, ideal if you’ve got a working lunch or just feel like a nosey on Facebook.
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent as usual”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Great atmosphere, comfortable and always welcoming, food very good indeed and the staff are always smiling, which can be rare these days! Hard to beat in Perth.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Archie062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth_Bothy, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you so much for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    394
    154
    96
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Go for lunch if you have plenty time”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a lovely place to go for a relaxed lunch. However, having been many times over the past 5 years I have always found the service to be slow - not just waiting for food after ordering but literally just waiting to be attended to (though they are very friendly when you do get their attention!). Last went about two weeks ago and I do find it odd that the service hasn't improved when this could be so easily rectified and they have had this feedback before. The food is always good and I enjoy choosing new dishes from their menu, It really is not an evening restaurant in my opinion - there are much better places in Perth but I go there for lunch with girlfriends as the atmosphere and food is good. Just don't go if your very hungry or in a rush as you'll get frustrated and vow never to go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingscot007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth_Bothy, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. It is always nice to hear from regular diners and we will take your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tillicoultry
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service is the weakness in this restaurant”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I booked the Bothy restaurant along with cinema tickets for a Saturday evening. The table was good and the cinema tickets were issued on arrival, it was a good start. The restaurant
is lovely and the food was a very good standard. The staff are very pleasant but you have
several staff dealing with your table. After the main course you are then forgotten and it took over half an hour to get coffee and then the bill. A bit more planning is required with staff and perhaps
allocating staff to tables would prevent 2 people asking you for your order and then nobody wanting to deal with you after your main course. I would definately visit the restaurant again but feel the service on this occasion was slightly disappointing.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth_Bothy, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I am sorry to hear the service you received on your visit was not up to standard. Thank you for your feedback though and we hope you will visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Centre of Perth”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Arrived for lunch ad hoc and we were shown to a table for four.
The atmosphere was good and the waiters were a lovely sight in their various tartan kilts.
We ordered eventually from several menus and and our first course was served in 10 minutes.
I had lovely Haggis from the local Perth Butcher/supplier.The main course was a little longer to wait for nevertheless, it was warm and well presented. We requested tap water which was served up with ice cubes and large attractive glasses.The main course was plentiful.We then decided to miss out with the Pudding unfortunately due to the table close by that had been taken by a birthday party of about 20 people. It became rather noisy and uncomfortable to continue with our meal. The tables are too near to each other and small.Possibly OK when out on a Saturday night on the town, this would create a good atmosphere.
I did note the staff clocked the table being too close and creating a problem for the table staff whilst serving.
No offer was made to us to arrange an alternative.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 480Lachlan_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth_Bothy, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. Sometimes it can be noisy with large tables in the restaurant and I am sorry that it discouraged you from having dessert. I hope this will not put you off visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very Disappointed”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We had a family party for 13 of us at the Bothy just over a week ago. It was my mother and stepfather's silver wedding and she had booked it in advance and checked again during the week to make sure everything was in order. When we got there about five minutes before the booked time the tables were not ready (they had to be pushed together) and there were people still having their meal there. We had to wait at the door until they had finished. I did feel sorry for them as they must have felt uncomfortable feeling they had to move on. We weren't even asked if we'd like a drink while we waited just left standing with everyone looking at us.

When we finally got to our table it was about 20 minutes before our order was taken and that was only after my mother requested it. Because we were so delayed we decided not to have starters. Just as well it was another 45 minutes before we were served. The food when it came was tepid and the plates were cold. This was obvious when we saw the waitress carrying some on her arm. Once we were all finished we again waited forever for our table to be cleared and eventually had to request this. Two of our desserts were missed from the order and the shortbread was soft.

Overall I was so disappointed for my parents - no one made any fuss of them despite us having balloons with us so it was obviously an occasion-the service was pathetic and the food only just acceptable. We will not be returning. A shame as this used to be such a pleasant venue.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Perth56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth_Bothy, General Manager at The Bothy, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
I am very sorry to hear about your experience in the restaurant. I would be most grateful if you could phone me to discuss this with you in more detail. My number is 01738 449792. David Will, Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bothy also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Bothy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing