We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 star dining”
Review of Opus One - CLOSED

Opus One
Price range: $18 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Opus One offers the finest ingredients from Perthshire's larder, creatively prepared and executed with meticulous precision and flair. The restaurant, located in the New County Hotel, Perth is furnished in contemporary style; comfortable and elegant. Our knowledgeable waiting staff ensure friendly yet polished service."...we'd just enjoyed an absolutely superb meal in the hotel's much lauded Opus One restaurant (two AA Rosettes no less) and a couple of drinks in the comfortable hotel bar… helpful and friendly staff and a location that couldn't be more central. All in all, a very pleasant hotel with absolutely outstanding food and a great base for a night out in the Fair City. "Shaun McLaren - Scotland on Sunday"(Opus One) has won several prestigious awards. There’s a wealth of choice on the menu offering a perfect end to the day and evening.…I can still taste as I think about it." - Elaine Maslin, Press & Journal, May 2012 "A complimentary amuse bouche of celeriac and thyme veloute with a haggis ball cemented the Auld Alliance from the start. The Arran elephant garlic soup with Granny smith apple was delicate, subtle and unctuous. My locally-foraged plum tarte tatin … promised much – and delivered; while the green tea pannacotta with vanilla sorbet and dark chocolate sauce was scrumptious." "In our chic surroundings the waiting staff proved the most pleasant of fleeting company." - Steve Donn, Daily Mail, November 2011 ("Fair City is flair city when it comes to dining")At Opus One we left satisfied and impressed with the food…. Wow! Even now, my mouth waters at the thought.\\"- Chris Mooney, Daily Record, November 2011
Reviewed January 27, 2013

5 star dining and 5 star service.I'll definitely be back for another visit next time I'm in Perth. This place is a little gem

Thank jimandlynn101112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Opus One, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

We were all bowled over by your fantastic review! All the staff here at the New County really work hard to make every guest feel special and will find your lovely comments so encouraging , and look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

57 - 61 of 136 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2013

The staff are well trained and the room has been well thought out, with the use of mirrors giving the impression of it being much more spacious and airy. Lovely Amuse Bouche to start, then 4 choices for starter, main and dessert. Quite adventurous, but well balanced and good use of local produce. Really delightful presentation and very tasty. Wines seem to go from being reasonably priced.....to horribly expensive......without a great selection in the mid-price range, which is a pity !!! The Chef takes great care to get it right, as to the other members of staff. Strongly recommended.

Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Opus One, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write this review
We are so pleased you have enjoyed your evening in Opus One Restaurant.
Our staff are very passionate about what they do and we are very thankful that their commitment is noticeable.
Hope it is not too long before we welcome you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

We decided to try the "Fine Dining Experience" for our mothers birthday & we were not disappointed!! In a cosy setting, the food was exceptional & the service was excellent!! I have said I am not into the whole fine dining thing (I like a a proper plate of dinner) however our experience at the Opus One has changed my mind!
We would like to say a very special thank you to our server Amy who made us feel very welcome, perfectly timed service and always with a smile!
Thank You, we will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Opus One, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review, I really appreciate the remarks about the food, service and the experience you have received, and hope it is not too long before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Took too long and the food was mediocre, it was New Year and most places were shut, but we do like Perth

1  Thank Pedro54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Opus One, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for taking your valuable time to post the review. I would like to assure you that we pay careful attention to feedback such as you have provided, taking immediate steps to correct any deficiencies. I would therefore hope that you contact me directly either by e mail or phone to discusse in details for the (Mediocre ) food you have received.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice restaurant good food well presented would like a more varied menu also had a wobble table that let it down.

Thank BordersThecaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General M, General Manager at Opus One, responded to this reviewResponded January 12, 2013

Thank you for your review, all your comments are on board.
Hope it is not too long before your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Opus One also viewed

Perth, Perth and Kinross
 
Perth, Perth and Kinross
Perth, Perth and Kinross
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing