We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“this has to be the best place to stay in Perth!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pitcullen Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pitcullen Guest House
Ranked #7 of 51 Perth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Keighley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“this has to be the best place to stay in Perth!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent a night here on route to a holiday house in Caithness. The guest house is welcoming and very well provisioned. The owners, John and Jan Bradley, made us very welcome and were incredibly helpful - helped find and arrange a place to eat that evening and then gave us a lift to the restaurant! We very much enjoyed the welcoming bottle of wine in the cosy lounge.
We all agreed this was probably the best place we have ever stayed in - I cannot recommend Pitcullen guest house too highly - just brilliant !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jancie60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitcullen17, Owner at Pitcullen Guest House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
It was lovely meeting you all on your journey North - thank you for posting such a complimentary review. So pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you the next time you're visiting Perth. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    55
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
190
15
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

This was one of the best B&B's we stayed at during our 9-day trip to Scotland. We were blown away by the attention to detail and the little things that we didn't realize we missed until they actually showed up. From having complimentary drinks in the room, to making sure we knew how to go from one place to another, the hosts went above and beyond. John and Jan were warm, welcoming, enthusiastic and best of all? They knew their stuff. They had a gigantic map of Scotland (seriously, gigantic) with detailed information about every single interesting spot you could think of, a room full of maps, books, and detailed tourist guide info on Scotland, and the place was so impeccably clean and beautiful, we actually wished we could have stayed one more night in Perth.

And have I mentioned how fabulous the breakfast was? Because it was. Fabulous. Bonus: Perth has tons of golf courses, and while I'm not a golfer, my dad is, and they were able to give me detailed information about all the golf courses there, and this was something I was able to bring back to the states for him to peruse. Overall, absolutely amazing, and we will definitely be staying there again if we ever are able to pass through Perth!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cherylph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitcullen17, Owner at Pitcullen Guest House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Wow! Amazing review! Left us speechless....thank you so much, makes us feel we're going in the right direction. It was so lovely meeting you both and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Scotland. Do come and see us the next time you're in Perth. Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

John is a fabulous host, as his his wife. Their B&B is beautiful and very well kept. He is very knowledgeable on the area and was a great help getting us over to Scone Palace, also with our dinner reservations and giving us a lift!! Next time you are in Perth add this to your list and you won't go wrong!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leelas23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitcullen17, Owner at Pitcullen Guest House, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor - they are much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hosts who can't do enough to make your stay perfect. A very clean and tidy guest house with some great attention to detail. The breakfasts were very nice too. Will definitely return if we are in perth again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Singinggardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitcullen17, Owner at Pitcullen Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
It was lovely meeting you all last weekend, thank you for posting a review on tripadvisor. Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and look forward to seeing you again in the not too distant future. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

A one night stay at the start of a walk across Scotland, Perth to Ft. William. John and Jan are excellent hosts, full of information about Perth. Clean room, good bath, excellent breakfast in the morning.

It was a prefect introduction to this vacation.

Perfect for a B&B. I have no problem recommending to others looking for a quiet, homey B&B.

Room Tip: Being a small B&B, I think there are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TomBudlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitcullen17, Owner at Pitcullen Guest House, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Pitcullen. We appreciate you taking the time to post such a complimentary review. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon, Oregon
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

This guest house offers more than one can imagine before being there and sets a high standard for this category of accommodation. John is a fountain of helpful information and advice, and Jan's scrambled eggs with salmon and chives are the best we have ever had. The rooms are tastefully decorated, the beds and linens are excellent quality, and the amenities include extras such as a refrigerator in each room stocked with free water and sodas. Perth is a beautiful small city and a great base for exploring Scotland, and we will return to the Pitcullen House again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitcullen17, Owner at Pitcullen Guest House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We're thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at Pitcullen - such fantastic comments, thankyou for taking the time to post your review, it is very much appreciated by us both. Do come back again very soon it was lovely meeting you both. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your Scottish trip, it is an amazing place.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lanarkshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Booked this as a pressie for my Dad's birthday. Jan and John were very helpful with arrangements for the weekend - e-mailing maps etc. and offering to pick up my parents from the bus station. My parents arrived and were welcomed by a very friendly, helpful John. Their room was very clean and comfortable. Jan and John had even added a bottle of bubbly and chocs since it was a birthday stay. John phoned round restaurants and booked a table for Friday night and then kindly drove them into the town centre. Breakfast on Saturday was lovely, lots of choice and very tasty. On hearing they were going to Scone Castle John drove them there and later met them in Perth with their luggage when due to go home. My parents had a great weekend which of course was helped by a very friendly, welcoming and helpful Jan and John. They will definately return and would recommend Pitcullen Guest House to anyone visitng Perth..

Room Tip: John showed us round their Guest House and all rooms looked very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pitcullen17, Owner at Pitcullen Guest House, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
It was a joy meeting your lovely parents. We're thrilled that they had such a good time whilst in Perth and hope we get to see them again in the very near future. Thank you for posting such a complimentary review, it is much appreciated. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Perth hotels
3.2 mi away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#1 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.8 mi away
Salutation Hotel
Salutation Hotel
#4 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sunbank House Hotel
Sunbank House Hotel
#6 of 18 in Perth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
1.4 mi away
The Fitzroy
The Fitzroy
#1 of 51 in Perth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pitcullen Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pitcullen Guest House

Property: Pitcullen Guest House
Address: 17 Pitcullen Crescent, Perth PH2 7HT, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Perth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pitcullen Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pitcullen Guest House offers a relaxed, friendly and personalised service and is situated in a desirable residential area of Perth only 10 minutes walk from the centre and all of the attractions that the City has to offer. All rooms have mini fridges, flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities and there is free Wi-Fi,car parking and undercover cycle store. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pitcullen Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pitcullen Guest House Perth, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing