We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family loved it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Knight's Rest Guest House
Ranked #1 of 9 Airdrie B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 24, 2013

We spent a few days at this charming B&B with the family and it has such a good atmosphere about it. The feeling was homely and warm and was kept spotless by Cean who seemed to do everything around the place. The breakfast was very good and you should try the home made scones, they were very tasty. It is an easy walk to the shops and the train station which makes getting about easy and convenient.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 25, 2013

thank you for your lovely comments,and yes cean runs everything by himself.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (290)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

243 - 249 of 290 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Stayed in the this B&B while working up in Scotland and found it to be excellent in every way, the breakfast was great and so were the homemade scones. The place was spotless and the rooms were well appointed with a comfortable bed for a good nights sleep. The staff, in the form of Sean, could not have been more helpful and accommodating and went out of his way to help. Will recommend this place to family and friends if they are ever looking for a B&B in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 28, 2013

thank you for your lovely review,hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Yorkshire lad, Gavin, up in Scotland to work and stayed in the Knights Rest while i was there. What a cracking little B&B this is, it is spotlessly clean and has a nice homely feel to it. Cean, got him to write his name for me, could not have been more accommodating and his breakfasts were spot on. The room was very good and the bed was comfortable. It is very close to the centre of Airdrie so getting into town was easy, a short walk only, and the railway station is close if you wanted to go into Glasgow for a night out.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 665Robert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2013

thank you for your kind words we hope to see you again if you ever end up working here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

I've stayed here (happily) a number of times over the years and returned last week for a few days. Although it has changed hands it's still clean, still comfortable, still friendly, still serving a good breakfast and still hosting return visitors.
This B&B sits on the main street in town. So it's easy to find and it has discrete, safe overnight parking.
If you do travel by car, it's worth noting that there is splendid, quick access to a variety of motorways to take you north south east or west all over the country.
If you don't, the railway station is a short walk to the town centre and sits on the main line to Loch Lomond, Glasgow and Edinburgh. (Of course, if you don't mind changing trains, Glasgow and Edinburgh have links to everywhere else!)

Room Tip: If you are a very light sleeper you MAY want to ask for a room at the rear (south side). However, I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmaLesR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

we thank you for your kind comments and hope to see you again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

If there is a case of an already good thing getting even better this surely must be Knight’s Rest B&B in Airdrie. I had stayed there in February for three weeks and was very happy. This Autumn it was as many as six weeks(business trip) so I can safely say it was my home for a while. The difference is that the B&B changed ownership and is now run by John and Cean, who are much more flexible with regards to the time of breakfast, which is nevertheless just as delicious as before. If you are good Cean may even treat you to homemade cheese cones or ginger bread from time to time. Admittedly they charge 5 pounds per nights more but it seems a small price to pay for a newly installed large flat screen TV and free, perfect broad band wifi (both unavailable before). Besides, there is a kettle, tea/coffee making facilities, packet of biscuits every day, electric alarm clock and a very, very comfortable bed . There is also a spacious car park at the rear for the convenience of occupants of the five en suite(shower) spotlessly clean rooms. Cards are accepted but cash is preferred. As I stated in my previous review Airdrie is not the hottest place in Scotland but it is conveniently situated only some 20 min. away from Glasgow by rail or maybe 40 min from Edinburgh in the opposite direction. Driving is also very easy. If you are the kind who sleeps poorly like myself I would suggest the rooms facing the rear as the traffic can sometimes be a bit noisy in the front rooms. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: rear rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwiewiorowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

we thank you for your lovely comments and would welcome you back anytime .......

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I work away from home all the time & finding a B&B like the Knights Rest is a result lovely clean spacious comfortable warm rooms i needed to get away early sean was only to willing to get up and have a spot on breakfast it has secure parking a brisk 10 minute walk takes you into the town centre and a visit to one of the cheapest Wetherspoons I highly recommend the Knights Rest and whats more being a true Welsh man it is very good value for money

Room Tip: I have had Rooms 5 & 4 cannot fault either
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UsherWrexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

thank you for your lovely review,we are always there for our guests....breakfast early !! if we can we will....you are always welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Stayed at Knights Rest for 2 nights as I was attending a party nearby. My room was spacious, very comfortable bed,wide screen tv and tea /coffee making facilities, The place is immaculately clean. Breakfast is really nice also.Although my room was facing the road , the double glazing ensured there was no noise

Customer care is five star -the two hosts clearly care about ensuring guests have a pleasant experience . If they were on Four In a Bed , they'd win hands down! Highly recommended

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john u, Owner at Knight's Rest Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2013

we thank you for your kind words and are so pleased you enjoyed your weekend break,its lovely when our guests take the time to talk to us.......four in a bed ,television program....we will see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airdrie hotels
1.8 mi away
Shawlee Cottage
Shawlee Cottage
#1 of 2 in Chapelhall
167 reviews
2.9 mi away
Craigpark House
Craigpark House
#1 of 1 in Caldercruix
108 reviews
3.2 mi away
Riggend Farm B&B
Riggend Farm B&B
#5 of 9 in Airdrie
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Lochinvar Guest House
Lochinvar Guest House
#4 of 9 in Airdrie
45 reviews
1.7 mi away
No photo provided
Harty's The Guest House
#2 of 2 in Chapelhall
7 reviews
0 mi away
Easter Glentore Farm
Easter Glentore Farm
#6 of 9 in Airdrie
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Knight's Rest Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Knight's Rest Guest House

Address: 150 Clark Street, Airdrie ML6 6DZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > North Lanarkshire > Airdrie
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Airdrie
Price Range: $42 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Knight's Rest Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian villa built in 1886, the Knight's Rest is the closest Bed & Breakfast or Guesthouse accommodation to Airdrie town centre, putting dining facilities, local shops, bars and transport links, all within strolling distance.About ten minutes walk to the train station allows convenient access to Edinburgh, or to friendly Glasgow to enjoy its superb shopping, free museums and many other cultural delights. With the M8 and other major roads close by, Stirling and Perth are also readily accessible. The not-to-be-missed Falkirk Wheel, Strathclyde Country Park and Summerlee Heritage Centre are but a few of the nearby tourist attractions within easy reach.Demonstrating our long tradition of Scottish hospitality, guests receive a warm, informative welcome in the tartan-carpeted hall and are given their own keys, allowing free access at all times. Each cosy, centrally heated room in this immaculately presented guesthouse enjoys internet access, an en-suite shower room, complimentary hospitality tray, radio alarm and colour TV. Ironing facilities and a hairdryer are available on request. Parking is off-street, free, plentiful and private, secure lockup garage for motorcycles / bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Knight's Rest Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Knight's Rest Guest House Airdrie, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing