We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like being surrounded by tradition look no further”

Western Gailes Golf Club
Attraction details
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“If you like being surrounded by tradition look no further”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

From your arrival through your change and warm up, from the 1st tee to the 18th green, to the clubhouse, catering and departure there is very little to fault Western Gailes.

If you like your golf played over a quirky, demanding links layout then this is right up there with the best in the UK. Having played a calm Royal Troon the previous day we had a stark reminder of just how difficult links golf can be. The course demands straight hitting, plenty of planning and the ability to really read a green. Anything offline from the tee, fairway or green will be punished - hit it into the rough and more often than not you'll be reloading. Some truly great holes notably the par 5 6th and the par 3 7th.

Off the course the clubhouse oozes tradition from the grand locker room to the dining room.

Hugely recommended.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank timmac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    7
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“CLASSIC LINKS COURSE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very difficult course . Dry and windy when other courses waterlogged. A little formal . Take plenty medium priced balls

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank bobessonl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Terrific Links Golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

After a week in St. Andrews, we went to Western Gailes for our last round before flying out of Glasgow. There are very limited visitor tee times so reserve early. We were concerned that this might be a somewhat "stuff" place, but the staff and members were extremely friendly. We arrived early and they got us out a little early, ahead of a large group. The caddies were very good and made the round more enjoyable. I would definitely recommend taking at least 1 caddy. Great greens, but tough to read. I would rate this as a must play course.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
246 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Great Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

This is a must-play course if you are on the west coast and looking for the best of golf.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Globaljoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
510 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
“Great value links golf”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

Not as crowded, nor expensive as the major Ayrshire courses, but a superb example of links golf at its best. Several holes are effectively played blind and this added to the demands upon one's skills. We played on a calm day, but imagine this must be even more challenging with a strong wind. Club house has character, but isn't stuffy.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lieutenant_Feraud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Western Gailes Golf Club also viewed

Irvine, North Ayrshire
Irvine, North Ayrshire
 
Prestwick, South Ayrshire
Irvine, North Ayrshire
 

Been to Western Gailes Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing