We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great friendly service, but conservatory a little cold”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Restaurant at Annfield House
Ranked #33 of 70 Restaurants in Irvine
Price range: $51 - $51
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Steakhouse, Scottish
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed March 28, 2014

We went here on Monday for a meal and were put in the conservatory, which is really nice and the restaurant was fairly quiet. However, I immediately noticed it was a bit cold and to be fair during our visit the girl serving asked if we were cold and if we needed the heating turned up, but this should be done anyway. Anyway onto the food, which again was superb. This place offers great value with kids meals at only £1 and two meals for a tenner from the lighter bites menu. These meals are of a decent size and it does tell you what dishes are slightly smaller than the standard menu. For starters I had the chicken tempura, which is excellent and comes with a nice salad and a selection of dips and is a really nice dish. For main I had the steak pie, which is excellent and being on the value menu is great value at the same time. Drinks are reasonably priced. The chicken en croute and haggis truffles were complimented and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their meals. The kids meals are of a decent size and steak pie is included in this menu. Service was good throughout with the girls being really friendly. Overall, am surprised its not busier as I have never had a bad meal from this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, Owner at Restaurant at Annfield House, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Hello,

Thank you for your comments.

Normally we would only ask guests to sit in the conservatory at this time of year if the party was for 5 or more guests as our bar area is really only set up for 4 seats around the table and any more would be a tight squeeze and guest comfort and space is priority.

We are glad you enjoyed your meal and look forward to welcoming you back.

regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (64)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 64 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

I had the Penn Pasta during a recent visit with friends. It was tasteless with a watery tomatoe sauce. No garlic or spices. Very disappointing. My friend paid for the drinks prior to our Meal but when another friend paid our bill she was recharged for the same drinks.

    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Myra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, Owner at Restaurant at Annfield House, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Hello,
I am sorry that you were not satisfied with your meal with us, however we do ask each customer after they have eaten if everything was good for them. At this stage if someone was not happy with their meal we are able to deal with it there and then. This becomes very difficult to do when customers leave and don't say anything as we are not able to offer alternatives. With regards to the drinks perhaps you could phone the hotel and ask for myself and if you have your receipt to hand we can check this and fix it for you.

I look forward to hearing from you and again we are sorry your experience with us was not what we strive to deliver to each and everyone of our customers.

Regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Arrived for lunch, the place is in a nice area of Irvine and the atmosphere is quite good but the food is not up to scratch. I ordered fish that was obviously frozen , kind of like cheap supermarket cafe food. No presentation worth mentioning.
Service just about ok.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank VIncent210949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, Owner at Restaurant at Annfield House, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

It is always disappointing when customers who have either had lunch or dinner with us leave not happy with their experience. We do ask each customer after they have eating if everything was good for them and should there be an issue with a meal we can sort it out with them when they are with us. It is not so easy for us to do this when they leave and don't say anything at the time.
However we are sorry you did not have that good experience we try to give all our customers and if you had said at the end of your meal, we would have been able to advise that our fish is definitely not frozen and that it is sourced locally.

Best Regards
Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We went last night for my little girls birthday and there was not much left on anybodys plate. There was a large group of us booked into a private room and the hotel had asked that we pre order our food to make it easier as they only have a small kitchen. This was not a problem and when we arrived we were shown to the room and drinks orders taken as guests were seated. Staff members were working hard and our meals were served very quickly. The plate of potato skins for starters was massive and a dish in itself. The cheese sauce with bacon this is served with is very nice. Other starters, including pate and chicken tempura were very well received. For mains most of the guests had ordered off the two for £9.99 lighter meals menu, excluding a few. This is slightly smaller portions, but having been before I knew this was suffice for me and everyone seemed to agree. With the time of day kids also ate for £1, which was great value. As well as two meals for £9.99 a dessert could be added for £2 and the cheesecake of the day was very nice served with decent ice cream. We were told it was baileys and fudge cheesecake, but I would say it was simply a Vanilla cheesecake with caramel sauce, which very much suited me. We were charged £3.75 for a kids melon, but this may have had to be taken off the main menu and with the value we received we couldn't really argue. The other dessert available for £2 was sticky toffee apple crumble or others on the dessert menu were about £4.25 and included chocolate fudge cake and homemade trifle. Great choice and excellent service would definitely recommend for a family dinner.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

We had a Groupon deal for 4. Service was fantastic. Enjoyed both starter and main courses and our drink! Our 16 month old daughter was with us and staff were great with her. Was a great deal and would definitely buy again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shirleywirley7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at Annfield House also viewed

 
Irvine, North Ayrshire
Irvine, North Ayrshire
 
Irvine, North Ayrshire
Irvine, North Ayrshire
 

Been to Restaurant at Annfield House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing