We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Relaxing weekend”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Just had a great relaxing weekend at the Gailes, rooms are large and spotless, room located at the front of the hotel facing the road which can be busy and noisy but don't let that put you off, you get used to it . The floor covering in the lift is loose and could be a trip hazard.

Had a meal in the restaurant on both evenings quality food, very busy with locals which speaks volumes about the quality of the food.

Staff are very friendly and attentive throughout the hotel

I would recommend the Gailes to anyone visiting the area , I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    140
    48
    22
    8
See reviews for
105
155
9
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have just attended a family wedding at the Gailes Hotel and stayed overnight to avoid having to travel home in bad weather.
The staff were exceptionally welcoming, The room was well-appointed and comfortable with a very high degree of convenience. There was a slight delay at first as the room was not quite ready for us, but this was speedily and effectively remedied. (We were, in fact, a little early arriving.
The wedding reception was in a lovely suite with good facilities and the service to the tables could not be bettered for personal attention,speedy service and excellent food.
Breakfast was very good with a good range of dishes available,and staff were friendly and accommodating even in the early morning.

Room Tip: The rooms on the North side overlook the Glasgow Gailes golf course and are quieter than those on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George L C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for one night b+b whilst visiting family after Hogmanay.

Rooms are spotless and have all you need, Similar in style to Holiday Inn Express rooms but slightly better, which we have used on numerous occassions.

We had our evening meal in the Restaurant which was fine, staff are welcoming and friendly, good Ayrshire hospitality..

Breakfast in the morning was excellent and the guy who welcomed us and told us where everything was is a really cheerful chap, really looked after us.
My wife is vegetarian and the cooked breakfast choices was the best she has ever had in the UK and we have several breaks every year, so this was a treat for her.

Would recommend and we will use again when in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melmer07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill_campbell, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
On behalf of our team at The Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, we would like to thank you all for the fantastic feedback recently posted. We had some lovely groups joining us over the festive period, and we are delighted that we could help you celebrate such a special time of year.

Best wishes for 2014 and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, England
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2014

After a first visit for the 2 night hogmanay package in 2012 we were eager to return in 2013 and we certainly weren't disappointed. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, from check in to leaving. Not one of them walked past without a friendly greeting or asking if they could get you anything.
Very nice clean warm rooms with lovely bathrooms.

All the food was fantastic (and we certainly sampled enough of it ).

Overall a fantastic package and well worth the money , we'll definitely be seeing in 2015 with them.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cym77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed here on Christmas night having spent the day with family in the area. We really only arrived late, sleepover, breakfast and gone but it was really excellent.

This is not a 5 star/Michelin establishment but a local hotel, run by a local couple and an excellent standard and I have reviewed it as such.

Check in was great, very efficient with a very pleasant welcome and a wee bit of banter, just what you need.

Particular thanks must go to the cleaners. It was spotless!! Really well serviced, a couple of apples and complimentary water of water in the room (much appreciated for the Christmas hangover!).

Breakfast was really excellent. Service was brilliant, I wanted a caffeine free tea and the lady who looked after us actually gave me her own tea bag! Excellent, and much appreciated (back to the Christmas hangover again!) Service was efficient, food excellent. Plenty to please us.

We had 2 rooms and only paid £114 for both rooms (one was single occupancy) which was a snip! Great value.

I see a few people have marked this down on location and to be fair if you are here you need a car but most of us on holiday/business have a car. There is a great walk from the front door of the hotel down to the sea which does not take long and is great to clear the head (Christmas hangover theme...)

If you are in this area and looking for a sleepover I would have no hesitation in recommending this to you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinneAuchterarder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Would just like to say what a great time my Mum, Son & myself had staying here for Christmas. Everything was first class from the room, food & service. Only had one slight issue with breakfast on Christmas morning, but that was only one member of staff and other staff resolved the issue. This was a truly great deal and staff made even more special. The food was absolutely delicious, especially the scrambled egg at breakfast. Would recommend this break to anyone. Thanks again

Room Tip: Ask for room at back of hotel overlooking golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midgieKilmarnock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

I got such a good deal I was concerned what I would get when I arrived. The was no worries fantastic 10 out of 10. Good room, big tv, food quite modern but lovely, gym in another building but only 30 seconds away.
I will stay there again and would pay twice the price for this hotel & I come fron Yorkshire

Room Tip: I have only stayed in one but the fruit was a good touch
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chardhut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
4.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,055 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Irvine
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
491 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
262 reviews
10.3 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gailes Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gailes Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Address: Marine Drive | Strathclyde, Irvine KA11 5AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Gailes Restaurant and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star hotel, bar and restaurant in the heart of Ayrshire. Distinctive modern accommodation with full mod cons and king size beds. Stunning Penthouse Apartment with private sauna, spa and Jacuzzi plus rooftop garden and conservatory. Excellent dining options in our relaxed and friendly bar and restaurant areas. Part of the award winning SimpsInns group. Adjacent to a number of championship golf courses and just minutes from the busy towns of Irvine and Troon. Prestwick Airport and Troon P&O Ferry terminal are less than 10 minutes away, while Glasgow International is 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gailes Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gailes Restaurant Hotel Irvine
Gailes Hotel Irvine
Gailes Restaurant And Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing