We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another visit to family in Irvine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Diss, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Another visit to family in Irvine”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Staff live up to their reputation for friendliness, helpfulness and efficiency. Brought my elderly mum out to Sunday lunch - all was absolutely lovely. Restaurants all very busy, special birthday parties going on,families meeting up - the staff coped with it all without making anyone feel rushed. Breakfast is lovely - freshly cooked to order and a decent cup of tea! Must be the water of Scotland :)

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are not so noisy - unless the people in the room above you are!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lizi090411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill_campbell, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass your comments to our team at The Gailes. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    139
    48
    22
    8
See reviews for
104
153
9
70
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kilwinning
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Just been to Gailes for friday lunch with my husband. Food good when it eventually came! Had to wait nearly 30 minutes. Service very slow. Usually go to Ship Inn! Dont think we will be back.Have been here before and service was really slow and had forgotten! We had 2 main meals and 2 drinks and bill was £30.30. I think this place is very over rated although it is always busy. There are other establishments in and around Irvine that provide much better service and quality!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill_campbell, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our menu offers a variety of dishes to suit all tastes, and our Simply SimpsInns menu which is a lighter option offers extremely good value for money for 2 or 3 courses. Friday lunch service was extremely busy at The Gailes and I am sorry you had to wait for your meals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed here for one night in July 2013 after a wedding.Full wedding ceremony held in the Gailes very nice venue,meal was perfect.Hotel room nice clean tidy staff friendly helpful.Breakfast looked great but did not try as I was still suffering from the celebrations from the night before.Nice location very secluded (would need car to get to nearest town to far to walk).All in all very nice hotel with friendly staff (especially the young lady who annonces everything and everyone threw out the wedding great fun and full of character).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

This has got to be the very best hotel for value and comfort I have ever used! The staff go out of their way at all times to make your stay comfortable. The restaurant is superb with an excellent choice cooked to perfection always, Breakfast cooked to order and perfection with such lovely staff also every morning and they remember your name, each and every one of them. Fantastic huge rooms with the biggest beds in I have seen anywhere in any hotel worldwide! Fantastic Hi speed WIFT with superb facliliteis which include a sauna and jacuzzi and golf course. I cannot say enough how truely hospitipal and friendly all the staff are and it is of little wonder that this superb hotel has won excellence awards by the Scottoish Tourism board. I stay here about 8 to 10 nights per year and can always look forward to a lovely warm and friendly welcome back. Can not find one thing bad to say about this superb hotel. Simply THE BEST !

Room Tip: Use the sauna and huge Jacuzzi and the amazing hospitality of all the staff. All rooms are ,massive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill_campbell, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your visits to The Gailes Hotel and Restaurant. As a privately owned company we strive to provide the best in service, value and customer car. I will pass your fantastic comments to our team at the Gailes and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
370 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The hotel was recommended by the business I was visiting and lived up to its billing - comfortable large standard room, welcoming staff, and a good breakfast to start the day. A group of us visited the Si restaurant in the same chain for dinner, which scores 5 on a separate review.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolihullRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We booked the Gailes Hotel for our anniversary and we really couldn't fault anything. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the room was a good size and had everything we needed - including complimentary water and fruit. The bathroom was modern and spotless and a good size. We'd gone half board and dinner and breakfast was included and the food was really nice, service was quick and efficient and they were extremely flexible when we rang to ask them to move our reservations back an hour. In the morning, we were shown where the continental breakfast area was and that hot food was available to order and we were amazed at the quality of the food considering the price we paid for half board. We thoroughly enjoyed our night and were very tempted to stay for another! Having read a few reviews we knew that next door to the hotel was a health and spa club which hotel guests were permitted to use as part of their stay and the hotel desk provided us with towels for us to use which came in very handy. All in all, this is one of the best hotels I've stayed in - and I have NEVER written a review about a hotel before (I only read other peoples...) but I just had to for the Gailes. Definitely see ourselves visiting again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gill_campbell, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We are delighted that your first ever trip advisor review was for the Gailes, thank you for your fantastic feedback, I will pass your comments to our team. As a privately owned company we strive to provide excellent standards, service and value. We look forward to welcoming you to a SimpsInns venue again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Had lunch on 27/09/13 with my friend had the light lunch 3 course for £12.95. The liver pate to start with was really nice followed by braised beef and pastry which was really nice followed by an absolutely lovely cheesecake. The portions were not huge but just right. The hotel was very nice as were the staff. Would go there again if in Irvine

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilly1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.4 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
4.2 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,045 reviews
3.1 mi away
Old Loans Inn
Old Loans Inn
#3 of 6 in Troon
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Irvine
302 reviews
9.5 mi away
The Waterside Hotel
The Waterside Hotel
#2 of 2 in West Kilbride
254 reviews
10.3 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gailes Restaurant and Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gailes Restaurant and Hotel

Property: Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Address: Marine Drive | Strathclyde, Irvine KA11 5AE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gailes Restaurant and Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four star hotel, bar and restaurant in the heart of Ayrshire. Distinctive modern accommodation with full mod cons and king size beds. Stunning Penthouse Apartment with private sauna, spa and Jacuzzi plus rooftop garden and conservatory. Excellent dining options in our relaxed and friendly bar and restaurant areas. Part of the award winning SimpsInns group. Adjacent to a number of championship golf courses and just minutes from the busy towns of Irvine and Troon. Prestwick Airport and Troon P&O Ferry terminal are less than 10 minutes away, while Glasgow International is 40 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gailes Restaurant and Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gailes Restaurant Hotel Irvine
Gailes Hotel Irvine
Gailes Restaurant And Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing