We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel but lacking leisure facilities.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Reviewed November 1, 2010

I have just stayed at the Menzies, Irvine while visiting family. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant twice during our stay and the food was excellent. We were a family group of 8 people staying and everyone was very pleased with the service. The only problem I found was the lack of leisure amenities. The pool has now closed down and there is no other internal leisure facility. There is a 9 hole golf course in the grounds but it is unusual for a 4 star hotel not to have a pool, spa or gym. I also feel it could benefit for some facilities for children. We had a 10 year old child in our group and there was no leisure or entertainment for children. However, I would still recommend this hotel for it's accommodation, food and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bourne12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your positive comments on the hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel matched your expectations. In relation to the feedback on providing children’s entertainment this is something that we will consider moving forward. I hope that the next time you are visiting family in the area we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel. Please contact me directly on 01294 274272 to make your reservation.

Kind Regards

Tuathal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (975)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

892 - 898 of 975 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

My wife and I stayed for 5 days, from 25th Oct 2010 to 29th Oct 2010 travelling with an organised party.
The hotel and rooms are clean, and fairly modern, the staff are helpful, cheerful and courteous. The food is good, and on the last night we were treated to a scottish night with haggis, bagpipes and scottish dancing.
The television did not work very well due to a problem with reception which the hotel is trying to fix.
We will definitely use this hotel again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PernicketyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I am delighted that you had such a pleasant stay and that the Scottish themed night was the highlight of your holiday. The issue that you highlighted with the television channels is now rectified. Thank you also for the feedback on the staff attitude, we all take great pride in making your stay as enjoyable as possible. I look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in the area.

Kind Regards

Tuathal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed here so we could visit relatives in irvine. we stayed here before, We got a good deal with superbreaks with breakfast and one meal.

The room was big and bathroom was a good size aswel. Lovely room clean and clean towels on both days of our stay, lovely breakfast and our meal was also good. Very helpfull!
All staff are pleasant.
There is no gym swimming pool or spa. we didn't mind this as we were visiting relatives.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wellings17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the food. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to Charles and his brigade.

I hope that we have the chance to welcome you back to Menzies Irvine in the near future.

Kind Regards

Tuathal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

great location central for all the places we needed to go
very friendly and attentive staff willing to engage in conversation
any issues we had with our room and our stay were dealt with promptly
room clean and spacious girls who cleaned rooms were all frriendly and polite
breakfast much improved since our last stay
evening meals were delicious couldnt fault them or the waiting staff
thank you!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roy_sandra779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback on the hotel. I am delighted to read that you had such a pleasant stay and that you find the staff attentive and engaging. It was also pleasing to note that you thought the breakfast service had improved since your last stay. Please contact me directly on 01294 274272 to make your next reservation if you have any futher requirements in the area.

Kind Regards

Tuathal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

We were a group of nine golfers and booked single rooms for a long weekend ( three nights).We booked the Menzies as it was a central point for the golf courses we had chosen to play.
We were all pleasantly surprised by the standard of the rooms which were really spacious (largest hotel rooms we have ever stopped in) plus they included everything you would ever need including an ironing board and iron! The rooms were also very quiet as I never heard a thing through the night and therefore had a great sleep.
We stayed on a half board basis and found the food excellent. The breakfast was superb and could not find any fault whatsoever. The evening meals were also superb with large portions and everything was presented on very hot plates ( a huge iritation to me is meals seved on cold or bearly warm plates).
The sevice was friendly and efficient both in the restaurant and bar areas.The reception staff were also very helpful with directions etc.
We also found that the bar prices were reasonable for a 4 star hotel as beer or lager was only £3 a pint.
All things considered we were extremely happy with our choice of hotel and will certainly return again.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meister_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback on the hotel after your recent golfing trip. It really is great to know that you enjoyed all the hotel has to offer and I will be sure to pass your feedback onto the team.

I hope that we have the chance to welcome you again in the future and please contact me directly at tuathal.breheny@menzieshotels.co.uk to make your reservation.

Kind Regards

Tuathal


Kind Regards

Tuathal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

An excellent hotel, friendly efficient staff, good breakfast and evening meal. Standard double bedroom had two double beds, good quality furnishings,excellent ensuite facilities and plenty of room. Can be crowded at meal times if coach parties staying.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback on all aspects of the hotel and for highlighting our close proximity to the Arran ferry. Indeed we are within a 20 minute drive to all ferry terminals to the local island and indeed to Ireland.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and indeed to Ayrshire again at some stage in the future.

Kind regards

Tuathal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2010

My wife and I were visiting family in the town and had the pleasure of staying overnight
(01-09.10) at the Hotel.

Service was excellent from entering the Hotel and approaching the reception, where the staff were busy on another matter , but immediately acknowledged our presence, a speedy efficient check in, to arriving at our room, ( I had asked for a lagoon view, and got it , even if it was closed, but nevertheless the request was granted) the room was very clean , comfortable and surprisingly spacious, as was the bathroom etc.

Although this was a very quick visit for us and we only visited the bar facilities for a nightcap, again, excellent friendly service, and in the morning, checking out was made simple and the receptionist on duty was extremely helpful.

All in all , your staff we encountered and the cleaning staff are a credit to the Hotel and its facilities, the trip for us very pleasant, a big thank you to all.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2010

Dear Guest

I am delighted that you had such a pleasant stay at the hotel and thank you for taking the time to let me know personally and via trip advisor.

I hope the next time you are visiting the arae you will be able to stay a while longer and please contact me directly to make your reservation.

Kind regards

Tuathal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.7 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Irvine
312 reviews
1.3 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
62 reviews
9.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,567 reviews
10.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Irvine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Irvine

Address: 46 Annick Road, Irvine KA11 4LD, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Irvine)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range: $45 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Irvine 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Irvine, in Ayrshire, one of Scotland's most beautiful areas and only seven miles from Prestwick Airport, the Hallmark Hotel Irvine is perfectly placed for both business and leisure. The hotel facilities include 128 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms, a contemporary Brasserie restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and a 9 hole junior golf course. Whether you are wanting to explore the beautiful Ayrshire countryside or simply have a relaxing weekend break, the Hallmark Hotel Irvine is the ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Irvine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Irvine Hotel Irvine
Menzies Hotel Irvine
Irvine Menzies Hotel
Hallmark Hotel Irvine Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing