We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Livingston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed May 20, 2014

Got a brilliant wee deal through classic Britain. Stayed with my mum and 13 year old daughter for an afternoon tea, dinner, bed and breakfast stay.
Afternoon tea was really good and very substantial with a choice of sandwiches, big slice of cake, scone with jam and cream, shortbread and tea/coffee. Dinner was delicious, all very fresh and good portion sizes for us i.e not too much so we could manage 3 courses. Breakfast in the morning was all very fresh with plenty of choice.
After dinner we had a few drinks in the lobby area where a very talented young lady played the piano. Suited us fine as we were after a relaxing night away but would have been a bit disappointing if we were hoping for some entertainment.
The room was perfect for my mum's mobility problems with a wet floor shower. The room could perhaps be doing with a wee update but overall clean and beds were very comfy.
The service we received from check in to check out was absolutely first class. Everyone was really friendly and professional. My daughter was particularly impressed with the ladies at reception who chatted to her about her deathly hallows necklace as they too were Harry Potter fans, this really made her stay and added a great wee personal touch for her.
This was a birthday treat for my mum and overall we were all really pleased we chose this hotel for a lovely wee night away :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mhairi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    329
    295
    147
    56
    41
See reviews for
163
365
31
122
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

My husband are just back from this hotel with our Springer spaniel Hamish.
As Hamish is getting on a bit now we like to give him a bit of peace and quiet away from his two dalmation pup sisters so we took him here for an overnight stay.
Sounds ridiculous I know but dog fanatics will understand.
We stayed on a special deal booked through classic britain of afternoon tea,upgraded room,dinner and late check out.
Fantastic value.
Check in was wonderful with the girl at reception giving Hamish a bag of treats and explaining that as our room was onn the ground floor we could take him out via fire doors to save going through the hotel.
The room we had was lovely with two large kings and a single and yes the furniture is maybe a wee bit tired but the room was immaculate.
We opted for afternoon tea in our room which was delicious.
After walking said pooch we went for dinner which was delicious and the staff were delightful.
Breakfast in the morning was excellent with buffet replenished constantly.
We have taken Hamish to many places and this ranks with the best.
We met a couple up from England with their three dogs who use this hotel regularly to visit family.
The staff are very friendly and most efficient and it was a pleasure to stay there

Room Tip: An upgraded ground floor room has lots of space ideal for children or dogs
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Booked this hotel as a late deal and on arrival the helpful receptionist explained all aspects of our deal. We were upgraded to a two king bedded luxury family room which was very spacious and provided every facility including a fridge, armchairs, two tables/chairs and ironing facilities. The afternoon tea that was served to us in the lounge was lovely with sandwiches, scones/cream/jam and cake. Our 3 course evening menu provided an extensive menu and the staff were very attentive.
We will definately return to this hotel as we found this to be one of the best hotels we have stayed in for a late deal and all for £39 each for the night. Could find no faults and most things seemed to have been thought of for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norma1cumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
86 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed here on a voucher deal. Hotel very clean and staff very friendly. A little disappointed in the menu. Resembled bar meal choices. Steak was a surcharge. We have used many vouchers at many hotels and this has to be the poorest yet. Opted for fish and chips. Cant complain about quality as fish was lovely but not quite what I want for evening dinner. But overall a nice hotel, Good size bedrooms May return but not on a voucher deal.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisrhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

Hotel is located just outside of Irvine but handy to visit places in Ayrshire also Isle of Aran. Our visits were mainly to Scottish National Trust Properties of which there are several in the area.
The Hotel is rated 4* but I would suggest it is no more than 3*+ mainly due to limited provision of range of toiletries, restaurant food limited in choice and varied in quality, lounge/bar area could be busy particularly if a conference or wedding taking place.
The second floor rooms appeared to be constantly very warm. The air conditioning had apparently been disconnected and only one window could be opened. The opening was limited to about 3inches due to a restraining cable. This resulted in disturbed nights sleep.(Why don't hotels provide lighter weight duvets in the summer?)
That said the staff made up for the minor deficiencies, all were more than willing to help to ensure our stay was pleasant and comfortable. The restaurant staff could not have been more helpful and perhaps that is why the hotel deserves its 4* rating.
Would I use the hotel again? - possibly if we considered visiting Ayrshire again.

Room Tip: Ground floor room higher rooms appeared to be warmer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlane85894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, and please accept my apologies where we have not matched all your expectations during your stay.
We are constantly reviewing our guest's constructive feedback and we try and react accordingly to that, so please be assured we will take onboard your comments. However in relation to the window's security locks, this is due to a health and safety directive and we are unable to breach this.
I am delighted to read that the team's hospitality once again shone through, they truly are the hotels greatest asset and I will be sure to pass on your feedback.
If you are visiting the area please contact me directly on 01294 314802 or at tuathal.breheny@menzieshotels.co.uk so that I can personally look after your reservation.
Many thanks again for your feedback.
Kind regards
Tuathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Arrived here friday afternoon, to have a lovely afternoon tea, even asked for our choice of sandwiches. Scones jam and cream and two lovely large pieces of victoria sandwich, tea or coffee. This was really good, so we didnt have our dinner till 815. The dinner was good too, with choice of starters I had lovely fish cakes, then roasted pepper, and all the trimmings , sticky toffee pudding. My husband had lovely soup, with roll, and fish and chips, and sticky toffee pudding. The breakfast was very good too, plenty choice cereal bread croissants pastrie, porridge, cooked breakfast.
The hotel gives excellent value . We paid £78 for two on a late deal and got dinner bed breakfast and afternoon tea. We had a huge room with 2 double and 1 single bed. A large table and four chairs, good shower.
We enjoyed our stay, and will be back again. We have stayed before in the winter when there was also a good deal . Thank you Menzies hotel and staff.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank perthmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

What a wonderful review, thank you so much. The team are delighted that you enjoyed the stay and that they made such an impression. It always feels great, particularly when a guest returns for a leisure break and has such a fantastic impression of the hotel.

The next time you are visiting please contact me directly at tuathal.breheny@menzieshotels.co.uk.

Best regards

Tuathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2014

We booked this for a night away together and got a great deal. The hotel was brilliant as were the staff. We had afternoon tea and dinner included, the food was delicious and beautifully presented. Breakfast was also great. The room we had was huge with 2 double beds and seating area. We will definitely we back and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelaauld11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to post your wonderful comments on Trip Advisor. We do genuinely try and make all guest stay’s as memorable as possible.

Once again thank you for the positive comments.

Kind Regards

Tuathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
1.7 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Irvine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
10.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Irvine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Irvine

Property: Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Address: 46 Annick Road, Irvine KA11 4LD, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Irvine)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Irvine 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Irvine, in Ayrshire, one of Scotland's most beautiful areas and only seven miles from Prestwick Airport, the Hallmark Hotel Irvine is perfectly placed for both business and leisure. The hotel facilities include 128 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms, a contemporary Brasserie restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and a 9 hole junior golf course. Whether you are wanting to explore the beautiful Ayrshire countryside or simply have a relaxing weekend break, the Hallmark Hotel Irvine is the ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Irvine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Irvine Hotel Irvine
Menzies Hotel Irvine
Irvine Menzies Hotel
Hallmark Hotel Irvine Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing