We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We visited this hotel as we received it as a gift. when we got our room it was freezing the room was thick with dust and very tired decor I wanted to complain but as we got it as a gift my partner said we shouldn't. We had 2 go out a drive for to give time for the room 2 heat up.next morning we got up 2 a power cut my partner was fuming got dressed and went 2 reception complain they said they would send someone up we waited for a while no one appeared we went for breakfast without a shower breakfast was poor cheap bacon and sausage.i did complain when we left reception said they would contact me after 12 as that's when the general manager was in its now the 11th Feb no call.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gwenneba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank for your feedback about the hotel and the experience you had and once again please accept my apologies for the lapse in standards and for the mix up when trying to contact you.

As I explained when we spoke, Paul in my absence had spoken with Mrs McMahon who purchased the gift voucher and is a regular guest and apologised for the lapse in standards. Paul had also tried to contact you directly and had spoken with your daughter both on the day of your departure and the following day and left messages with her for you to contact him at time convenient for you so that he could also go through the events.

Since our discussion we have reviewed our arrival policy but unfortunately the power cut was caused by a fault which required a fully qualified electrician to rectify but which was completed by the time you had returned from breakfast. I was however disappointed to hear your comments on breakfast as this is generally an area that receives positive reviews.

Many thanks for your understanding when we spoke and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Tuathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    293
    147
    55
    39
See reviews for
162
362
31
119
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

Had a wee break with my sisters and partners. All staff from Kirsty and Lisa on reception to Stacey at the bar were cheery and attentive with nothing too much trouble. Special thanks have to go to Paul and Mark so going that extra bit to ensure our party were all seated comfortably and together. Mark was particularly kind offering us coffee while waiting for the rest of our party for breakfast. Food was gorgeous, thanks also go to the chef (sorry didn't get your name) who was happy to make custard for some of the party for evening meal.
This was a return trip for me but I will be back

Room Tip: If you have any walking problems ask for ground floor as there is no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fertdt1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear guest,

I am always delighted to read that the team have made another your stay memorable and I hope that we have an opportunity to do so again in the near future. Our kitchen is always happy to deal with any dietary requirements and I am glad that the friendliness and attentiveness of the team has shone through.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post such positive feedback.

Kind Regards

Tuathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights in a family room in January 2014. The room was comfortable and spacious, with complimentary wifi throughout. The requested child cot was not actually provided, although the hotel manager did come and apologise in person after we ended up bringing in our own travel cot.

The staff were friendly and helpful, and the value for money was terrific at the time we stayed (£69 per night room only for the family).

We ate in the hotel on the first evening, and the food was decent. The breakfast buffet was excellent on both mornings, and good value for money.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask in advance for a room close to reception if you are wanting to use a child monitor whilst they s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toptoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your positive review of the hotel and I am delighted that you enjoyed the restaurant and that breakfast was to your satisfaction.

Please accept my apologies for the oversight regarding the travel cot, but I am please to read that the duty manager went to see you and apologies for our error.

When you are next visiting the area please contact me at tuathal.breheny@menzieshotels.co.uk so that I can personal ensure everything is to your total satisfaction.

Kind Regards

Tuathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Just back from an overnight DBB break for 8 adult family members having a chill out and catch up and I have to say it met all expectations and more. For a party of our size you would imagine a couple of hiccups but no. The staff go out of their way to make you feel special. Many thanks to managers Paul and Mark (you know why!). Thanks to Kirsty and Lisa on reception for making it easy for us to check in & for sorting the 'accessible' room (whew) & also for keeping the payment secret. We all liked our rooms (clean, warm & spacious). Claire at the bar deserves a mention for keeping up with our lunch order and for the extra tea & for all that came after! Stacey who's name badge came from Australia served us our delicious 3 course dinner. The chef is to be praised for the delicious food including the breakfast. What a choice! I've been before & loved the whole experience & I think you may have a few more who will be back. If anyone reading this has any doubts as to whether to book or not - just book it. You won't be disappointed! Note for management - any chance of a freebie after this glowing review? Or a pay for one night get one night free? Would have to be for 8 adults though! Thanks for helping to make it a great break for us all! Donna and the gang

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CDGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for such a phenomenal review, it really makes all the teams day when we see that we have such a positive impact on a guest’s stay.

When you are next visiting the area please contact me at tuathal.breheny@menzieshotels.co.uk so that I can personal look after your reservation and please be assured the entire team look forward to you and all your family returning.

Kind Regards

Tuathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilmarnock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

I had a party of 21adults and five children for a wedding reception at the hotel on 25th January 2014.The menus choice was good and the food was great. I cannot praise the staff enough. They went out of their way to make sure everything went well which it did. I would certainly recommend this hotel for a venue such as ours. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback and we are delighted that we had a part to play in your special day. Claire our wedding coordinator always enjoys that personal touch of being there on the day and helping with all the planning and preparations in advance of the big day.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary if not sooner.

Kind regards

Tuathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

good value for money few negatives dinner menu was much the same most nights could have been a bit more choice on a positive side the food was really nice was served by a really good waiter called paul the rooms are getting a bit tired in need of a bit redecoration overall nice stay well worth the money very pleasant staff especially paul our waiter

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tania s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your feedback regarding your stay at the hotel.

Firstly please accept my apologies for the lack of change in the menu; this is certainly not our hotel standard which involves a daily change of choice alongside our A la Carte and lounge menu.

In relation to the bedrooms we have an ongoing maintenance and refurbishment programme in place and are constantly striving to improve the quality of the rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit and please contact me directly at tuathal.breheny@menzieshotels.co.uk so that I can personally look after your reservation.

Kind regards

Tuathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked this hotel for a quiet time before christmas. The week before my partner phoned hotel to see if any entertainment on that weekend. He spoke to Clare rodden the events manager who advised a christmas party night was planned for the sat night of our stay. Clare was fantastic providing us will loads of information re event and hotel and included us into the party night which was fantastic. Great atmosphere, great food and great DJ who made everyone very welcome!!!
Hotel gorgeous as you walk in and staff very nice. Bedrooms clean and perfect in every way.
Breakfast was great and staff really welcoming.
Can only rate this hotel a perfect 10/10 as will definately return next dec. Clare has a great personality and very good at her job. She made our stay exceptional and would like her superiors know this!! A great asset to this wee gem of a hotel
Best wishes Bob Anne Brady ❤

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank monicaof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IrvineManager, General Manager at Hallmark Hotel Irvine, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs Brady

I am delighted to see that you had such a wonder time and that you rate the hotel as a 10 /10 for all areas including our Christmas party nights.

Claire is our newest member of the management team and is as you said proving to be a real asset to the hotel particularly with our wedding couples.

Once again thank you for taking the time to post a review and hopefully we will see you before December.

Kind Regards

Tuathal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
1.7 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Irvine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
10.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
9.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Irvine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Irvine

Property: Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Address: 46 Annick Road, Irvine KA11 4LD, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Irvine)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Irvine 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Irvine, in Ayrshire, one of Scotland's most beautiful areas and only seven miles from Prestwick Airport, the Hallmark Hotel Irvine is perfectly placed for both business and leisure. The hotel facilities include 128 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms, a contemporary Brasserie restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and a 9 hole junior golf course. Whether you are wanting to explore the beautiful Ayrshire countryside or simply have a relaxing weekend break, the Hallmark Hotel Irvine is the ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Irvine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Irvine Hotel Irvine
Menzies Hotel Irvine
Irvine Menzies Hotel
Hallmark Hotel Irvine Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing