We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Menzies” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hallmark Hotel Irvine

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Fife, Scotland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Menzies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

2 year i have stayed at The Menzies - .. great hotel, staff always friendly and work hard at helping out their guests..
Rooms good sized and clean -
Food excellent, bar prices on the steep side.. but not outrageous

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

836 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    288
    143
    54
    36
See reviews for
153
354
30
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Staff were friendly and welcoming on arrival, efficient check in and good information about the hotel. Rooms were tidy and clean although a little dated. Restaurant was pleasant with a reasonable selection, breakfast was buffet help yourself, good selection and nice and hot. Nice little extras like whiskey for your porridge. Bar offered a good selection of drinks although service was a little slow. Bar was shut when returning at 11 pm, so no chance of a nightcap. Mini golf course surrounds the hotel, not Ryder cup standard but passes an hour at 50p for a ball retuned if you returned the ball, can't go wrong with that. Would recommend to anyone who wants a no frills stay. For fitness gurus no gym or pool.

Room Tip: First floor rooms seem quieter than ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J1mG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stay here two or three times a year and have never been disappointed. The staff are consistently very friendly and helpful and the rooms are good. The decor could do with an update, more so in the bedrooms than in the reception or bar area. Overall, though I've never had anything other than a good experience here on the many occasions I've stayed here. Otherwise, I wouldn't keep coming back when down in North Ayrshire.

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar. Hotel is based around one very long corridor and some are quite a hike...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ProfessorPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

As a residents association with 50 pensioners we had a wonderful stay at the Menzies Hotell Ayr. The management and staff were absolutely fantastic and so friendly nothing was to much bother for them. The food and rooms were excellant as was the whole 4 days we spent there and would reccomend this hotel to any bus party or individual who would like to stay there.

Mary macleod

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kilmarnock, scotland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is the second big birthday bash I have held in the Menzies Irvine. Allison the events coordinator is fantastic, as are the team of staff who made the weekend run smoothly- especially Paul & Gary who really looked after us!
All the staff were friendly and welcoming -including those who remembered us all from the previous birthday bash ( some 18 months ago). Nothing was too much trouble, surprises kept and accommodations made for family members who needed no stairs etc.
the rooms were all large and spacious and excellent value.
As we had private dining our menu was different from the main one offered and the food was good, but I was a little disappointed in the recent changes to the main brasserie menu and in the quality of a couple of dishes on this in comparison to our last experience - but this did not directly impact on the family and friends who gathered (16 in all) from having a great time and all once again commenting on the fab weekend at the Menzies!
I also want to acknowledge the reception and bar staff who as the frontline staff always had a smile or a cheery word!
Thank you Allison and the team for another shed load of fantastic memories and a relaxing, fun and unique celebration!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crcartw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We arrived late here after a fiasco at the Lauriston Hotel in ardrossan. The room was huge and the staff were very helpful. The food in the restaurant was good as was the breakfast. Would recommend and stay here again.

Room Tip: It's a really big hotel.so if you have problems walking then get a room close to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkeeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Did not enjoy my stay here. My room stunk of smoke and the carpet was covered in hairs. The ensuite could have been lovely if it wasn't for the dodgey and messy tiling job! The bed was well used and horrible and squidgey and the windows let in a huge draft. There was no heating in my room other than a plug in electric heater.
The restaurant was full of enjoying children playing loud music and screaming and shouting.
The food was good but im glad I was on business as would not have paid those prices for it.
Staff were very friendly and helpful.
Wouldn't stay here again though.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbrown01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
5.5 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
1.0 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
1.1 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
10.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Irvine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Irvine

Property: Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Address: 46 Annick Road, Irvine KA11 4LD, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Irvine)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Irvine 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Irvine, Ayrshire, one of Scotland's most beautiful areas, and only seven miles from Prestwick Airport, Hallmark Hotel Irvine is perfectly placed for both business and leisure. Facilities: Hallmark Irvine offers a wide selection of facilities from 128 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms, a contemporary Brasserie restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and a 9 hole junior golf course. Whether you are wanting to explore the beautiful Ayrshire countryside or simply have a relaxing weekend break, the Hallmark Irvine is the ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct and Priceline so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Irvine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Irvine Hotel Irvine
Menzies Hotel Irvine
Irvine Menzies Hotel
Hallmark Hotel Irvine Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing