We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was all going well.....till dinner”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked here for an overnight stay as had stayed a few years before, receptionist was very welcoming, our room was spacious and clean and had a lovely king sized bed, downside was only 1 large towel, but we were fine and managed with what was there, we went for dinner, had a pre dinner drink nice friendly barman, then we went in to dinner, i chose from the day menu and enjoyed my 3 courses when i mentioned the meringue inthe pavlova tasted shop bought and was the only thing i hadnt thoroughly enjoyed, the rather cheeky waitress told me "I cant believe you said that i thought you were joking its all made in the kitchen" my husband chose from the A La Carte menu his mushrooms were chewy, his steak full of grisle and the onion rings half cooked!!! he finished with cheese which he enjoyed, breakfast was nice no more no less, i would stay here again but wouldnt eat here again, bit overpriced on the A La Carte menu for the standard they are serving.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maclady52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (920)
There are newer reviews for Hallmark Hotel Irvine
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

672 - 678 of 920 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Three years ago, we looked for a hotel on the Ayrshire coast that was convenient for my wife's sporting commitments in nearby Dalry.
The criteria we set were a) easy to get to, b) big enough to be anonymous as guests (bed and breakfasts don't give us the freedom to come and go as we wish), c) Pet friendly and d) near the coast if at all possible, for relaxation before and after events.
Menzies Irvine gives us all this and more and now we stay there every time we drive North.

A mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel lacks leisure facilities such as a pool and gym, but that wasn't a necessity for us.
Instead it has very large, well appointed rooms on two floors, staff that actually seem to be happy in their work (and that shows through in the way you are welcomed and looked after as a guest), a breakfast that is one of the best we've had in any hotel in the UK, and last but not least it is only 10 minutes drive to a lovely beach just away from Irvine town centre where we've seen seals, dolphin (okay only once!), and Gannets diving and feeding.
The town itself is regenerating its image, and it isn't exactly picture postcard Scotland, it's simply a thriving town going about its business.
The hotel can be busy, as it is popular as an overnight stop over for coach tours to the Highlands and Islands, but this doesn't detract from the ambience, which is both calming and relaxing.
As I've mentioned, the staff are the real gems of the hotel, and in the three years we have stayed with them we have never had to worry about any issue whatsoever, everything has been dealt with efficiently and with grace.
If you are travelling North and are looking for somewhere to break your journey, choose the Menzies, and once you've booked in and settled down, head for the old harbour and go for a walk along the harbour front sampling some of the very nice pubs and bars there, before taking a bracing walk along that two miles of beach before a last drink in the hotel bar. Plus, it's only 20 minutes to the centre of Glasgow if you fancy a visit, and it sits slap bang in the middle of some of the best golf courses on the West Coast.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quiet, as the hotel is set hundreds of yards back from any major road, but do ask...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffandlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Lovely hotel, very spacious. Reception staff were excellent. Room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Secure, ample parking. Food expensive and no leisure facilities but still a lovely place to relax.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RdGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I usually stay at the Gailes (nearby) when I'm statying around Irvine. I decided to have a change because the rate on offer wasn't the usual "we're full of trppers" so we can charge top rate, rate.
Was ok, but I won't be staying again. Room was adequate, cleanish, but probably needs a refurb. AC was decommissioned & replaced with an electric heater. No double glazing, so my room (motorway facing) was a bit noisy. Service in main restuarant leaves a lot to be desired. ^ others in place - 55 minutes to finishing 1st course, & then things only improved marginally when I asked for things to be moved along. Food though, is 1st class & probably worth the wait. Breakfast is fantastic (although I didn't risk my usual cooked-to-order poached eggs, considering life might just be too short for that!). Need to up their act all round to compete with nearbly competitton.

Room Tip: Avoid motoway facing rooms. Allow a couple of hours if dining in the main restaurant. Be aware tha...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lee michael d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Good place to organize a wedding party or similar and stay overnight, the hotel is luxurious with king-size beds, splendid breakfast buffet and all the comfort you can expect from 4-star accommodation, they do special rates for group bookings which makes it an affordable stay, the only thing missing is a gym but if you're into golf, the course is just outside.....what it lacks is a bit of character, it could be located anyway instead of beautiful Ayrshire.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

WE have stayed here before and found it to be extremely comfortable with nice food. Only down side was our room was miles away from reception, but that might be because it was a smoking room ( not a lot of them around) Hotel is very central and has loads of free parking, I would recommend it and will stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

On arrival we found out our room was abou 150 yards from reception and we were on first floor and no lift.Breakfast was lovely on both mornings. Room was lovely and spacious and was well stocked. On a big down side we had a dog two doors away that barked whenever someone walked past its door.Nice hotel but no leisure facilities lets it down .

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex1872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.7 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Irvine
309 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,092 reviews
1.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
102 reviews
9.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,536 reviews
10.1 mi away
Western House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Hotel Irvine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Hotel Irvine

Address: 46 Annick Road, Irvine KA11 4LD, Scotland (Formerly Menzies Irvine)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range: $54 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hallmark Hotel Irvine 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just outside Irvine, in Ayrshire, one of Scotland's most beautiful areas and only seven miles from Prestwick Airport, the Hallmark Hotel Irvine is perfectly placed for both business and leisure. The hotel facilities include 128 en-suite bedrooms including family rooms, a contemporary Brasserie restaurant, relaxing lounge bar and a 9 hole junior golf course. Whether you are wanting to explore the beautiful Ayrshire countryside or simply have a relaxing weekend break, the Hallmark Hotel Irvine is the ideal choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hallmark Hotel Irvine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Menzies Irvine Hotel Irvine
Menzies Hotel Irvine
Irvine Menzies Hotel
Hallmark Hotel Irvine Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing