We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Annfield House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Three of us went for Sunday lunch and it was lovely. All had roast beef and it was very good and well presented. The deserts were delicious, recommend the toffee & apple crumble. Great value for money. Will be returning again for sure.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlanandRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    28
    18
    5
    7
See reviews for
20
40
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stevenston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Three of us turned up on Mother's Day (no booking made), got a table in the bar area, very cosy, great menu selection, fantastic food, good portions sizes, very reasonably priced, service was great - girls very friendly and helpful despite being busy, looking forward to returning!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank R0xy500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, Owner at Annfield House Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Hello.

We are glad that you all enjoyed your day and your meal with us. Look forward to seeing you all again.

Regards

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayrshire
Level Contributor
144 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We have been faithful customers of Annfield over the last 20 yrs and have never seen or been subjected to such shoddy service as we have experienced today.
Our booking was for 3.30pm . My son in law had to ask for menus at 4.00pm, hunt someone down at 4.20pm to take an order & get some drinks. 30 mins later our starters came, 35 mins later our mains came, without the sauce & the chips. 40 mins later we ordered sweets & yeah you ha ve guessed, we had to ask where they were.
We are accused of not ordering them, when in fact after having to ask for coffees , the same girl took the order.
We spoke to a lady, whom we assume to be the manager & never even received an apology "
However , the food was lovely, & piping hot but the shoddy service is a big let down.
Our custom will be taken elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda C, Owner at Annfield House Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Hello, It is always disappointing when a customer does not receive the service we try to deliver to all of our customers. It was myself you spoke with and I am sure that I did apologise at the time and did confirm that the order for desserts was infact not processed. I can only again apologise that the service and full experience you received on Sunday was not what you expected or what we try to deliver.
If you decide to give us a try again please make yourself known to myself when you arrive.

Best regards and again sincere apology for Sunday.

Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

Four of us went on Sunday for lunch having booked a few days earlier and the service throughout was exceptional. The girls could not do enough for us and spoke away whenever they were serving. I had the pate to start and this was superb served with beetroot marmalade and garlic bread with a side salad. The side salad also had a nice dressing on. Decent portion sizes and the potato skins and soup of the day also went down well. For main I had the gammon and really enjoyed it. Was served with mashed potatoes surrounded by three tasty roast potatoes and also came with fresh vegetables. The honey glaze gravy was really good, but I would have liked a Yorkshire pudding, which is included with the roast beef. For dessert the chocolate fudge cake was well presented and is a great conclusion to the meal, if you have room. The drinks were very reasonably priced and overall a great visit!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Thought I would write this review as credit is due. I have to say from start to end the experience was lovely. The girl who greeted us was lovely and very friendly.The food was just as good as the service.To start I had the potato skins,they were lovely! My four year old ended up stealing half of mine! I then had the roast beef with all the trimmings. I was not disappointed. Everyone cleared there plates,even the kids! Which anyone with kids will know is always a good sign.My hubby and I couldn't manage a desert but the kids did! The young girls working couldn't have been any nicer and are a credit to the hotel. My family will definitely be back.well worth a visit.thanks for a lovely lunch. See you all again soon.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank franny4billy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
268 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Didn't know what to expect as haven't visited this restaurant for a while but decided to give it a go due to good meal deal with Groupon voucher. Very pleased we did as although hotel decor does look a wee bit tired in places we found the staff very welcoming, friendly and extremely efficient and were most impressed to be given a good menu choice. The food when it came was very tasty and well presented and decent sized portions. Certainly well worth a visit and look forward to going back to try out old favourites especially their macaroni and cheese !

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at the Annfield in October 2013. The staff and the service was excellent, as usual the food was super, the macaroni and cheese was as good as it was the last time we stayed there.
On the other hand the hotel rooms are tired in need of redecoration and updating. The one big bonus the Annfied has it that it is handy for the town, you can go out and have a few drinks and be able to walk back to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.6 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Irvine
302 reviews
1.8 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
56 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,041 reviews
8.8 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Annfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Annfield House Hotel

Property: Annfield House Hotel
Address: 6 Castle Street | Irvine, Irvine KA12 8RJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Annfield House Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run hotel in the heart of Ayrshire, over looking Arran. Set in large mature gardens the Hotel is within easy reach of the local shopping area and a short drive to the beach. Local airport is approx. 20 mins drive away. Local golf courses also a short drive away offering a wide range of courses to suit all levels of playing. Our Restaurant offers lunches, dinners, afternoon tea ( needs to be booked in advance)) Sunday Roasts and a kids menu where they can eat for £1.You can also have your party celebrations and Weddings with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Annfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Annfield House Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing