We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a second visit”
Review of Braidmead House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Braidmead House
Ranked #1 of 9 Irvine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Worth a second visit”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Were given room 3 on our stay this weekend. It is a beautiful room, enormous, with double windows onto the front of the house. There are blinds but no blackout curtains but that didn't present a problem at this time of year. As before the attention to detail in the house is brilliant. The bathroom/shower room is very small in relation to the size of the room...but the shower is excellent, the toiletries are lovely and it is more than adequate. The house has been beautifully upgraded , Diane is a great hostess and makes you feel very welcome and valued. The breakfast is humongous! We will use this bed and breakfast again...separate tables for breakfast was a bonus this time. Great value for money.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
85
8
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Great guesthouse best we've stayed in. The room was beautiful, big, spacious and very clean. When we arrived Diane made us feel welcome and part of the family.
The breakfast was brilliant and nothing was a bother even although we came in late for it.
I would definitely recommend this to family and friends, and hopefully won't be too long till we return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
voyageur8
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The last reviewer said:

This has been our second visit to Braidmead House, and it was just as great as our first time there. Diana welcomed us like old friends. Stayed in the same rooms which were as spotlessly clean as before and well stocked with tea and coffee. Nothing was too much trouble.

We can say 'ditto' to everything, except this was our first visit and Diana still welcomed us like old friends. She and Jim add a 'local touch' which all locals should be proud of. My nickname for Diana is DD (Dynamo Diana). Chatting with Jim was great but ask him to slow down if you're not too good with the Scottish accent:).

Braidmead House is a real find and we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else if and when we ever come back. Thanks Diana and Jim.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have slanted ceilings, not ideal for tall people but fine for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank voyageur8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This has been our second visit to Braidmead House, and it was just as great as our first time there. Diana welcomed us like old friends. Stayed in the same rooms which were as spotlessly clean as before and well stocked with tea and coffee. Nothing was too much trouble. As we were visiting with friends who had family in town, we spent little time in the house, but there was always an offer of a pot of tea or coffee. There was a great choice for breakfast which was plentiful and really set you up for the day. We would have no hesitation in revisiting or recommending as Diana & Jim are the perfect hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Familylaitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Terrific hosts; Diane couldn't do enough for us. Spotlessly clean, everything you could want for breakfast. Easy parking. Just an outstanding B & B !! Diane recommended we visited Burns birthplace museum in Alloway and Culzean Castle a little further south; both great places ! she also advised us to go as foot passengers (then take the bus) to the Isle of Arran rather than take the car; this made the trip less costly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We loved everything about Braidmead House . Couldn't fault a thing. Beautifully restored house, spotlessly clean. Wonderful hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Bedroom was lovely with everything you could want. Lots of choice for breakfast all cooked perfectly to order . We have travelled the world and been to many lovely places but this B & B is up there with the best. If you are going to Irvine you must stay here it is a gem. We used Irvine as a base for travelling to Glasgow etc.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silversurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagles Mere, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Perfect place to stay in Irvine, Scotland.

Stopped here for an overnight between visits to Arran Island and Edinburgh.
The hosts were very, VERY friendly and helpful.
Gave us a choice of rooms. The rooms were well furnished and comfortable.
A sitting room had lots of books and literature from which to select.
The entire property was sparkling clean and fresh.
Very nice choices for breakfast.
Easy access parking area on property.
On a main road of the little town but never heard a sound once inside the Inn and our room.
Definitely would recommend to travelers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterG089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.2 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Irvine
302 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
98 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,045 reviews
5.7 mi away
Piersland House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braidmead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braidmead House

Property: Braidmead House
Address: 57 Bank Street, Irvine KA12 0LL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Braidmead House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated and restored and extended, Braidmead opened its doors on January 2010.With all modern facilities means Braidmead house is simply superb value. Only a short walk to some excellent local bars, restaurants and centrally positioned for all Ayrshires many fine golf courses. Each bedroom welcomes you with tea and coffee, hairdryers and flat screen television, safe and free wifi. Free gym and sauna use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Braidmead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braidmead House Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing