We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like staying at Granny's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Braidmead House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Braidmead House
Ranked #1 of 9 Irvine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Like staying at Granny's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Not only was the room lovely, te food excellent and the service brilliant...they made me feelright at home - like part of the family. I hope to come b ack to Scotland again and I can assure you...I would make my way there again...even just to say hello!

This is a place worth staying!!! Great location too!

Room Tip: A great way to tell how the B&B will be is to phone them...it helps to get an idea of personalit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebeccakuntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
83
7
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Milton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

The rooms are VERY comfortable and spotless with everything you could want. The owners and their family are extremely welcoming and absolutely nothing is too much trouble for them. The food is excellent, everywhere is beautifully decorated and there's plenty of parking spaces. I can honestly say we couldn't have found anywhere better to stay. The next time we go to Scotland, we'll definitely be staying at Braidmead.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ickenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

4 lads on a short, two night golf trip. We could not have been more impressed. No need to repeat all the positives suffice to say, all are true. Whatever the question the answer would be something like " yes of course, no problem at all ". The best guest house I have stayed in by far with lots of little treats (choccies and sweeties etc available to eat at no cost).
A business suggestion for Diana and Jim:
Charge guests what they think their per night stay was worth in a twin room and sharing basis. I cannot believe anyone would give less than £40 per person per night and most would give more. I gave the whole Braidmead experience 98/100.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CliveJaneJordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

The owners are fantastic and make you feel welcome. There are parking spaces at the front and the property isnt too far from the town centre. The rooms are well decorated and the bathrooms are fantastic.
The only downside of the rooms was that there werent any curtains - only blinds. Therefore the rooms are light in the morning and curtains would also help keep out traffic noise (which isnt too bad but improvement is always good!). The sauna was mens only the night I was there which wasnt the hotels fault at all but worth checking before you go!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewelsea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

It is worthwhile visiting Ayrshire just to stay at Diane and Jim's place - Braidmead. Not only are the hosts welcoming and full of life, during my stay of 6 days I felt like part of the family and a well loved visitor. The decor is attractive with a hint of Rennie Mackintosh and quiet pastel shades. The features of the old house, such as the cornices and ceiling roses have been lovingly restored by the owners. The furnishings are high quality and the rooms well maintained.

The breakfasts are cooked to order and are so adequate that you don't need to eat lunch - thus saving money.

Extras, outside the normal B&B experience, include Jim allowing us to accompany him while he walked Sam, the dog, in nearby Eglinton Park and Diane's genuine interest in making our trip to Irvine special and frequent offers of tea and biscuits (chocolate ones).

Room Tip: The room we had was spacious and well appointed and faced the front of the house. People, concerned...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FayStenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, Scotland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

This guest house has always been well reviewed, and I share everything in regard to the quality of the accommodation, the welcome, the breakfasts, the owner, and it's many good points.
However, the most important part of an overnight stay, in any accommodation, is to have a good night's sleep, and this we did not have. it was warm on the day we arrived and I did notice that the windows were open in the room. The reason became apparent that evening. There is no airconditioning, so you need to keep the windows open - that lets the warm air out, but lets the outside noise in, and there was plenty of that. Considerable amount of traffic, with a taxi rank about 60 metres away, cars passing with loud bass music playing until the early hours, followed by passersby, mainly under the influence of alcohol, singing and shouting. There were even three women arguing loudly about which one of them had spent the taxi money, and how were they going to get home. There may well be some rooms at the back where this is not a problem, but if you are at the front, then certainly at weekends, you are bound to experience it
Everything else deserves praise, but, like I said, a good night's sleep is the most important.

Room Tip: Not a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n0rcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

I came to stay last Thursday and Friday night and I have to say I have never been to such a wonderful B&B. I stayed with my boyfirend and his family, we had travelled for 8 and a hlaf hours by car and the moment we arrived we felt welcome. Diane offered us a drink with biscuits which was a great treat after the travel. The bedrooms are amazing. They have lovely comfortable beds and a bathroom which is full of treats for you to use during your stay. Of course the sweeties that are left in the bedroom were a big hit with us. Each morning we were given options for breakfast, these ranged from Cereal, Yoghurts, Fruit, Eggs and Waffles, Boiled eggs and a Full Scottish Breakfast - I have never seen such a big plate of food. I recommend the Scottish Breakfast, fills you up for the day.

Diane and her son Gordon were so friendly from the moment we arrived and both took the time to find out about us. They made us feel so welcome in their home and helped us with anything we needed. We really didn't want to leave.

We will be back next time we are visiting the family and I will b recommending the B&B to anyone who needs a place to stay.

Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smidget06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.2 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Irvine
4.5 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
0.4 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braidmead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braidmead House

Property: Braidmead House
Address: 57 Bank Street, Irvine KA12 0LL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Braidmead House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated and restored and extended, Braidmead opened its doors on January 2010.With all modern facilities means Braidmead house is simply superb value. Only a short walk to some excellent local bars, restaurants and centrally positioned for all Ayrshires many fine golf courses. Each bedroom welcomes you with tea and coffee, hairdryers and flat screen television, safe and free wifi. Free gym and sauna use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Braidmead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braidmead House Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing