We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful hotel!”
Review of Braidmead House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Braidmead House
Ranked #1 of 9 Irvine B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 10, 2011

We have just returned from a fantastic 3 night stay at Braidmead House. The accommodation was absolutely lovely and the welcome as big as the breakfasts! Thank you so much for all the thoughtful touches and your attention to detail. We will most definitly be back and can't imagine staying anywhere else on on future trips to Ayrshire.
Fran and Robert

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranJ10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
There are newer reviews for Braidmead House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

179 - 185 of 205 reviews

Reviewed July 8, 2011

My husband & I stayed just 1 night prior to catching the Arran ferry from Ardrossan. We definitely plan on returning. Our room was very comfortable and the whole place has been completed to a very high standard. The lounge was extremely comfortable & Diana made us feel totally at home. Fabulous breakfast too. All-in-all a great place to stay if you're visiting this area.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AudreyDundee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2011

"I really hate to leave that place," my husband stated sadly as we drove away from Braidmead House. Fortunately, we'd had 3 nights there to enjoy all this wonderful guesthouse had to offer.

First and foremost were the people. Jim and Diana are the best of hosts. They are friendly and helpful and make you feel part of the family before you know it. One warning is that Diana may just try to overfeed you at breakfast. The food is wonderful and you will want to eat more, but be firm. They had suggestions for dinner and and for ways to spend our days that took into consideration our needs and interests. They had answers to all our questions and nothing was ever too much trouble.

The second was the house itself. It is beautiful and has obviously been restored with loving care. Every detail is of the highest quality. Check out the glass front door for example and get Jim to tell you its story. Our room was comfortable and quiet with the best shower of our entire trip. Lighting was well thought out and the television conveniently placed. The safe and tea tray were nice to have even though we did not use them - well other than eating the cookies that is. Also, important to those who are driving, there is convenient, ample free parking.

The third great thing about Braidmead House is the location. It is very convenient for meals, for day trips, for the Maritime Museum and harbor as well as for going a bit farther away. Culzean Castle and the new Robert Burns Museum are two major attractions not too far away. Arran Island and Glasgow city are nearby too, though we did not venture there. Three nights was just not enough time to cover everything.

We have stayed in a lot of lovely places but it is rare for someplace to find such a place in your heart and to come so close to being a real home away from home as Braidmead House.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank solomon5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

This guest house is in beautiful condition. it is very well appointed, clean and well run.
The owners are very helpful and go that extra bit to make you feel welcome and will help you with anything you may need.
I would recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tom-roamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

My husband and I spent over a week a Braidmead House and were pleasantly surprised by this lovely house. Diana is a welcoming host who provides hearty breakfasts, friendly chats and offers cups of tea at all times of the day. The house is beautifully decorated and everywhere is spotlessly clean; the sitting room has large comfortable settees and offers a choice of films, music and books if you are interested. Our large en-suite bedroom was lovely, the bed was very comfortable and we slept well every night.
Braidmead House is a great base for visiting Ayrshire and Arran.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rowan54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

The house is lovely, the hosts very helpful and friendly. The rooms are spotless with new bathrooms. The breakfast was super. All in all a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sap-clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Stayed one night at The Braidmead while working in the Irvine area. Diane was a wonderful host and nothing was too much trouble. Everything was spotless and of a very high standard. The house has been beautifully restored and you certainly cannot beat the personal touch which The Braidmead provides. I will definately be back

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aldo7519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
0.6 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.2 mi away
Kidron House Hotel
Kidron House Hotel
#2 of 5 in Irvine
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#5 of 6 in Troon
2,092 reviews
9.1 mi away
Seamill Hydro
Seamill Hydro
#1 of 2 in West Kilbride
1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Braidmead House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Braidmead House

Address: 57 Bank Street, Irvine KA12 0LL, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Irvine
Price Range: $97 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Braidmead House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated and restored and extended, Braidmead opened its doors on January 2010.With all modern facilities means Braidmead house is simply superb value. Only a short walk to some excellent local bars, restaurants and centrally positioned for all Ayrshires many fine golf courses. Each bedroom welcomes you with tea and coffee, hairdryers and flat screen television, safe and free wifi. Free gym and sauna use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Braidmead House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Braidmead House Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing