We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kidron House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kidron House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Weekend Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2014

My Partner and I did a last minute booking through Booking.com. On arrival we had a very warm welcome by a lovely wee Chap called Phillip, who made our weekend break all worth the while from kitchen staff to the guys who cleaned our rooms where all fantastic. It was a great weekend.
Our room included private Jacuzzi and sauna which was the icing on the cake. The Food and drink was great value and delicious. Will definitely be going back again and we have already booked the hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Stuart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Stuart,many thanks for your lovely review.We are very pleased to hear that the executive suite has proved to be popular as ever.It was lovely to have you with us at the weekend.We hope to see you again very soon.Best wishes from all at Kidron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    68
    31
    16
    10
See reviews for
73
93
21
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paisley
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2014

Thank you to everyone at Kidron House who made our stay (12 of us) at the hotel very pleasant. What can I say about the staff, they were so helpful and very friendly. The rooms were very clean and met all our requirements. The food was brilliant and the hot chocolate delicious. Thank you also for accommodating us with a room for our meeting and the work you put in to prepare that for us, we really appreciated all you did to make this happen. Hopefully you will have us back again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank BettyPaisley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Hi Betty,thank you for your lovely review. We really appreciate the feed back.It was lovely to have you all with us and it would be great to see you again in the future.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

We had SUCH a fun night here - on route to John O groats on our bikes - we had a room for 4 and another for 3 - a sleepover!!! Jolly japes etc :)
The shower was THE most powerful shower I've ever had - lovely - but it did get the bathroom floor a bit wet and slippy - careful of the beautiful floor tiles if wet!
The beer and food served was really tasty - my favourite salad of our whole trip :)
Breakfast was made to order, personal and delicious!
Thanks so much for having us :)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Cazak2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
We are getting so many cyclists staying with us at the moment and its great to hear your thoughts on the service you received.I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us.We are glad you enjoyed the restaurant too and I have passed on your remarks to our chef.It was a pleasure to have you all with us and we hope the rest of your trip is as enjoyable.Kind regards John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flintshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

My husband and I have today returned from a four night stay..On arrival was greeted by the lovely Phillip who told me we had been upgraded to the executive suite free of charge for our stay. We had a jacuzzis bath in our room and access to another room with sauna and a massive shower. Lovely....breakfast was lovely and had a couple of evening meals whilest there which were very nice and a reasonable price for a hotel. Room was cleaned everyday..Staff were friendly, especially Phillip..... He seemed to be about every time we were and was very helpful with information of where to go on days out as we had turned up in Scotland for the first time with no major plans . Great place to stay if you want to explore locally....Everything about Kidron was happy and friendly and clean was a pleasure to stay there and would recommend it to anyone . Thanks for your hospitality.

Room Tip: Only stayed in executive room so tip is .... Smile nicely on arrival and if the room is empty you mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank suzanneh21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Hi Suzanne,we really appreciate you taking time out to leave us such a lovely review.Its always nice when we can offer a free upgrade.Its not always possible but we are happy to do so when we can.We are delighted you enjoyed the food and the customer service too.We hope to see you again soon.Best wishes from all at Kidron.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

Our stay at Kidron House during the Commonwealth Games could not have been more pleasant. The staff were all so friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. We stayed in the executive room which was really excellent - clean, comfortable, spacious and with its own jacuzzi bath and access to own private sauna and shower! We also had family members in single rooms which were also clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were lovely. either continental or full english/scottish which were cooked to order. We ate there 3 evenings during our stay and found everything delicious. We would definitely return when venturing to that area again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Hi Janice,thank you for your very positive comments.We are so glad you could help make your stay a pleasant one during the Commonwealth games.I have passed your remarks onto our chef who thanks you .We trust we will see you again in the future.Kind regards from all at Kidron House Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

My husband, my mother- in-law and myself popped in one day for lunch. Food was basic but very nice the service was very very good,
I have recommend to other family who live near by. The restaurant was spotless nice atmosphere very friendly. Will be back soon.
Please make sure the apple crumble is still on the menu.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Eleanor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Hi Eleanor,thank you for taking time out to review our new restaurant area.Its great to have feed back from local families dinning out in the area.I am glad service meet with your standards.We are receiving very positive comments on the food too.We are constantly adding to the menu and changing our daily specials.Apple crumble however is always on as its so popular.We look forward to seeing you again soon.Best wishes from all at Kidron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2014

Not pleased to be told on our arrival that one couple would have to move rooms for the second night when we were leaving early the next day and expected to get back late.As it happened,the member of staff booking us in had not realised that there had been a cancellation and so the change of room was avoided.We were treated very well aand to be upgraded to the executive room was a real bonus.Impressed by the cleanliness and quality of the food.Would stay there again if back in that area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Geoffrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kidronirvine, Owner at Kidron House Hotel, responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Geoffrey,many thanks for your comments.I am so pleased we managed to turn the situation around for you and offer a free upgrade.We do try our best to get it right for all our guests.We look forward to having you with us again.Best wishes from all at Kidron
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irvine
1.7 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Irvine
2.6 mi away
Annfield House Hotel
Annfield House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Irvine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
2.4 mi away
Gailes Restaurant and Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,007 reviews
2.7 mi away
Harbourside Hotel
Harbourside Hotel
#5 of 5 in Irvine
3.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Park Hotel
The Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Kilmarnock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kidron House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kidron House Hotel

Property: Kidron House Hotel
Address: 122 Main Street | Dreghorn, Irvine KA11 4EE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > North Ayrshire > Irvine
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Irvine
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kidron House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voted number 1 Irvine hotel- Kidron House Hotel is ideally situated for Prestwick Airport only 10 minutes away. Troon and Kilmarnock are also extremely close to hand. We are a 14 bed room family run hotel which has just been fully upgraded. We love to give our guests that “personal touch”!Golfing enthusiasts need no look further. Kidron House has 18 golf courses ranging in difficulty and prices all with in “a short drive” of our doorstep. Enjoy a meal in our restaurant with fully licensed bar or why not treat yourself to our Executive Room with private sauna and jacuzzi for a little extra luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Kidron House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kidron House Hotel Irvine, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing